High Def Forum - Your High Definition Community & High Definition Resource

Go Back   High Def Forum - Your High Definition Community & High Definition Resource > High Definition Programming Providers > DISH Network Forum
Rules HDTV Forum Gallery LINK TO US! RSS - High Def Forum AddThis Feed Button AddThis Social Bookmark Button Groups

DISH Network Forum Discuss and learn about Dish Network High Definition Satellite TV. Do not put referral code posts in this forum as they will be treated as SPAM. Thank you.RSS - DISH Network Forum

Universal Remote for DISH - Some components in a Cabinet

Reply
AddThis Social Bookmark Button
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-24-2009, 10:28 AM   #1
Looking for Guidance
 

Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: CA
Posts: 3
Default Universal Remote for DISH - Some components in a Cabinet

I'm looking for suggestions on a universal remote. For "venting" purposes the DISH receiver (VIP622DVR) is outside the cabinet, but the rest of my components are behind a wood door in the cabinet. Obviously I need IR & RF capabilities. I've been looking at the Harmony 890 with the RF Extender pack, but it's so expensive! The other thing is that I'll miss the little "skip back" and "skip fwd" buttons on my DISH remote. We use those ALL THE TIME. Any suggestions? Will that remote work well? Any ideas on the two "precious" DVR control buttons?

THANKS!
BT A/V novice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2009, 01:03 PM   #2
How can anyone watch standard def?
 

Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 19
Default

I use a Harmony 890 and it works great with my 622. You don't loose the skip forward and back, and I program a 1.5 minute skip ahead to reduce button pushes for commercial skipping. It works without even pointing at the components, and I would imagine it would work with components in cabinet. The web site says it will, my components are behind glass so I cannot vouch for that.

If you shop around you can pick one up for around $100. Saw that price on Amazon not too long ago. I got mine on fleabay for $100 about a year ago. Never had any problems with it. Great remotes!
Hookster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2009, 07:10 AM   #3
Looking for Guidance
 

Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: CA
Posts: 3
Default 890 works great

Picked up a Harmony 890 with RF on craigslist and it works great! Thanks for the advice!
BT A/V novice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2009, 11:05 PM   #4
How can anyone watch standard def?
 

Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 23
Default

I know you already bought something but for anyone else who might read this thread I have my A/V components in a cabinet with wood doors. I bought a Hot Link Pro IR repeater for around $65 off Amazon. Works well.
RoadiJeff is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Go Back   High Def Forum - Your High Definition Community & High Definition Resource > High Definition Programming Providers > DISH Network Forum
AddThis Social Bookmark Button
Reply

Tags
dish, harmony, ir & rf, remote

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads to Universal Remote for DISH - Some components in a Cabinet
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What universal remote do you guys have? darkserpant DirecTV Forum 40 03-19-2009 04:48 PM
VIP1216 3-digit code for Universal Remote MasterControl RF-20 jluikwan AT&T U-verse 3 01-23-2009 09:40 AM
U-Verse Universal Remote Control / IR Repeater Issue jtrentwilliams AT&T U-verse 0 01-23-2009 09:37 AM
Whats a standard GOOD cheap universal remote? antman2x2 Remote Controls 1 10-16-2007 04:57 PM
Universal RF Remote? HighDefan Remote Controls 2 01-12-2005 03:36 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:54 PM.



Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0
Copyright 2004 - 2008, High Def Forum