High Def Forum - Your High Definition Community & High Definition Resource

Go Back   High Def Forum - Your High Definition Community & High Definition Resource > General Chit Chat > Mounts and Installs Forum
Rules HDTV Forum Gallery LINK TO US! RSS - High Def Forum AddThis Feed Button AddThis Social Bookmark Button Groups

Mounts and Installs Forum A place to discuss viewing distance, mounts, stands and more! RSS - Mounts and Installs Forum

Hiding wires from ground up to tv on wall ideas needed.

Reply
AddThis Social Bookmark Button
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-01-2010, 06:05 AM   #1
High Definition is the definition of life.
 

Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 65
Default Hiding wires from ground up to tv on wall ideas needed.

Recently purchased a new home and would like to mount my TV on the wall. Problem I see is how to get wires up to the TV thats now stuck on the wall. What have you guys done in the past for power/hdmi/ OT broadcasting(RG6 to TV). Thanks in advance
JuiceGoose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2010, 06:35 AM   #2
Missouri_HD_Guy
 
Nevada_MO_Guy's Avatar
 

Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Missouri
Age: 46
Posts: 1,182
Default

How about a nice cord cover?

__________________
Sony KDS-60A2000 bulb hours ..... Yamaha RX-V1800 ..... Dish ViP 622 DuoDVR temps .... Toshiba HD-D1 ..... Philips BDP7200 ..... Mirage OMNISAT v2 FS .... Mirage OMNISAT v2 CC ..... Mirage OMNISAT v2 .... Mirage OMNI S12 (19Hz) ..... (2) Sony SA-W3000 (20Hz) ....Home Depot
Nevada_MO_Guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2010, 06:47 AM   #3
"Shitter was Full"
 
Bigloww's Avatar
 

Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: In a van, down by the river.
Posts: 8,322
Default

If it is an interior wall (with no insullation) it is quite easy usually. Ihave done both in my house and the installtion in the exterior wall mades running cables a bit more of a challenge...I had to use a cable feeder rod help in that. I have wall mounted a few TV's for myself and freinds and fam and would usually only take 2-3 hours to do (even by myself)..There are plenty of how to do on youtube, so I will spare you there. Some people run a box and some people run the power cord in wall too. In some places behind the wall is not code like conduit vs romex, so make sure what your code is if you want to be "in code" and not in violation of your homeowners insurance. Bla bla bla...

If you have a bunch of components to run cables for, 1 good thing would be to get a HDMI receiver with analog upconversion like the Onkyo TX SR-608. That way you can connect everything to it and just run 1 single HDMI to the display.

+ YouTube Video
ERROR: If you can see this, then YouTube is down or you don't have Flash installed.



If running wires is a big issue for whatever reason, Just get some cable channel. It is a plastic type conduit that runs outside and can be painted to help blend in. Not nearly as clean a look like in wall, but a decent alternative..
__________________
Commit to the Indian..

"I don't get drunk, I get awesome"..

Last edited by Bigloww; 09-01-2010 at 06:50 AM.
Bigloww is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2010, 09:10 AM   #4
High Definition is the definition of life.
 

Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 393
Default

I cut two small holes out of the wall and fed the cords through them. I kept the pieces that I cut out incase I need to plaster them back up when I possibly sell the house.
__________________
Panasonic Viera TH-50PZ85U 50" Plasma TV
Panasonic SC-PT670 Home Theater System
Dish Network VIP 722 HD-DVR
Xbox 360
Gamertag: ws450r
ws450r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2010, 01:30 PM   #5
High Definition is the definition of life.
 

Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Wisconsin
Age: 31
Posts: 669
Default

I installed a new outlet behind the TV and also and hdmi wall plate, made everything nice, since I own my house and plan on being there for a while.

if I was renting and wanted my tv on the wall, I would take the first suggestion (using wiremold)
Violent31601 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2010, 01:07 PM   #6
WD4JCM in KY
 

Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Georgetown, KY
Posts: 982
Default

easiest way is surface mount wire raceway (as mentioned). This is an example
http://www.parts-express.com/pe/show...TOKEN=14127943

paint it to match the wall and it will be less noticeable

you can use a power/video cable box kit
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=O5o2qzxHTgw
http://www.monoprice.com/products/pr...seq=1&format=2
and old work frames (2 each) http://www.monoprice.com/products/pr...seq=1&format=2

Last edited by m_vanmeter; 09-09-2010 at 01:18 PM.
m_vanmeter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2011, 05:09 PM   #7
A couch and an HDTV to go please.
 

Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 11
Default

I you want something more industrial utilitarian looking you could always slice some natural gas pipe in half and use that as a cord cover.
traviscm1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2011, 08:32 PM   #8
My plasma is High Def.
 

Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 6
Default

first thing is power, you will need to tap off a nearby receptecle with the same gauge wire. i use a clock outlet behind the tv . this gives you plenty of room for the plug. next you need video source cable. i use hdmi cable. these must me cl2 rated.use cut in rings and some cable plates to finish cables. also another trick is where the receptacle is buy a leviton surge protected outlet. this will protect your tv. good luck, if thtis seems alot to consume you might seek a pro to do it. no need to burn up a tv or a house.:

busy:
myg35x is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Go Back   High Def Forum - Your High Definition Community & High Definition Resource > General Chit Chat > Mounts and Installs Forum
AddThis Social Bookmark Button
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:21 PM.



Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0
Copyright 2004 - 2008, High Def Forum