High Def Forum - Your High Definition Community & High Definition Resource

Go Back   High Def Forum - Your High Definition Community & High Definition Resource > High Definition Programming Providers > DISH Network Forum
Rules HDTV Forum Gallery LINK TO US! RSS - High Def Forum AddThis Feed Button AddThis Social Bookmark Button Groups

DISH Network Forum Discuss and learn about Dish Network High Definition Satellite TV. Do not put referral code posts in this forum as they will be treated as SPAM. Thank you.RSS - DISH Network Forum

VIP 722 RF Remote Control is Sluggish

Reply
AddThis Social Bookmark Button
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-11-2008, 05:03 PM   #1
How can anyone watch standard def?
 

Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 22
Default VIP 722 RF Remote Control is Sluggish

I just switched to Dish yesterday. I have a VIP 722 on my HD TV. The #1 remote works fine. The 722 and the #2 remote are running another TV on the same floor about 20 feet away with a kitchen in between. The response is very slow. It takes 2 or 3 seconds for the receiver to respond to any command. The 722 is located in an entertainment center on the bottom shelf. Is this a reception problem or typical for the 722 RF remote?

I will write more about my installation experience and my views on Dish later. So far this is the only problem. The 722 is very nice.
Hokie74 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2008, 05:10 PM   #2
What is SD? HD ROCKS
 
techster's Avatar
 

Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 193
Default

It could be possible that the #2 remote is defective.I had a problem with mine and I called dish and they sent me a free replacement remote.I am not saying this is your problem but it is possible.My next door neighbor is also having the same problem to.Once they sent me the new remote it has worked great.
techster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2008, 06:46 AM   #3
How can anyone watch standard def?
 

Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 22
Default My second output is going to a TV Card on a PC

My second output on the 722 is running to a Dell desktop with a TV PVR card and the output on the 722 is on cable channel 73. I think the card or the software might be contributing to the delay. I am running Media Center on Windows Vista. I suspect the problem is that Media Center records live TV so that you can pause it and replay. I tried to set up Media Center for a satellite or cable box but it only accepts inputs on channels 2-4 or S-video in that mode. That is not an option on the 722.

I am almost sure Media Center is the problem now. Does anyone have any suggestions for other TV software that would eliminate the delay?
Hokie74 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2008, 12:59 PM   #4
How can anyone watch standard def?
 

Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 22
Default Media Center was the problem

I tried a regular TV on the 2nd output and the remote works fine. My conclusion is that this setup will not work. I moved my second Dish receiver next to the computer and hooked it up using the S-video cable. I set up Media Center again configured for a set top box. Now the Media Center remote runs everything and I have a second DVR! My IR receiver has an output for an IR blster that runs the 322.

Conclusion: If you are using a PC and Media Center it must be TV1 and located next to the receiver.

Last edited by Hokie74; 02-12-2008 at 01:16 PM.
Hokie74 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2008, 01:29 PM   #5
Sony 52 XBR4
 
VictorB's Avatar
 

Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Southern California
Posts: 64
Default 722 Remote Sluggish

I found the same thing and had the remote replaced. Then I realized that the antenna on the back of the receiver was the problem since the receiver sits on a shelf in a credenza. I just attached a wire and fed it out the back of the credenza and have not had a problem since.
__________________
Sony KDL52XBR4
Sylvania Blue-Ray
Onkyo Surround Sound Receiver
Bose speakers
VictorB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2008, 04:39 PM   #6
Overclocked at 4GHz
 
18 is # 1's Avatar
 

Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Forney, TX Where Dallas ends and living begins.
Posts: 1,619
Default

Change the direction that you point the remote. The signal bounce sometimes effects how quickly the receiver reacts.
__________________
Turning Left

______________________

Marantz SR-7200
KEF Ci-200-3QS
Wharfedale Sapphire CR
Hsu Research VTF-2 MK 3 Subwoofer
Blue Jeans Wire
NHT IC3 Surround
CE Labs Duel Phase Correct-
-Surround Modulator
Go Kyle Go
Dish 622 DVR
Oppo DV-970HD
Samsung 46 LNB630

