High Def Forum - Your High Definition Community & High Definition Resource

Go Back   High Def Forum - Your High Definition Community & High Definition Resource > High Definition Programming Providers > DISH Network Forum
Rules HDTV Forum Gallery LINK TO US! RSS - High Def Forum AddThis Feed Button AddThis Social Bookmark Button Groups

DISH Network Forum Discuss and learn about Dish Network High Definition Satellite TV. Do not put referral code posts in this forum as they will be treated as SPAM. Thank you.RSS - DISH Network Forum

How to Split Dish Network Satellite Signal

Reply
AddThis Social Bookmark Button
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-24-2016, 04:23 PM   #1
What is HD?
 

Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 1
Default How to Split Dish Network Satellite Signal

I am trying to watch dish network on 2 tv's by using only one dish receiver (which means without paying for a second receiver. I am ok with watching the same dish network channel on both tv's at the same time. My dish network is wired this way: coax cable from dish into dish receiver (VIP211Z), also, red yellow white audio/video cables from receiver to an old SD tv, the receiver doesn't have an output connector, only a single input connector. I tried splitting the signal by using a conventional cable splitter but can't get a signal. When i connect the coax cable from the dish into the splitter and then into the receiver I get no signal on the tv. Do i need a special "satellite TV" splitter of 2.3GHz or higher that works with satellite tv, or some other device? Would I be able to buy my own dual tuner receiver and split the signal to multiple tv's, or does the receiver need a smart card provided by dish network? Some help would be greatly appreciated.
cleardarksky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2016, 05:40 PM   #2
High Definition is the definition of life.
 

Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Greentown, PA
Age: 59
Posts: 2,353
Default

You cannot split the Sat signal before it connects to the receiver. What you may want to try it get rca splitters for the component outs (Red, White, Yellow). reconnect one set to the tv you use now and get an RF modulator in order to connect coax from it to the second tv.
garys is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2016, 08:09 AM   #3
High Definition is the definition of life.
 

Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 227
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cleardarksky View Post
I am trying to watch dish network on 2 tv's by using only one dish receiver (which means without paying for a second receiver. I am ok with watching the same dish network channel on both tv's at the same time. My dish network is wired this way: coax cable from dish into dish receiver (VIP211Z), also, red yellow white audio/video cables from receiver to an old SD tv, the receiver doesn't have an output connector, only a single input connector. I tried splitting the signal by using a conventional cable splitter but can't get a signal. When i connect the coax cable from the dish into the splitter and then into the receiver I get no signal on the tv. Do i need a special "satellite TV" splitter of 2.3GHz or higher that works with satellite tv, or some other device? Would I be able to buy my own dual tuner receiver and split the signal to multiple tv's, or does the receiver need a smart card provided by dish network? Some help would be greatly appreciated.
Is your other TV HD? if so use HDMI cable. The 211 K has the RF out for SD
oljim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2016, 08:35 AM   #4
High Definition is the definition of life.
 
Terryl3's Avatar
 

Join Date: May 2013
Location: Deep in the Duraflame National Forest
Posts: 867
Default

He has the VIP211Z, it does not have an RF output for a second TV set.

One thing that could be done is to use a two way HDMI splitter, then the two signals can be run to two TV sets, but if the run to the second TV set is very long (over 25 feet) you may need to use a HDMI to CAT6 adapter.

This would allow you to run up to 100 feet from the receiver, you would need two CAT6 cables, the HDMI splitter (get a good one) and the set of adapters.

HDMI splitter like this one. http://www.bestbuy.com/site/rocketfi...&skuId=1224493

And a CAT6 HDMI extender like this one. https://www.amazon.com/Monoprice-106.../dp/B000YCDU6U

You can get the CAT6 cables anywhere.
Terryl3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Go Back   High Def Forum - Your High Definition Community & High Definition Resource > High Definition Programming Providers > DISH Network Forum
AddThis Social Bookmark Button
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:53 AM.



Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0
Copyright 2004 - 2008, High Def Forum