High Def Forum - Your High Definition Community & High Definition Resource

Go Back   High Def Forum - Your High Definition Community & High Definition Resource > High Definition Programming Providers > DISH Network Forum
Rules HDTV Forum Gallery LINK TO US! RSS - High Def Forum AddThis Feed Button AddThis Social Bookmark Button Groups

DISH Network Forum Discuss and learn about Dish Network High Definition Satellite TV. Do not put referral code posts in this forum as they will be treated as SPAM. They need to be put in the Promotions, Announcements, Hot Deals forum. Thank you.RSS - DISH Network Forum

Dish Network HD box got too hot!!!! WTF????

Reply
AddThis Social Bookmark Button
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-07-2008, 09:44 AM   #1
Love Entertainment
 

Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 1,064
Default Dish Network HD box got too hot!!!! WTF????

The other day my when i turned my tv on there was a message that said my dish box had gotten too hot and was at i forgot what temp it said but i tried to turn off and it wouldnt, i tried to reset and it wouldnt so finally i just unplugged for awhil like 30 mins or an hr and plugged back in and it was fine. I did have my FTA satellite box on top of it and the msg actually said make sure nothign was on top of it but i dont get it its not like it has vent holes on top of the box that was being blocked and i have always have components on top of each other. Anyone else saw this happen with any component?
nyg052003 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2008, 10:32 AM   #2
NHL in HD please!!!
 
gwhoughton's Avatar
 

Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: North Hollywood/Valley Village, CA
Posts: 1,738
Lightbulb Search the Forum...

Quote:
Originally Posted by nyg052003 View Post
Anyone else saw this happen with any component?
This was a semi-common problem that several members have had experience with, especially with the 622... (you didn't mention which box you have~)

Anyway, utilize the forum's search function for overheating & you should see several threads that deal with this subject~

FYI, I myself have the 622 & I bought an external USB fan from Radio Shack for around $10-$15, & I set it outside the left side of my DVR so that it pulls air through the unit from the bottom vents. I live in Southern California & haven't had a problem since~
__________________
Switched to HD 2-2005
SONY KD-34XBR960
gwhoughton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2008, 10:42 AM   #3
Love Entertainment
 

Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 1,064
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gwhoughton View Post
This was a semi-common problem that several members have had experience with, especially with the 622... (you didn't mention which box you have~)

Anyway, utilize the forum's search function for overheating & you should see several threads that deal with this subject~

FYI, I myself have the 622 & I bought an external USB fan from Radio Shack for around $10-$15, & I set it outside the left side of my DVR so that it pulls air through the unit from the bottom vents. I live in Southern California & haven't had a problem since~
i have the 622. im gona try and find something to put like in the four corners of the box so it can get more air from the vents on bottom. I already took my FTA box off of it though.
nyg052003 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2008, 05:10 PM   #4
What is HD?
 

Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 3
Default overheating 622

Quote:
Originally Posted by nyg052003 View Post
i have the 622. im gona try and find something to put like in the four corners of the box so it can get more air from the vents on bottom. I already took my FTA box off of it though.
You can also get a laptop cooling panel that can go under the receiver and is USB powered this also raises it off the shelf an inch or so. Hot air exits at the rear of the left side so be sure that area is unobstructed.
audiomaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2008, 01:43 PM   #5
High Definition is the definition of life.
 
daleb's Avatar
 

Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Clovis, CA
Posts: 7,657
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by audiomaster View Post
You can also get a laptop cooling panel that can go under the receiver and is USB powered this also raises it off the shelf an inch or so. Hot air exits at the rear of the left side so be sure that area is unobstructed.
Have found an exhaust fan on the left side more effective. Laptop cooler can't pull enough air from the bottom as the main board in the receiver is blocking most of the flow.
__________________
Samsung PN50A650 plasma, Arcam AVR350, Dali Ikon6 (Vokal2&OnWalls), Outlaw Audio LFM-1EX sub, Anti-Mode 8033B, Oppo Digital BDP-83SE, Roku Digital, Furman Elite power conditioner
daleb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2008, 05:57 PM   #6
Missouri_HD_Guy
 
Nevada_MO_Guy's Avatar
 

Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Missouri
Age: 46
Posts: 1,182
Default

Good suggestions here.

I would like to add that the air inlet is the small grill on the right side and to make sure your don't have anything blocking it.
__________________
Sony KDS-60A2000 bulb hours ..... Yamaha RX-V1800 ..... Dish ViP 622 DuoDVR temps .... Toshiba HD-D1 ..... Philips BDP7200 ..... Mirage OMNISAT v2 FS .... Mirage OMNISAT v2 CC ..... Mirage OMNISAT v2 .... Mirage OMNI S12 (19Hz) ..... (2) Sony SA-W3000 (20Hz) ....Home Depot
Nevada_MO_Guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2008, 09:02 PM   #7
LED TV's look awesome
 
Joe Las Vegas's Avatar
 

Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Las Vegas
Age: 45
Posts: 1,427
Default

My 722 is warm all the time, on or off, so I made sure there is nothing around or on top, and it's been fine for almost a year now.
__________________
Check out my ride
Joe Las Vegas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2008, 09:17 PM   #8
Yellow Submarine
 
jim5506's Avatar
 

Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Lubbock, Texas
Posts: 3,465
Default

The system board covers nearly the entire inside of the 622/722, so the bottom vents and laptop cooler are of questionable value.

