High Def Forum - Your High Definition Community & High Definition Resource

Go Back   High Def Forum - Your High Definition Community & High Definition Resource > High Definition Programming Providers > DISH Network Forum
Rules HDTV Forum Gallery LINK TO US! RSS - High Def Forum AddThis Feed Button AddThis Social Bookmark Button Groups

DISH Network Forum Discuss and learn about Dish Network High Definition Satellite TV. Do not put referral code posts in this forum as they will be treated as SPAM. Thank you.RSS - DISH Network Forum

Satellite dish affected by wind?

Reply
AddThis Social Bookmark Button
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-17-2007, 05:56 PM   #1
Sony KV-30XBR910 & DAV-X1
 

Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 8
Default Satellite dish affected by wind?

Back in December, roofers move my Dish, and I had to call a Dish technician to realign it to get back satellite 129 programming. (Over the years, 3 Dish support calls, 3 different technicians.)

Since then, whenever it's windy, I lose the signal every few minutes for 8 - 40 seconds, which makes watching television impossible. The signal loss is on all three satellite locations (110, 119, 129). I had had this particular Dish since August with no wind problems, and a different Dish for two years before that with no wind problems.

So my question is: Should I call Dish for service? Surely wind problems are not "normal", even if I'm trying to get programming from three locations. How do I get a more experienced technician this time?

Any comments? (BTW, I'm in southern Minnesota.)
snissen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2007, 06:07 PM   #2
High Definition is the definition of life.
 
bmwcyle's Avatar
 

Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Virginia
Age: 60
Posts: 339
Cool

Quote:
Originally Posted by snissen
Back in December, roofers move my Dish, and I had to call a Dish technician to realign it to get back satellite 129 programming. (Over the years, 3 Dish support calls, 3 different technicians.)

Since then, whenever it's windy, I lose the signal every few minutes for 8 - 40 seconds, which makes watching television impossible. The signal loss is on all three satellite locations (110, 119, 129). I had had this particular Dish since August with no wind problems, and a different Dish for two years before that with no wind problems.

So my question is: Should I call Dish for service? Surely wind problems are not "normal", even if I'm trying to get programming from three locations. How do I get a more experienced technician this time?

Any comments? (BTW, I'm in southern Minnesota.)
Always realign your dish after the roof take it off and put it back on.
__________________
  • Samsung 55" LED
  • Vandersteen Surround Speakers
  • Rotel Reciever
  • Dishnetwork VIP 722
  • XBOX 360
  • Inday Switch boxes
  • Monster Cable Power Supply
  • Roku 1000
  • XM Radio
bmwcyle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2007, 10:29 AM   #3
High Definition is the definition of life.
 

Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Naugatuck, CT
Posts: 71
Default

Did they move the dish to a new location on the roof? Are there any tree limbs in the way that could block the signal path only when it's windy? When the mount was moved, was it screwed into something solid like a rafter?
__________________
Once satisfied, now disgusted Dish subscriber giving Uverse a try
vssman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2007, 11:34 PM   #4
Sony KV-30XBR910 & DAV-X1
 

Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 8
Default

No new location, no tree limbs. My impression was that the roofers put the Dish back where they removed it from, and that the Dish technician did not move it from there, only realigned it.

I can't speak to the mounting, because I can't get on the roof myself. Shouldn't the Dish technician in December have checked the mounting?

So I return to my first question: How do I get a more experienced technician this time? Someone who can get me back to where I was in early December, when this Dish at this location was never affected by wind?

Any ideas, anyone?
snissen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2007, 07:16 AM   #5
High Definition is the definition of life.
 
daleb's Avatar
 

Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Clovis, CA
Posts: 7,652
Default

For your peace of mind, might be worth having one come out and check it.
__________________
Samsung PN50A650 plasma, Arcam AVR350, Dali Ikon6 (Vokal2&OnWalls), Outlaw Audio LFM-1EX sub, Anti-Mode 8033B, Oppo Digital BDP-83SE, Roku Digital, Furman Elite power conditioner
daleb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2007, 05:37 PM   #6
High Definition is the definition of life.
 
gintzj's Avatar
 

Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 125
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by snissen
Back in December, roofers move my Dish, and I had to call a Dish technician to realign it to get back satellite 129 programming. (Over the years, 3 Dish support calls, 3 different technicians.)

Since then, whenever it's windy, I lose the signal every few minutes for 8 - 40 seconds, which makes watching television impossible. The signal loss is on all three satellite locations (110, 119, 129). I had had this particular Dish since August with no wind problems, and a different Dish for two years before that with no wind problems.

So my question is: Should I call Dish for service? Surely wind problems are not "normal", even if I'm trying to get programming from three locations. How do I get a more experienced technician this time?

Any comments? (BTW, I'm in southern Minnesota.)

Call dish and tell about the original service man and claim the the dish was not secured tightly and then them check your signal strenght

I live is the SW with heavy winds and no lost of signal

also the HD does not move
gintzj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2007, 11:00 AM   #7
Overclocked at 4GHz
 
18 is # 1's Avatar
 

Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Forney, TX Where Dallas ends and living begins.
Posts: 1,619
Default

When roof mounted, the holes will eventually get moisture in them and the wood will begin to warp and loosen around the bolts.
If possible, it is always preferable to mount your dish in brick, under the eve on the south side of the house.

This allows maximum protection from the elements (Dallas is VERY windy and we have frequent severe storms).
See link below:


http://www.highdefforum.com/gallery/...to/387/cat/511
__________________
Turning Left

______________________

Marantz SR-7200
KEF Ci-200-3QS
Wharfedale Sapphire CR
Hsu Research VTF-2 MK 3 Subwoofer
Blue Jeans Wire
NHT IC3 Surround
CE Labs Duel Phase Correct-
-Surround Modulator
Go Kyle Go
Dish 622 DVR
Oppo DV-970HD
Samsung 46 LNB630

"People shouldn't fear their govenment. Governments should fear their people." - V

Last edited by 18 is # 1; 01-27-2007 at 11:10 AM.
18 is # 1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2007, 05:15 PM   #8
Yellow Submarine
 
jim5506's Avatar
 

Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Lubbock, Texas
Posts: 3,480
Default

If anchor bolts are properly calked and sealed this will not happen.
__________________
Seeking colinear harmonics!
Programming: Dish AT120
Displays: Sony VPH-D50Q FPCRT - 7 ft on the wall; Hitachi 57R59 RPCRT; Panasonic 42" Plasma; 26" Sanyo LCD
Receivers: DishNetwork Hopper w/Sling; DishNetwork Hopper 2000;3 - DishNetwork Joeys; 2 - TiVo HD Series 3; 2 - TiVo Series 2's; Accurian 6000; Samsung SIR-T351; Panasonic ShowStopper 2000; ATI HDTV Wonder
Dish 1000.2 on 110,119,129; Dish 500 on 61.5 - where I now get my HD Locals
Sony 80GB PS3;Sony 500GB PS3 Slim; Toshiba HD-DVD
jim5506 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2007, 07:10 PM   #9
Sony KV-30XBR910 & DAV-X1
 

Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 8
Default

Thanks to all who answered my questions. I'm calling Dish next week for a remedy.
snissen is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Go Back   High Def Forum - Your High Definition Community & High Definition Resource > High Definition Programming Providers > DISH Network Forum
AddThis Social Bookmark Button
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads to Satellite dish affected by wind?
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Possible AT-9 Upgrade Tree Issue mluntz DirecTV Forum 17 08-22-2006 01:48 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:42 PM.



Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0
Copyright 2004 - 2008, High Def Forum