High Def Forum - Your High Definition Community & High Definition Resource

Go Back   High Def Forum - Your High Definition Community & High Definition Resource > High Definition Programming Providers > DISH Network Forum
Rules HDTV Forum Gallery LINK TO US! RSS - High Def Forum AddThis Feed Button AddThis Social Bookmark Button Groups

DISH Network Forum Discuss and learn about Dish Network High Definition Satellite TV. Do not put referral code posts in this forum as they will be treated as SPAM. Thank you.RSS - DISH Network Forum

Is Line of Sight better on Dish than DTV?

Reply
AddThis Social Bookmark Button
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-23-2006, 10:59 AM   #1
High Definition is the definition of life.
 

Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 135
Default Is Line of Sight better on Dish than DTV?

Hi all,

My dad is currently a DTV subscriber. He wanted to upgrade his equipment to their new 5-LNB dish and MPEG-4 STB, so that he can get his local channels in Hi Def.

Unfortunately, when the DTV installer came to his house yesterday, they told him that the new DTV birds are much lower on the horizon and he doesn't have a clear line of sight due to a lot of trees around his house.

Does anyone know if the Dish satellites have the same problem, or would they be higher on the horizon so he might be able to switch and get a signal that way?
mwkbear is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2006, 03:19 PM   #2
Bit by the HD Bug
 
Yes616's Avatar
 

Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Liberty - Catskill Mtns, NY
Posts: 658
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mwkbear
Hi all,

My dad is currently a DTV subscriber. He wanted to upgrade his equipment to their new 5-LNB dish and MPEG-4 STB, so that he can get his local channels in Hi Def.

Unfortunately, when the DTV installer came to his house yesterday, they told him that the new DTV birds are much lower on the horizon and he doesn't have a clear line of sight due to a lot of trees around his house.

Does anyone know if the Dish satellites have the same problem, or would they be higher on the horizon so he might be able to switch and get a signal that way?
You need to be a bit more specific for us to help you.
Where are you (city)? What direction from the house are the trees? What birds can he see already? Anything else you can add.
The more you add, the more we can help.
__________________
Yes616
"Here's whats happening on another VOOM HD Network"
DISH ViP 722 w/HDMI
Toshiba 57H84 HDTV w/HDMI
Yamaha Natural Sound AV Receiver RX-V863 (7.2 Channels)
TR Theater Research 1610 / 1611 Speaker Pack
Yamaha YST-SW315 Subwoofers X 2
A ViP 211 upstairs in the bedroom with an Olevia HDTV operated by the Dish 21.0 remote

Yes616 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2006, 04:55 PM   #3
Sony KD34XS955
 

Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Pointe-Claire QC
Posts: 2,864
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mwkbear

Does anyone know if the Dish satellites have the same problem, or would they be higher on the horizon so he might be able to switch and get a signal that way?
All of the birds are in geostationary orbits at the same altitude above the equator, but at different longitudes. A bird that is due south of your location will appear to be at the highest altitude. The further east (or west) of your location a satellite is, the lower in the sky it will appear to be. Because of this noone can answer your question without knowing your location. And as YES616 suggests, the location of trees and other potential obstructions, relative to your home is also relevant.
BrianO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2006, 05:01 PM   #4
High Definition is the definition of life.
 

Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 135
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Yes616
You need to be a bit more specific for us to help you.
Where are you (city)? What direction from the house are the trees? What birds can he see already? Anything else you can add.
The more you add, the more we can help.
Hi,

He's located in Weston, CT 06883 zip code. His house is basically surrounded by trees. He had to have one cut down and another trimmed back, to get the DTV service he has now. He has the 3LNB dish right now, and gets the Total Choice package + the NYC locals. I don't know which satellites he is getting, but I assume it's the same as other people in the New York area.

Although the NYC HD locals happen to be the same as the national feed on MPEG-2, he wanted to upgrade his equipment becuase his STB is getting old and he was afraid it was getting ready to go anyhow. Also, eventually DTV will be moving those channels, from what I understand.

He's not really interested in chopping down any more trees. I imagine if the dish could be pointed at the same angle as it is now, or higher up, that he'd be fine. So, I was wondering if the DISH satellites were higher in the horizon for NYC area customers?

I hope that helps more.
mwkbear is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2006, 05:56 PM   #5
High Definition is the definition of life.
 

Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 57
Default

Take a look at http://www.sadoun.com/Sat/Installati...Calculator.htm

That should give you a good idea of the relative azmuths and elevations of the satellites. I don't know what he has now for D, but he will probably need 61.5, 110 and 119 if he switches to DN.
raylock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2006, 02:18 PM   #6
What is HD?
 

Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1
Default Issues with 5lmb Dish

Quote:
Originally Posted by mwkbear
Hi all,

My dad is currently a DTV subscriber. He wanted to upgrade his equipment to their new 5-LNB dish and MPEG-4 STB, so that he can get his local channels in Hi Def.

Unfortunately, when the DTV installer came to his house yesterday, they told him that the new DTV birds are much lower on the horizon and he doesn't have a clear line of sight due to a lot of trees around his house.

Does anyone know if the Dish satellites have the same problem, or would they be higher on the horizon so he might be able to switch and get a signal that way?


I too had this same problem.. and after going around and arount ( and spending 500.00 to cut down a tree) I've just sayin screw dish. The new 5lmb dish must be totaly usesless because you have to be in the middle of the no where with no tress at all around you to use it. I called dish and there system isn't as picky.. but there sat. location is 119 and higher.. so you might still have an issue. In my case no line of site for dtv's 5lnb crap but dish works just fine..
arthnc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2006, 03:14 PM   #7
How can anyone watch standard def?
 

Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: CT
Posts: 24
Default

We don't have local channels in Hi Def in CT with Dish.
vmaxed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2006, 01:41 PM   #8
High Definition is the definition of life.
 

Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 135
Default Thanks!

Quote:
Originally Posted by vmaxed
We don't have local channels in Hi Def in CT with Dish.
I took a look at the link provided above. It's tough to tell if there is much of a difference, but one of the satellites seemed to be higher than DTV's, so I guess he should just call Dish and let the installer see what he can do.

Since he's in the NYC metro area, he would be getting the NYC locals, not the CT locals.
mwkbear is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2006, 04:11 PM   #9
How can anyone watch standard def?
 

Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: CT
Posts: 24
Default

He will need a two dish setup,one for 110 and 119,one for 61.5 HD.
vmaxed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2006, 09:01 AM   #10
What negative waves?
 

Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 4
Default Mine points lower to the horizon

I recently upgraded to DISH HD, and I also required an additional dish. The near-vertical setting was quite noticeable when I got home after the install. The installer said I was almost locked out of HD reception, also due to trees. Not sure, but I would expect DTV to have similar issues.
Evan Hart is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Go Back   High Def Forum - Your High Definition Community & High Definition Resource > High Definition Programming Providers > DISH Network Forum
AddThis Social Bookmark Button
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads to Is Line of Sight better on Dish than DTV?
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
I don't know what to do..... thisisrybo DISH Network Forum 12 11-21-2007 05:18 PM
Ok, so if you had any option hippdef Cable Providers 30 10-25-2007 11:27 AM
Should I switch to DirecTV from Time Warner? mickey79 DirecTV Forum 28 09-11-2007 08:08 AM
better choice? Curtis6978 Cable Providers 10 03-21-2007 09:02 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:22 PM.



Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0
Copyright 2004 - 2008, High Def Forum