High Def Forum - Your High Definition Community & High Definition Resource

Go Back   High Def Forum - Your High Definition Community & High Definition Resource > High Definition Programming Providers > DISH Network Forum
Rules HDTV Forum Gallery LINK TO US! RSS - High Def Forum AddThis Feed Button AddThis Social Bookmark Button Groups

DISH Network Forum Discuss and learn about Dish Network High Definition Satellite TV. Do not put referral code posts in this forum as they will be treated as SPAM. Thank you.RSS - DISH Network Forum

Does dish offer East coast feeds in HD along with locals?

Reply
AddThis Social Bookmark Button
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-08-2007, 03:32 PM   #1
A couch and an HDTV to go please.
 

Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 14
Default Does dish offer East coast feeds in HD along with locals?

Could someone explain this to me? I may not have to worry about getting my locals in HD if this is true. Is there a waiver or something? Or does Dish supply this East or West coast feeds to all of their HD customers? Could someone go into detail about this? Because this is one of the only areas I'm in the dark on.

Thanks!!
thisisrybo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2007, 03:39 PM   #2
#42: Republican & Dodger
 
DodgerKing's Avatar
 

Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: SoCal
Age: 43
Posts: 1,803
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by thisisrybo View Post
Could someone explain this to me? I may not have to worry about getting my locals in HD if this is true. Is there a waiver or something? Or does Dish supply this East or West coast feeds to all of their HD customers? Could someone go into detail about this? Because this is one of the only areas I'm in the dark on.

Thanks!!
As far as I know, this option is only available with Directv...
DodgerKing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2007, 03:41 PM   #3
Yellow Submarine
 
jim5506's Avatar
 

Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Lubbock, Texas
Posts: 3,486
Default

Dish cannot supply any local channels that are out of your DMA, SD or HD. LAst November a Federal Judge in Florida injoined DishNetwork from offering any out of DMA local channels waivers or no, because Dish had allowed persons who were not qualified to recieve distant locals.

There is a small company that leases transponder space on Dish that provides Atlanta and San Francisco locals to persons who are in white areas (NO OTA AVAILABLE). They do not provide any HD service.
__________________
Seeking colinear harmonics!
Programming: Dish AT120
Displays: Sony VPH-D50Q FPCRT - 7 ft on the wall; Hitachi 57R59 RPCRT; Panasonic 42" Plasma; 26" Sanyo LCD
Receivers: DishNetwork Hopper w/Sling; DishNetwork Hopper 2000;3 - DishNetwork Joeys; 2 - TiVo HD Series 3; 2 - TiVo Series 2's; Accurian 6000; Samsung SIR-T351; Panasonic ShowStopper 2000; ATI HDTV Wonder
Dish 1000.2 on 110,119,129; Dish 500 on 61.5 - where I now get my HD Locals
Sony 80GB PS3;Sony 500GB PS3 Slim; Toshiba HD-DVD
jim5506 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2007, 03:45 PM   #4
A couch and an HDTV to go please.
 

Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 14
Default

Thanks for the quick responses.... I guess I'll have to beef up and get an OTA antenna. Will my installer have any info about an OTA antenna? I called Dish earlier today and the lady I spoke with said they used to do this, but no longer offer it. I hope I can figure this out sooner rather than later.
thisisrybo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2007, 07:21 PM   #5
High Definition is the definition of life.
 

Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Greentown, PA
Age: 57
Posts: 2,303
Default

Try here: www.antennaweb.org/

Fill in your info and it will give you any necessary information about getting ota at your location. Check this before buying anything.
garys is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2007, 08:30 PM   #6
A couch and an HDTV to go please.
 

Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 14
Default

I've done this before, but I don't know how to break down the information. It recommends the blue color code for me. But it says that the signals are 64 miles away and that the stations don't have a * or DTV signal. My zipcode is 35630. I am dead set on getting an OTA antenna. But I just dont know what to get or where to start. Amp no amp how to mount it, how high.... So many things to consider......
thisisrybo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2007, 09:35 PM   #7
Yellow Submarine
 
jim5506's Avatar
 

Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Lubbock, Texas
Posts: 3,486
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by thisisrybo View Post
I've done this before, but I don't know how to break down the information. It recommends the blue color code for me. But it says that the signals are 64 miles away and that the stations don't have a * or DTV signal. My zipcode is 35630. I am dead set on getting an OTA antenna. But I just dont know what to get or where to start. Amp no amp how to mount it, how high.... So many things to consider......
Here's your profile from antennaweb.org

Antenna Type Call Sign Ch Netwk City State LiveDate Dir Dist Freq
* yellow - uhf WYLE-DT 20 IND FLORENCE AL TBD 198° 15.0 20
* yellow - uhf WFIQ-DT 36.1 PBS FLORENCE AL 204° 18.0 22
* yellow - uhf WHDF-DT 14.1 CW FLORENCE AL 68° 32.4 14
* lt green - uhf WHNT-DT 19.1 CBS HUNTSVILLE AL 96° 64.2 59
* lt green - uhf WZDX-DT 54.1 FOX HUNTSVILLE AL 96° 64.2 41
* blue - uhf WHIQ-DT 25.1 PBS HUNTSVILLE AL 96° 64.4 24

Looks like all your digitals are and will be UHF after 02/2009, so I'd recommend an Antennas Direct XG-91 with a rotator since the signals come from several different directions. A channel Master 4228 would also work but it is heavier and has a much larger wind load due to its design. Those two are probably THE best UHF antennas around. Recommend also a CM7777 pre-amp.
__________________
Seeking colinear harmonics!
Programming: Dish AT120
Displays: Sony VPH-D50Q FPCRT - 7 ft on the wall; Hitachi 57R59 RPCRT; Panasonic 42" Plasma; 26" Sanyo LCD
Receivers: DishNetwork Hopper w/Sling; DishNetwork Hopper 2000;3 - DishNetwork Joeys; 2 - TiVo HD Series 3; 2 - TiVo Series 2's; Accurian 6000; Samsung SIR-T351; Panasonic ShowStopper 2000; ATI HDTV Wonder
Dish 1000.2 on 110,119,129; Dish 500 on 61.5 - where I now get my HD Locals
Sony 80GB PS3;Sony 500GB PS3 Slim; Toshiba HD-DVD
jim5506 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Go Back   High Def Forum - Your High Definition Community & High Definition Resource > High Definition Programming Providers > DISH Network Forum
AddThis Social Bookmark Button
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads to Does dish offer East coast feeds in HD along with locals?
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sept. 19 HD Channel Launch Date Q&A dman59 DirecTV Forum 48 07-08-2013 11:26 AM
New HD Channels wednesday 10/10/07 sportshandicap DirecTV Forum 54 10-12-2007 10:37 AM
HD Programing anouncement dgmartin DirecTV Forum 31 10-10-2007 06:13 PM
DISH Network(TM) Expands HD Lineup to 29 Channels; Introduces New HD Promotions eHDMI High Definition News & Informative Articles 5 06-12-2006 06:25 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:12 AM.



Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0
Copyright ©2004 - 2008, High Def Forum