High Def Forum - Your High Definition Community & High Definition Resource

Go Back   High Def Forum - Your High Definition Community & High Definition Resource > High Definition Programming Providers > DISH Network Forum
Rules HDTV Forum Gallery LINK TO US! RSS - High Def Forum AddThis Feed Button AddThis Social Bookmark Button Groups

DISH Network Forum Discuss and learn about Dish Network High Definition Satellite TV. RSS - DISH Network Forum

Removing duplicate channels

Reply
AddThis Social Bookmark Button
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-06-2009, 01:04 AM   #1
My plasma is High Def.
 
MrBill358's Avatar
 

Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Baker, Fl.
Posts: 5
Default Removing duplicate channels

Is there a way to remove duplicate channels. I would like to keep the HD one and remove the other one on the channels that have 2 of them. Example. 3HD and 3SD. 10HD and 10SD. Can I just remove the SD and leave the HD alone. Would make it easier when just scrolling up or down from channel to channel. This is with a VIP612DVR
MrBill358 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2009, 06:11 AM   #2
High Definition is the definition of life.
 

Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Greentown, PA
Age: 57
Posts: 2,255
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MrBill358 View Post
Is there a way to remove duplicate channels. I would like to keep the HD one and remove the other one on the channels that have 2 of them. Example. 3HD and 3SD. 10HD and 10SD. Can I just remove the SD and leave the HD alone. Would make it easier when just scrolling up or down from channel to channel. This is with a VIP612DVR
Press the guide button until the ALL HD list shows.
garys is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2009, 01:44 PM   #3
My plasma is High Def.
 
MrBill358's Avatar
 

Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Baker, Fl.
Posts: 5
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by garys View Post
Press the guide button until the ALL HD list shows.
Then what? If I choose that, what happens to all my other chanels that are not duplicates because one of them isn't HD?
__________________
Vizio SV420XVT1A
VIP612DVR

Vizio VA26LHDTV10T
ViP 211k
MrBill358 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2009, 01:51 PM   #4
High Definition is the definition of life.
 
jquick77's Avatar
 

Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 279
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MrBill358 View Post
Then what? If I choose that, what happens to all my other chanels that are not duplicates because one of them isn't HD?
Hit menu, then preferences, and then favorites. Here you can make your own guides and list. I think you get up to 3 personal guides if you want them.
jquick77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2009, 02:41 PM   #5
My plasma is High Def.
 
MrBill358's Avatar
 

Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Baker, Fl.
Posts: 5
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jquick77 View Post
Hit menu, then preferences, and then favorites. Here you can make your own guides and list. I think you get up to 3 personal guides if you want them.
OK, I can make up to 4 lists. Have to make a list with one channel at a time till it is finished. Guess that I will have to do it this way. I knew I could make a Favorites list as I had that before I got HD. Just thought that there would be an easier way so that I would not have to go thru all the channels.

Thanks for you help in this matter.
__________________
Vizio SV420XVT1A
VIP612DVR

Vizio VA26LHDTV10T
ViP 211k
MrBill358 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2009, 04:20 PM   #6
Yellow Submarine
 
jim5506's Avatar
 

Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Lubbock, Texas
Posts: 3,441
Default

Another way to do it is to lock the channels you do not want to see, then hide the locked channels.

It works for all lists, they will never show up until you unhide the locks.
__________________
Seeking colinear harmonics!
Programming: Dish AT120
Displays: Sony VPH-D50Q FPCRT - 7 ft on the wall; Hitachi 57R59 RPCRT; Panasonic 42" Plasma; 26" Sanyo LCD
Receivers: DishNetwork Hopper w/Sling; DishNetwork Hopper 2000;3 - DishNetwork Joeys; 2 - TiVo HD Series 3; 2 - TiVo Series 2's; Accurian 6000; Samsung SIR-T351; Panasonic ShowStopper 2000; ATI HDTV Wonder
Dish 1000.2 on 110,119,129; Dish 500 on 61.5 - where I now get my HD Locals
Sony 80GB PS3;Sony 500GB PS3 Slim; Toshiba HD-DVD
jim5506 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2009, 07:02 PM   #7
Overclocked at 4GHz
 
18 is # 1's Avatar
 

Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Forney, TX Where Dallas ends and living begins.
Posts: 1,619
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jim5506 View Post
Another way to do it is to lock the channels you do not want to see, then hide the locked channels.

It works for all lists, they will never show up until you unhide the locks.
+1
And all the crap channels you never will look at!!!
__________________
Turning Left

______________________

Marantz SR-7200
KEF Ci-200-3QS
Wharfedale Sapphire CR
Hsu Research VTF-2 MK 3 Subwoofer
Blue Jeans Wire
NHT IC3 Surround
CE Labs Duel Phase Correct-
-Surround Modulator
Go Kyle Go
Dish 622 DVR
Oppo DV-970HD
Samsung 46 LNB630

"People shouldn't fear their govenment. Governments should fear their people." - V
18 is # 1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2009, 11:57 AM   #8
High Definition is the definition of life.
 
daleb's Avatar
 

Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Clovis, CA
Posts: 7,657
Default

Definitely cuts scrolling time.
__________________
Samsung PN50A650 plasma, Arcam AVR350, Dali Ikon6 (Vokal2&OnWalls), Outlaw Audio LFM-1EX sub, Anti-Mode 8033B, Oppo Digital BDP-83SE, Roku Digital, Furman Elite power conditioner
daleb is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Go Back   High Def Forum - Your High Definition Community & High Definition Resource > High Definition Programming Providers > DISH Network Forum
AddThis Social Bookmark Button
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads to Removing duplicate channels
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Many duplicate channels on my lineup Bowadoyle Verizon FiOS 9 08-15-2008 09:40 AM
Timing, money among reasons for channels getting HD treatment Lee Stewart Cable Providers 4 06-16-2008 03:15 PM
Verizon Plans to Add 25 HD Channels rkkeller Verizon FiOS 5 06-05-2008 09:51 PM
FiOS in Chicago? Beezer Verizon FiOS 6 05-07-2008 01:46 PM
HELP! TWC 8300hd suddenly lost some channels. Any experts out there? whirl Cable Providers 4 10-04-2007 09:28 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:54 PM.



Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0
Copyright 2004 - 2008, High Def Forum