High Def Forum - Your High Definition Community & High Definition Resource

Go Back   High Def Forum - Your High Definition Community & High Definition Resource > High Definition Programming Providers > DISH Network Forum
Rules HDTV Forum Gallery LINK TO US! RSS - High Def Forum AddThis Feed Button AddThis Social Bookmark Button Groups

DISH Network Forum Discuss and learn about Dish Network High Definition Satellite TV. Do not put referral code posts in this forum as they will be treated as SPAM. Thank you.RSS - DISH Network Forum

need info on prepaid dish now?

Reply
AddThis Social Bookmark Button
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-11-2008, 08:44 AM   #1
High Definition is the definition of life.
 

Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 180
Default need info on prepaid dish now?

anyone out their can tell me about dish's prepaid service. i got some info on the website but i wanted to know a bit more about it. anyone use it? is hd available? any info would be appreciated.

thank you
ans2004 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2008, 09:28 AM   #2
High Definition is the definition of life.
 

Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Greentown, PA
Age: 57
Posts: 2,300
Default

I have never used it but since the receiver Dish uses for this is a low end one (311 I think), no HiDef.
garys is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2008, 08:00 PM   #3
High Definition is the definition of life.
 

Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 180
Default

thanks for the info, i think i'll pass
ans2004 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2008, 02:32 PM   #4
My plasma is High Def.
 

Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 8
Default

site has info in some posts on dish Prepaid.
Search there.
BUT NO HD right now.
It only uses the basic satellites at 119 and 110 right now.
I have a 301 receiver.
This is best used if you:
1) Have bad enough credit that Dish Network rejects you.
2) Have a summer/vacation home or camper and you only want to get Dish when you are on the road but you have Cable TV at home.
3) You want to subscribe to pay channels in short bursts.
You can use a greendot money pak and prepay for a single day if you want which made it GREAT for me since I used it at a vacation home on weekends only.
4) Don't want to hook up to a phone line
5) Are paranoid and don't want someone tracking you because you are writing your "manifesto". (If #5 is true, seek phychiatric help)

Bad stuff:
Radio Shack sells it but not in all stores. If they sell it, they can have it installed if you buy the equipment. I had to buy the equipment on Ebay (less than $100) and install it myself (took me several hours to read up on it and about 4 hours for a complete 2 room install).
There are national Satellite dish companies that will sell you the stuff or arrange for local installers to do it.
No local channels.
Many sporting events are blocked out because they don't know where you are.
Melnic is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Go Back   High Def Forum - Your High Definition Community & High Definition Resource > High Definition Programming Providers > DISH Network Forum
AddThis Social Bookmark Button
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads to need info on prepaid dish now?
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Should I sue DISH?? ADWyatt DISH Network Forum 30 05-03-2008 06:37 PM
TIVO vs Dish lawsuit info slm90031 DISH Network Forum 2 02-05-2008 01:06 PM
My Horrible Evolving Dish Network Experience docnevada DISH Network Forum 2 06-18-2007 12:22 PM
Dish Network rant mtanc DISH Network Forum 23 06-18-2007 11:30 AM
Info from a Dish tech dude2 DISH Network Forum 4 05-17-2006 05:00 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:27 PM.



Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0
Copyright 2004 - 2008, High Def Forum