High Def Forum - Your High Definition Community & High Definition Resource

Go Back   High Def Forum - Your High Definition Community & High Definition Resource > High Definition Programming Providers > DISH Network Forum
Rules HDTV Forum Gallery LINK TO US! RSS - High Def Forum AddThis Feed Button AddThis Social Bookmark Button Groups

DISH Network Forum Discuss and learn about Dish Network High Definition Satellite TV. RSS - DISH Network Forum

How to hook-up 3 TVs?

Reply
AddThis Social Bookmark Button
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-09-2009, 11:06 AM   #1
Wii 480p looks good to me
 

Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 2,083
Default How to hook-up 3 TVs?

I don't have Dish yet but was thinking of getting the basic $20 family plan. Problem: I have 3 TVs but Dish only provides 2 receivers, and I don't feel like paying an extra five dollars a month for that third receiver.

Two of my televisions are side-by-side. Is it possible to split the output from the one receiver and feed it to both TVs at the same time? Can the second receiver then be placed in my bedroom?
__________________


My Free TV streams 19 Mb/s == 6000 GB/month per channel. No cellphone can do that. WHY kill off this excellent service??
electrictroy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2009, 12:21 PM   #2
Yellow Submarine
 
jim5506's Avatar
 

Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Lubbock, Texas
Posts: 3,441
Default

If you don't mind 2 of the TV's having the same programming, you can just split the RF signal from one of the receivers (or feed one TV composite and the other with RF).

Alternately, you can make one of your receivers a dual tuner receiver, so 2 receivers CAN service 3 or even 4 TV's all with discrete tuning.

If the dual tuner receiver is an HD model, the primary output is HD, but the secondary is SD.
__________________
Seeking colinear harmonics!
Programming: Dish AT120
Displays: Sony VPH-D50Q FPCRT - 7 ft on the wall; Hitachi 57R59 RPCRT; Panasonic 42" Plasma; 26" Sanyo LCD
Receivers: DishNetwork Hopper w/Sling; DishNetwork Hopper 2000;3 - DishNetwork Joeys; 2 - TiVo HD Series 3; 2 - TiVo Series 2's; Accurian 6000; Samsung SIR-T351; Panasonic ShowStopper 2000; ATI HDTV Wonder
Dish 1000.2 on 110,119,129; Dish 500 on 61.5 - where I now get my HD Locals
Sony 80GB PS3;Sony 500GB PS3 Slim; Toshiba HD-DVD
jim5506 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2009, 04:55 PM   #3
Wii 480p looks good to me
 

Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 2,083
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jim5506 View Post
Alternately, you can make one of your receivers a dual tuner receiver, so 2 receivers CAN service 3 or even 4 TV's all with discrete tuning.
That was not clear?

Maybe I'll just stick with cable. I forgot I have a TV in the basement, so I'd actually have to service four different sets, and I don't want to pay an extra $15/month for the three extra boxes.

Cable is simpler. Just keep splitting it however many times you want. Too bad the cable price is $60. That $20 for Dish was really attractive.
__________________


My Free TV streams 19 Mb/s == 6000 GB/month per channel. No cellphone can do that. WHY kill off this excellent service??
electrictroy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2009, 05:04 PM   #4
High Definition is the definition of life.
 

Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Greentown, PA
Age: 57
Posts: 2,258
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by electrictroy View Post
That was not clear?

Maybe I'll just stick with cable. I forgot I have a TV in the basement, so I'd actually have to service four different sets, and I don't want to pay an extra $15/month for the three extra boxes.

Cable is simpler. Just keep splitting it however many times you want. Too bad the cable price is $60. That $20 for Dish was really attractive.
Dual tuner receivers can operate two tv's with each viewing independent programing. Two dual tuner receivers can operate four tv's with each viewing something different.
garys is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2009, 05:43 PM   #5
Wii 480p looks good to me
 

Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 2,083
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by garys View Post
Dual tuner receivers can operate two tv's with each viewing independent programing.
Where does the receiver sit? On top of the set like a cable box?

