High Def Forum - Your High Definition Community & High Definition Resource

Go Back   High Def Forum - Your High Definition Community & High Definition Resource > High Definition Programming Providers > DISH Network Forum
Rules HDTV Forum Gallery LINK TO US! RSS - High Def Forum AddThis Feed Button AddThis Social Bookmark Button Groups

DISH Network Forum Discuss and learn about Dish Network High Definition Satellite TV. Do not put referral code posts in this forum as they will be treated as SPAM. Thank you.RSS - DISH Network Forum

The ViP722 HD-DVR

Reply
AddThis Social Bookmark Button
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-28-2007, 11:13 PM   #1
Bit by the HD Bug
 
Yes616's Avatar
 

Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Liberty - Catskill Mtns, NY
Posts: 658
Default The ViP722 HD-DVR

I am waiting for Aug 15th to see what deal I can get on this new HD DVR. Some others may want to hold back on getting a new DVR until they see this as well.

The external drive feature will be nice on the ViP622 but..

Check this out..

http://www.bigpicturebigsound.com/di...dvr-1160.shtml
__________________
Yes616
"Here's whats happening on another VOOM HD Network"
DISH ViP 722 w/HDMI
Toshiba 57H84 HDTV w/HDMI
Yamaha Natural Sound AV Receiver RX-V863 (7.2 Channels)
TR Theater Research 1610 / 1611 Speaker Pack
Yamaha YST-SW315 Subwoofers X 2
A ViP 211 upstairs in the bedroom with an Olevia HDTV operated by the Dish 21.0 remote

Yes616 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2007, 12:49 PM   #2
Yellow Submarine
 
jim5506's Avatar
 

Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Lubbock, Texas
Posts: 3,473
Default

The same story says that the upgrade from 622 to 722 will be $199. IMHO not worth it, especially with 622 getting same external HD support as 722. Original info on 722 said the bigger HD was not for recording, but for HD-VOD. We'll see.
__________________
Seeking colinear harmonics!
Programming: Dish AT120
Displays: Sony VPH-D50Q FPCRT - 7 ft on the wall; Hitachi 57R59 RPCRT; Panasonic 42" Plasma; 26" Sanyo LCD
Receivers: DishNetwork Hopper w/Sling; DishNetwork Hopper 2000;3 - DishNetwork Joeys; 2 - TiVo HD Series 3; 2 - TiVo Series 2's; Accurian 6000; Samsung SIR-T351; Panasonic ShowStopper 2000; ATI HDTV Wonder
Dish 1000.2 on 110,119,129; Dish 500 on 61.5 - where I now get my HD Locals
Sony 80GB PS3;Sony 500GB PS3 Slim; Toshiba HD-DVD
jim5506 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2007, 08:04 PM   #3
A couch and an HDTV to go please.
 

Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 12
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Yes616 View Post
I am waiting for Aug 15th to see what deal I can get on this new HD DVR. Some others may want to hold back on getting a new DVR until they see this as well.

The external drive feature will be nice on the ViP622 but..

Sounds like from reading that it will have a way to hook up 2 HD TV's instead of 1 HD and 1 Standard TV.....Is that the way y'all read that ?

That would be a big advantage if true.

My ViP 622...will only allow one output in HD....and then another in Standard....I think they call it PRO-Cable...but it's not HD.

Dirk
BanditDirk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2007, 10:45 AM   #4
High Definition is the definition of life.
 

Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 203
Default

I looked at the back of the box and only see composite video and coax output for TV2.

Quote:
Originally Posted by BanditDirk View Post
Sounds like from reading that it will have a way to hook up 2 HD TV's instead of 1 HD and 1 Standard TV.....Is that the way y'all read that ?

That would be a big advantage if true.

My ViP 622...will only allow one output in HD....and then another in Standard....I think they call it PRO-Cable...but it's not HD.

Dirk
tuccillo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2007, 11:23 AM   #5
Yellow Submarine
 
jim5506's Avatar
 

Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Lubbock, Texas
Posts: 3,473
Default

It is virtually the same as the 622, just 500GB HD instead of a 320GB HD.
__________________
Seeking colinear harmonics!
Programming: Dish AT120
Displays: Sony VPH-D50Q FPCRT - 7 ft on the wall; Hitachi 57R59 RPCRT; Panasonic 42" Plasma; 26" Sanyo LCD
Receivers: DishNetwork Hopper w/Sling; DishNetwork Hopper 2000;3 - DishNetwork Joeys; 2 - TiVo HD Series 3; 2 - TiVo Series 2's; Accurian 6000; Samsung SIR-T351; Panasonic ShowStopper 2000; ATI HDTV Wonder
Dish 1000.2 on 110,119,129; Dish 500 on 61.5 - where I now get my HD Locals
Sony 80GB PS3;Sony 500GB PS3 Slim; Toshiba HD-DVD
jim5506 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2007, 09:28 PM   #6
A couch and an HDTV to go please.
 

Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 12
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tuccillo View Post
I looked at the back of the box and only see composite video and coax output for TV2.

Exactly that's why this from the article didn't make any sense to me....two tuners that support HD Channels ?...I don't have but 1 output for HD.

"the ViP622 and ViP722 both include three internal tuners - two satellite tuners that support SD or HD channels as well as a third ATSC (high definition) tuner to record HD and SD shows broadcast over the air."

Shame too...they need to make one with 2 outputs for 2 HDTV's.
BanditDirk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2007, 04:30 PM   #7
Yellow Submarine
 
jim5506's Avatar
 

Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Lubbock, Texas
Posts: 3,473
Default

The TV1 output does support 2 TV's, one HDMI the other component. What they need to do is have two seperate HD outputs, not two combined HD outputs.
__________________
Seeking colinear harmonics!
Programming: Dish AT120
Displays: Sony VPH-D50Q FPCRT - 7 ft on the wall; Hitachi 57R59 RPCRT; Panasonic 42" Plasma; 26" Sanyo LCD
Receivers: DishNetwork Hopper w/Sling; DishNetwork Hopper 2000;3 - DishNetwork Joeys; 2 - TiVo HD Series 3; 2 - TiVo Series 2's; Accurian 6000; Samsung SIR-T351; Panasonic ShowStopper 2000; ATI HDTV Wonder
Dish 1000.2 on 110,119,129; Dish 500 on 61.5 - where I now get my HD Locals
Sony 80GB PS3;Sony 500GB PS3 Slim; Toshiba HD-DVD
jim5506 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2007, 09:09 PM   #8
A couch and an HDTV to go please.
 

Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 12
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jim5506 View Post
The TV1 output does support 2 TV's, one HDMI the other component. What they need to do is have two seperate HD outputs, not two combined HD outputs.


You're right I know what you mean....They need a way to watch HD on 2 seperate tuners with the ViP622 or the 722....that would be perfect...so you could watch HD on 2 tv's and see different Channels.
BanditDirk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2007, 11:00 PM   #9
Is HD Sharp? Ouch!
 

Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 18
Default Two Tuners does not mean Two HDTVs.

Quote:
Originally Posted by BanditDirk View Post
Exactly that's why this from the article didn't make any sense to me....two tuners that support HD Channels ?...I don't have but 1 output for HD.

"the ViP622 and ViP722 both include three internal tuners - two satellite tuners that support SD or HD channels as well as a third ATSC (high definition) tuner to record HD and SD shows broadcast over the air."

Shame too...they need to make one with 2 outputs for 2 HDTV's.
Hi,

Three tuners does not mean you can view the output of the ViP622 or ViP722 on more than one HDTV. It simply means you can record two HD or SD satellite channels at once, and still watch a 3rd channel in HD (if you have an antenna hooked up with access to OTA HDTV channels).

I've had the 622 now for a little under a week, but I haven't tried this particular feat yet, but it should work, given the design.

AFAIK, based on current information, the only upgrades of the 722 over the 622 are the increased hard drive size, black vs. silver color and enhanced Video On Demand features.

Later,

-CB
__________________
Chris Boylan
Home Theater Editor
Big Picture Big Sound
MrBoylan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2007, 11:40 PM   #10
What is HD?
 

Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Kenner, Louisiana
Posts: 1
Default

What is better about the 722 over the 622 other that hard drive space
rleemann is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2007, 08:14 AM   #11
Is HD Sharp? Ouch!
 

Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 18
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rleemann View Post
What is better about the 722 over the 622 other that hard drive space
Support for High Def Video On Demand... Oh yeah, and it's BLACK!
__________________
Chris Boylan
Home Theater Editor
Big Picture Big Sound
MrBoylan is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Go Back   High Def Forum - Your High Definition Community & High Definition Resource > High Definition Programming Providers > DISH Network Forum
AddThis Social Bookmark Button
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads to The ViP722 HD-DVR
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HD Size of the ViP722? RoadiJeff DISH Network Forum 18 02-14-2009 10:24 AM
New HD Channels Starting 5/12/2008 Yes616 DISH Network Forum 54 05-13-2008 06:09 PM
HD DVR upgrade questions? Mattie_B DISH Network Forum 9 12-05-2007 06:07 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:53 AM.



Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0
Copyright 2004 - 2008, High Def Forum