Use a small low speed fan to pull warm air out the left side - your temps should drop 10 degrees or more.
__________________
Seeking colinear harmonics!
Programming: Dish AT120
Displays: Sony VPH-D50Q FPCRT - 7 ft on the wall; Hitachi 57R59 RPCRT; Panasonic 42" Plasma; 26" Sanyo LCD
Receivers: DishNetwork Hopper w/Sling; DishNetwork Hopper 2000;3 - DishNetwork Joeys; 2 - TiVo HD Series 3; 2 - TiVo Series 2's; Accurian 6000; Samsung SIR-T351; Panasonic ShowStopper 2000; ATI HDTV Wonder
Dish 1000.2 on 110,119,129; Dish 500 on 61.5 - where I now get my HD Locals
Sony 80GB PS3;Sony 500GB PS3 Slim; Toshiba HD-DVD
jim5506 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2008, 10:17 PM   #9
NASCAR IN HD
 
spokybob's Avatar
 

Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: NW Illinois
Posts: 546
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevada_MO_Guy View Post
I would like to add that the air inlet is the small grill on the right side and to make sure your don't have anything blocking it.
Thanks for the tips. THe right side was up against a vertical support. I moved the 622 an inch or so away. Now I notice the right side has cooled off some, but the left side is still warm. I will get an exaust fan as others suggest.
__________________
Bob
VIZIO 55" VIZIO 26" Vizio 32",Directv HR24 HR24 AM21 H24 -Bose
spokybob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2008, 11:40 AM   #10
High Definition is the definition of life.
 
daleb's Avatar
 

Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Clovis, CA
Posts: 7,657
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by spokybob View Post
Thanks for the tips. THe right side was up against a vertical support. I moved the 622 an inch or so away. Now I notice the right side has cooled off some, but the left side is still warm. I will get an exaust fan as others suggest.
Make sure to position the fan on the left so it is pulling warm air out, and not trying to push cooler air in.
__________________
Samsung PN50A650 plasma, Arcam AVR350, Dali Ikon6 (Vokal2&OnWalls), Outlaw Audio LFM-1EX sub, Anti-Mode 8033B, Oppo Digital BDP-83SE, Roku Digital, Furman Elite power conditioner
daleb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2008, 06:37 PM   #11
722k,722, 612, 512 HR34
 

Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: SD
Posts: 1,153
Default

My 722 was heating up my reciever underneath of it. I thought the Stereo was overheating and here it was the 722. My stereo actually doesnt get warm at all, even cranked up.

I made some 1"dowels and raised the 722 up about 1 1/2" All is well now, i never got a message though i just thought it was too hot.
Jodean is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2008, 02:00 PM   #12
chirshey's BFF
 

Join Date: May 2008
Location: Saint Paul, MN
Posts: 3,208
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Joe Las Vegas View Post
My 722 is warm all the time, on or off, so I made sure there is nothing around or on top, and it's been fine for almost a year now.
I checked out your ride.

Nice HEMI station wagon.

Seriously - V8, HEMI, etc... on a car that looks like a station wagon.
glennb1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2009, 10:24 AM   #13
What is HD?
 

Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gwhoughton View Post
FYI, I myself have the 622 & I bought an external USB fan from Radio Shack for around $10-$15, & I set it outside the left side of my DVR so that it pulls air through the unit from the bottom vents. I live in Southern California & haven't had a problem since~
Can you provide a link or product ID of the fan you purchased from Radio Shack? I can't seem to find it on their site. Thanks
abricko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2009, 10:49 AM   #14
NHL in HD please!!!
 
gwhoughton's Avatar
 

Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: North Hollywood/Valley Village, CA
Posts: 1,738
Thumbs up I don't see it on the RS site anymore either, but...

Quote:
Originally Posted by abricko View Post
Can you provide a link or product ID of the fan you purchased from Radio Shack? I can't seem to find it on their site. Thanks
I believe that this is the EXACT model I got @ Radio Shack back in the day... Just in case the link doesn't work, it's a Thermaltake Mobile USB Fan...

http://www.smarter.com/cooling-fans-...pi-473535.html


Works GREAT!!!!!
__________________
Switched to HD 2-2005
SONY KD-34XBR960
gwhoughton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2009, 11:38 AM   #15
I Love me some HD
 
jpfrasier's Avatar
 

Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: North Texas
Posts: 847
Default

http://www.amazon.com/Thermaltake-Mo...0921430&sr=8-1

This is the one i bought off Amazon about a year ago. Thankfully I don't need to use it anymore but it did work.
__________________
As of 12/27/08 Direct TV
HR22-100 HD/DVR
Sony KD-34XBR960
jpfrasier is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Go Back   High Def Forum - Your High Definition Community & High Definition Resource > High Definition Programming Providers > DISH Network Forum
AddThis Social Bookmark Button
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads to Dish Network HD box got too hot!!!! WTF????
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
DirecTV Lastest HD Channel Lineup dman59 DirecTV Forum 61 07-28-2008 11:46 AM
Dish Network Outlines Upcoming Hd Launch Schedule ama299 DISH Network Forum 14 03-23-2008 05:49 AM
M$ Releases Xbox 360 HD DVD Emulator Cygnus High Definition Media 0 12-14-2007 10:25 AM
DISH Network adds 10 more HD Channels bhbravo DISH Network Forum 43 05-03-2005 10:12 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:10 PM.



Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0
Copyright 2004 - 2008, High Def Forum