High Def Forum - Your High Definition Community & High Definition Resource

Go Back   High Def Forum - Your High Definition Community & High Definition Resource > High Definition Programming Providers > DISH Network Forum
Rules HDTV Forum Gallery LINK TO US! RSS - High Def Forum AddThis Feed Button AddThis Social Bookmark Button Groups

DISH Network Forum Discuss and learn about Dish Network High Definition Satellite TV. Do not put referral code posts in this forum as they will be treated as SPAM. Thank you.RSS - DISH Network Forum

Help, Connect Satellite receiver to pc.

Reply
AddThis Social Bookmark Button
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-04-2007, 10:22 AM   #1
halographic
 

Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 11
Default Help, Connect Satellite receiver to pc.

I would like to watch my Dish Network paid subscription programming on my pc.
The DN reciever I have is equiped with a UHF r/c. That would allow me to control the receiver, power on/off, change channels, etc. fron the pc's location.

Is there a guide on the hardware required ?
Is a pci atsc/ntsc the way to go ?
If so which Brand ?
Thanks, any assistance would be apprecieted.
rm301 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2007, 12:09 PM   #2
Let's try this button...
 
Allin4greeN's Avatar
 

Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Philadelphia
Posts: 858
Default

I would suggest looking at the Sling products, or perhaps an R5000 mod. Depends on what additional features you might be looking for...
__________________
Vizio P50HDTV10A|Dell Inspiron 1720 w/BDD & HD DVD Add-on|XBox360|Toshiba D-VR5|ViP622 |Sirius S50-TK1|RS15-1870 OTA|Yamaha HTR 5750 (6.1)|Yamaha NS-AP4400M 3-way mains|Yamaha NS-AP4400E 3-way center w/2-way surrounds|Yamaha YST-SW015 sub|Belkin AP30800-10|Harmony 676 || Westinghouse LTV-32w1|Samsung HD850|ViP211
Allin4greeN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2007, 01:06 PM   #3
High Definition is the definition of life.
 

Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 48
Default

I have a all in wonder ALL-IN-WONDER X800 XL 256 MB It's a display card and TV card. I also have a TV Wonder 650. Its High Def Recorder from your outside air. You can play back thur your high def tv thur the all in wonder. You can hook up your Sat reciever to the PC with a S-Video cable. You can record to the pc with this hook up. If I did it again I would hav got the card with 512 mb. But mine works pretty good. Hope this helps Boneman.
Boneman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2007, 01:54 PM   #4
Let's try this button...
 
Allin4greeN's Avatar
 

Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Philadelphia
Posts: 858
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Boneman View Post
I have a all in wonder ALL-IN-WONDER X800 XL 256 MB It's a display card and TV card. I also have a TV Wonder 650. Its High Def Recorder from your outside air. You can play back thur your high def tv thur the all in wonder. You can hook up your Sat reciever to the PC with a S-Video cable. You can record to the pc with this hook up. If I did it again I would hav got the card with 512 mb. But mine works pretty good. Hope this helps Boneman.
Does your set-up receive/record HD from E*?
__________________
Vizio P50HDTV10A|Dell Inspiron 1720 w/BDD & HD DVD Add-on|XBox360|Toshiba D-VR5|ViP622 |Sirius S50-TK1|RS15-1870 OTA|Yamaha HTR 5750 (6.1)|Yamaha NS-AP4400M 3-way mains|Yamaha NS-AP4400E 3-way center w/2-way surrounds|Yamaha YST-SW015 sub|Belkin AP30800-10|Harmony 676 || Westinghouse LTV-32w1|Samsung HD850|ViP211
Allin4greeN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2007, 02:03 PM   #5
High Definition is the definition of life.
 

Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 48
Default

No i can't record HD from E.
Boneman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2007, 02:05 PM   #6
1080 Optical Supporter
 
Type A's Avatar
 

Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Panama City, Fl
Age: 42
Posts: 2,723
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Allin4greeN
Does your set-up receive/record HD from E*?
See my reply here:

http://highdefforum.com/showthread.php?t=55007

AIW dont record hd via cable/sat box either. Only those who know, recommend the cards I recommended in the other thread, not the AIW recommended here. Hauppaugh have always been better, and have been the leaders in capture cards for many years (for sd anyway)
__________________
Mitsubishi HC3000U HD projector
Dual Optoma 106" screens
Harman Kardon AVR-7000 receiver
Bose 901 VI, 301 IV, VCS 10
Bose AM-6 Series III
Sony STR-DG600 receiver
JVC GR-HD1 HD camcorder
Xbox 360 Pro / PS3 40 Gig
HD DVD 0 / Blu Ray 15
Games 18 / Games 2
Gateway 901x HTPC (modified)
Sling Box Pro w/HD Connect Cable
Dish 211 receiver w/Absolute HD pack
HP Pavilion dv-6000 laptop (HTPC2GO)
Link-Theater Gallery - 100,000+ views
Link-55 Restoration Updated 6/21/08

Type A is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2007, 02:12 PM   #7
Let's try this button...
 
Allin4greeN's Avatar
 

Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Philadelphia
Posts: 858
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Type A View Post
See my reply here:

http://highdefforum.com/showthread.php?t=55007

AIW dont record hd via cable/sat box either. Only those who know, recommend the cards I recommended in the other thread, not the AIW recommended here. Hauppaugh have always been better, and have been the leaders in capture cards for many years (for sd anyway)
Wasn't aware of the double post. I had looked at Hauppaugh, also. Good to know I was looking in the right direction. Good response in the other thread
__________________
Vizio P50HDTV10A|Dell Inspiron 1720 w/BDD & HD DVD Add-on|XBox360|Toshiba D-VR5|ViP622 |Sirius S50-TK1|RS15-1870 OTA|Yamaha HTR 5750 (6.1)|Yamaha NS-AP4400M 3-way mains|Yamaha NS-AP4400E 3-way center w/2-way surrounds|Yamaha YST-SW015 sub|Belkin AP30800-10|Harmony 676 || Westinghouse LTV-32w1|Samsung HD850|ViP211
Allin4greeN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2007, 08:24 AM   #8
halographic
 

Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 11
Default

Wow I am impressed with all the replys received for my inquiry............Thanks to all.

Type A,

I have read your post re Hauppague, thanks.

Boneman,

Your post is also appreciated. Do you use the AIW remote, or the Dish remote?


My goal is to only use a card that will stream Dish programming to my pc. I prefer to control my DN 508 using only the 508's r/c. I do not want to have to install 3rd party software and be tied down to an IR blaster.
All of you suggestions are appreciated. I will research all the cards mentioned, and if the card I choose has an ATSC tuner and DVR, they would be a bonus as well.
rm301 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2007, 10:49 PM   #9
What is HD?
 

Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 1
Default

I have my 722 receiver connected with an S-Video cable to my Hauppague WinTV card in my computer. I am not using the tuner function of the WinTV card. I use the receiver remote to control things.

I can watch on the PC monitor, resize the picture and even move it between multiple monitors.

But, HD gets down converted to SD.

Is there anything I can use in place of the WinTV card to display HD? I would still like to be able to resize and move the TV window on the monitor. Again, I don't need tuner capability in the PC card.

Thanks.
mikemck is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Go Back   High Def Forum - Your High Definition Community & High Definition Resource > High Definition Programming Providers > DISH Network Forum
AddThis Social Bookmark Button
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads to Help, Connect Satellite receiver to pc.
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mitsubishi VS-70803 twobluecats Rear-Projection TVs 11 10-08-2013 07:55 PM
How to connect DirectTV to PC? cspringer Computers/HTPCs 6 06-22-2007 09:36 AM
Help In Wiring New Construction Please Purple Eskomo Cables & Connections 17 03-07-2007 01:12 PM
need help Iam new at this HDTV the-game Flat-Panel TVs 7 06-20-2005 07:31 PM
Need Help Choosing DVD player Rahabib SD DVD Players and Discs 28 03-01-2005 05:15 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:57 AM.



Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0
Copyright 2004 - 2008, High Def Forum