"People shouldn't fear their govenment. Governments should fear their people." - V
18 is # 1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2008, 03:53 PM   #7
Yellow Submarine
 
jim5506's Avatar
 

Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Lubbock, Texas
Posts: 3,473
Default

No bounce with RF and infrared is speed of light...
__________________
Seeking colinear harmonics!
Programming: Dish AT120
Displays: Sony VPH-D50Q FPCRT - 7 ft on the wall; Hitachi 57R59 RPCRT; Panasonic 42" Plasma; 26" Sanyo LCD
Receivers: DishNetwork Hopper w/Sling; DishNetwork Hopper 2000;3 - DishNetwork Joeys; 2 - TiVo HD Series 3; 2 - TiVo Series 2's; Accurian 6000; Samsung SIR-T351; Panasonic ShowStopper 2000; ATI HDTV Wonder
Dish 1000.2 on 110,119,129; Dish 500 on 61.5 - where I now get my HD Locals
Sony 80GB PS3;Sony 500GB PS3 Slim; Toshiba HD-DVD
jim5506 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2008, 04:42 PM   #8
How can anyone watch standard def?
 

Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 22
Default The remote was fine

This was definitely caused by the signal delay in the tuner card and Windows Media Center. To use Dish with a PC you have to have the receiver at the computer and use Media Center to control the receiver with an IR blaster cable. It is not an ideal solution but it works.
Hokie74 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2008, 08:03 AM   #9
Relaxation is fleeting
 

Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Ohio
Posts: 1
Thumbs down VIP 722 DVR box sluggish on #1 remote

We just upgraded to a Dish HD receiver - the VIP 722 DVR. The old receiver was sluggish when you first turned on the TV. It had to 'warm up' so to speak to start responding. We thought the new one would not have this problem, but its worse. How can Dish not know about this and know what to do when we called? They are dispatching someone tomorrow to look at it, but it has gotten to the point now that it won't respond to the remote at all. The remote in the upstairs bedroom (#2 remote) works fine and is very responsive. It's the main box that won't respond. Very disappointing.
BksInHere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2008, 10:30 AM   #10
How can anyone watch standard def?
 

Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 18
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BksInHere View Post
We just upgraded to a Dish HD receiver - the VIP 722 DVR. The old receiver was sluggish when you first turned on the TV. It had to 'warm up' so to speak to start responding. We thought the new one would not have this problem, but its worse. How can Dish not know about this and know what to do when we called? They are dispatching someone tomorrow to look at it, but it has gotten to the point now that it won't respond to the remote at all. The remote in the upstairs bedroom (#2 remote) works fine and is very responsive. It's the main box that won't respond. Very disappointing.
I have the same issue, but have discovered that my issue is my LCD warming up. After a minute the remote works just fine. Try turning on your 722 first, select a channel, then turn on your TV.

My 722 would not turn on at all the first few minutes the TV was on. It wouldn't respond to the remote at all. I'd quickly turn off the TV, then the 722 would immediately respond to the remote, and turn on.

I don't know if there is a fix or not. I have just learned to adapt to it. I always turn on the 722 first type in the channel I want to watch, then turn on the TV. It usually takes a minute or so before the TV wont interfere with the remote, then all is fine.

Do you have an LCD hooked up to your receiver?
treeguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Go Back   High Def Forum - Your High Definition Community & High Definition Resource > High Definition Programming Providers > DISH Network Forum
AddThis Social Bookmark Button
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads to VIP 722 RF Remote Control is Sluggish
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Element FLX-3210 32" LCD HDTV Remote Control Code das2ble Remote Controls 4 09-25-2008 11:05 PM
Logitech Harmony 880 Remote degaus Remote Controls 17 08-09-2007 07:07 PM
Changing view mode with Universal Remote Control exitsfunnel Remote Controls 1 11-13-2006 04:50 PM
remote control issue milolilo DirecTV Forum 2 07-04-2006 09:10 PM
Multiple TIVO Remote Control Problem 6201jim DirecTV Forum 3 08-21-2005 03:53 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:42 AM.



Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0
Copyright 2004 - 2008, High Def Forum