High Def Forum - Your High Definition Community & High Definition Resource

Go Back   High Def Forum - Your High Definition Community & High Definition Resource > High Definition Programming Providers > DISH Network Forum
Rules HDTV Forum Gallery LINK TO US! RSS - High Def Forum AddThis Feed Button AddThis Social Bookmark Button Groups

DISH Network Forum Discuss and learn about Dish Network High Definition Satellite TV. Do not put referral code posts in this forum as they will be treated as SPAM. Thank you.RSS - DISH Network Forum

hooking up surround sound to a dish 411

Reply
AddThis Social Bookmark Button
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-10-2006, 09:38 PM   #1
How can anyone watch standard def?
 

Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 16
Default hooking up surround sound to a dish 411

I need help installing my new home theater I am sure it is simple but I just need some advice I have a 51" philips tv with a dish network 411 reciever and I just purchased a philips dvd surround sound system that I need to install in brief terms I think I need to connect the Dish reciever 411 to the DVD/surround sound then the dvd surround to the TV does this sound correct. The only reason I am asking is because the dish 411 box only has one set of rca and the dvd has mullitples. any help would be appricated.
jman1972 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2006, 06:00 AM   #2
How can anyone watch standard def?
 

Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 26
Default

I would hook the 411 up right to the tv with component cables, or HDMI, and then hook the 411 up to the receiver with an optical cablefor audio. But ther are others here who know more about it than I.
ryseja is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2006, 09:23 AM   #3
Give me the NHL in HD
 
jldhawk's Avatar
 

Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Sioux City, Ia
Age: 50
Posts: 277
Default

I agree with your reply.
Optical cable from the 411 to your receiver, then Component or HDMI cable from 411 to TV.
HDMI will carry AUDIO and VIDEO to your TV, but Component is ONLY VIDEO.
__________________
52" JVC HD-ILA LCoS TV
Dish Network 180HD Gold
HD Package with Dish 411 Reciever
Dish1000 antenna
Pioneer 5.1 DTS Surround System
Toshiba DVD/VHS with HDMI Upconversion for DVD's
Off-Air Terk HDTV-s Rooftop antenna (2 HD Channel NBC off-air, 3 DTV from the off-air antenna)
Dodge Ram (Ya, it's got a HEMI) Infinity Sound System
jldhawk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2006, 12:27 PM   #4
Bit by the HD Bug
 
Yes616's Avatar
 

Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Liberty - Catskill Mtns, NY
Posts: 658
Default

I did HDMI from the receiver to the TV. I then did audio from my TV output to the surround sound receiver. This works good for me. Now I can control surround sound through the surround receiver using TV or Dish remote control. That is an option available on my TV. It has a variable or fixed output so I am using fixed.
Works nice. Check your TV manual to see if that option is available to you.
Even if not, it is just a choice. There are still several ways to do it. Whatever floats your boat but the hookup needs to make sense.
__________________
Yes616
"Here's whats happening on another VOOM HD Network"
DISH ViP 722 w/HDMI
Toshiba 57H84 HDTV w/HDMI
Yamaha Natural Sound AV Receiver RX-V863 (7.2 Channels)
TR Theater Research 1610 / 1611 Speaker Pack
Yamaha YST-SW315 Subwoofers X 2
A ViP 211 upstairs in the bedroom with an Olevia HDTV operated by the Dish 21.0 remote

Yes616 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2006, 03:23 PM   #5
What is HD?
 

Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 2
Default Same Topic, Different Question

I just received my 411 and hooked up my Sony surround sound. The video is component, audio is RCA to tv and optical to surround sound.

The audio on the surround sound is behind the video. (Audio out of the tv is right on the money.) I had the same problem on a different HTIB, so I took it back and got the Sony, which worked fine with the 811 that I had before I upgraded to the 411.

Any ideas?
mte0055 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2006, 06:25 PM   #6
What is HD?
 

Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 3
Default

The problem is with the 411/211 optical audio. I have the same problem with hooking up my Bose system to the 211. Dishnetwork keeps telling me that they are working on it, and to wait for a future software update for 211 (same as 411).
joetmurf is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Go Back   High Def Forum - Your High Definition Community & High Definition Resource > High Definition Programming Providers > DISH Network Forum
AddThis Social Bookmark Button
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads to hooking up surround sound to a dish 411
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hooking up surround sound to a 411 box jman1972 Speakers & Surround Sound 6 03-11-2006 08:19 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:14 PM.



Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0
Copyright 2004 - 2008, High Def Forum