What if I want to change channels while watching TV in the kitchen, but the dual-tuner receiver is in the living room? Do I have to get-up and walk to the other room?
__________________


My Free TV streams 19 Mb/s == 6000 GB/month per channel. No cellphone can do that. WHY kill off this excellent service??
electrictroy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2009, 06:53 PM   #6
High Definition is the definition of life.
 

Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 1,661
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by electrictroy View Post
Where does the receiver sit? On top of the set like a cable box?

What if I want to change channels while watching TV in the kitchen, but the dual-tuner receiver is in the living room? Do I have to get-up and walk to the other room?
You have 2 remotes with each dual tuner receiver and they work independently with each TV, and they don't interfere with each other.

It's all too convenient. Walking to the other room probably wouldn't hurt any of us.
lsilvest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2009, 07:00 PM   #7
Wii 480p looks good to me
 

Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 2,083
Default

Wow. Cool. Are these remotes radio-based such that they can operate through walls?
__________________


My Free TV streams 19 Mb/s == 6000 GB/month per channel. No cellphone can do that. WHY kill off this excellent service??
electrictroy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2009, 07:11 PM   #8
High Definition is the definition of life.
 

Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Greentown, PA
Age: 57
Posts: 2,258
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by electrictroy View Post
Wow. Cool. Are these remotes radio-based such that they can operate through walls?
UHF remotes, range of about 150 ft and will go through most walls and floors/ceilings.
garys is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2009, 08:02 AM   #9
Wii 480p looks good to me
 

Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 2,083
Default

Alright. That would work then because the three TVs are spread over three floors. Being able to control the "receiver box" sitting in the living room from the basement (or bedroom) would be ideal.

So that would be $25/month. $20 for family plan plus $5 for the extra dual receiver.
__________________


My Free TV streams 19 Mb/s == 6000 GB/month per channel. No cellphone can do that. WHY kill off this excellent service??
electrictroy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2009, 08:04 AM   #10
Former Super Moderator
 
Loves2Watch's Avatar
 

Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: In Flux
Posts: 20,284
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by electrictroy View Post
Alright. That would work then because the three TVs are spread over three floors. Being able to control the "receiver box" sitting in the living room from the basement (or bedroom) would be ideal.

So that would be $25/month. $20 for family plan plus $5 for the extra dual receiver.
It's a good deal and works great.
__________________
It's always time for pie
Live everyday as if it was your last and plan on living forever...
Loves2Watch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2009, 08:21 PM   #11
Overclocked at 4GHz
 
18 is # 1's Avatar
 

Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Forney, TX Where Dallas ends and living begins.
Posts: 1,619
Default

My solution was to run a single coax throughout the house. It carries the OTA signal and I modulate both DVR outputs on additional channels. Every TV can watch HD locals or either SD Dish (of course Dish is in HD at the main set). I also got a couple of TV2 remotes for those other rooms to use.
__________________
Turning Left

______________________

Marantz SR-7200
KEF Ci-200-3QS
Wharfedale Sapphire CR
Hsu Research VTF-2 MK 3 Subwoofer
Blue Jeans Wire
NHT IC3 Surround
CE Labs Duel Phase Correct-
-Surround Modulator
Go Kyle Go
Dish 622 DVR
Oppo DV-970HD
Samsung 46 LNB630

"People shouldn't fear their govenment. Governments should fear their people." - V
18 is # 1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2009, 12:35 AM   #12
What is HD?
 

Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 1
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 18 is # 1 View Post
My solution was to run a single coax throughout the house. It carries the OTA signal and I modulate both DVR outputs on additional channels. Every TV can watch HD locals or either SD Dish (of course Dish is in HD at the main set). I also got a couple of TV2 remotes for those other rooms to use.
Each of my 722's currently feeds a secondary TV, giving me programming on 4 TV's. You are saying I can split the second TV coax at each of multiple TV's. And I can set the other receiver to send its second TV signal to a different channel. So more than 4 TV's can view SD, including the two DVR's - all on one coax?
verlync is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2009, 05:22 PM   #13
Yellow Submarine
 
jim5506's Avatar
 

Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Lubbock, Texas
Posts: 3,441
Default

Yes, on the 622/722 the modulator output delivers 2 selectable UHF/cable channels one from TV1 output and one from TV2 output (agile modulator), this signal is stronger than the normal RF output from other DVR's and VCR's and is specifically designed to be distributed throughout your house.

You can adjust the output channels to avoid local OTA channels and multiplex OTA with agile modulator output for the whole house.

UHF remotes allow remote TVs to change satellite channels if needed.
__________________
Seeking colinear harmonics!
Programming: Dish AT120
Displays: Sony VPH-D50Q FPCRT - 7 ft on the wall; Hitachi 57R59 RPCRT; Panasonic 42" Plasma; 26" Sanyo LCD
Receivers: DishNetwork Hopper w/Sling; DishNetwork Hopper 2000;3 - DishNetwork Joeys; 2 - TiVo HD Series 3; 2 - TiVo Series 2's; Accurian 6000; Samsung SIR-T351; Panasonic ShowStopper 2000; ATI HDTV Wonder
Dish 1000.2 on 110,119,129; Dish 500 on 61.5 - where I now get my HD Locals
Sony 80GB PS3;Sony 500GB PS3 Slim; Toshiba HD-DVD
jim5506 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2009, 08:24 PM   #14
NASCAR IN HD
 
spokybob's Avatar
 

Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: NW Illinois
Posts: 546
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 18 is # 1 View Post
My solution was to run a single coax throughout the house. It carries the OTA signal and I modulate both DVR outputs on additional channels. Every TV can watch HD locals or either SD Dish (of course Dish is in HD at the main set). I also got a couple of TV2 remotes for those other rooms to use.
I don't quite understand the single coax concept. Do you use a combiner for OTA coax & the TV2 coax?
Edit: I have the 622.
__________________
Bob
VIZIO 55" VIZIO 26" Vizio 32",Directv HR24 HR24 AM21 H24 -Bose
spokybob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2009, 03:01 PM   #15
722k,722, 612, 512 HR34
 

Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: SD
Posts: 1,152
Default

cable people make satellite way too confusing.

They just cant concept the idea of one reciever feeding like 20 tvs if they want.....just all 20 would be one the same channel.

I have 2 dual tuners, hooked up to 7 tvs. Plenty of channels for just the 2 of us to watch and record on both dvrs.....no need for 7 tuners. Its pretty simple, my tvs are hooked up to one reciever, her tvs are hooked up to her reciever. So like the garage tv is mine, bathroom tv is hers. Its all just rocket science!! LOL

oh, adding extra uhf remotes is easy, got 7 of those as well.
Jodean is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Go Back   High Def Forum - Your High Definition Community & High Definition Resource > High Definition Programming Providers > DISH Network Forum
AddThis Social Bookmark Button
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads to How to hook-up 3 TVs?
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Multiple Directv Receivers - Hook up rbinck DirecTV Forum 182 12-22-2011 10:55 AM
3rd TV - how to hook it up for free? electrictroy DISH Network Forum 8 03-04-2009 03:28 PM
Do You Want Blu-Ray to Fail? kamspy High Definition Media 235 03-20-2008 12:46 PM
Hook Up 2 Antennas pearltone Local HDTV Info and Reception 9 01-03-2008 05:49 AM
Combining/splitting satellite (2 receivers) and air antenna signal to 5 TVs mark22 DirecTV Forum 8 03-11-2005 06:57 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:57 AM.



Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0
Copyright 2004 - 2008, High Def Forum