High Def Forum - Your High Definition Community & High Definition Resource

Go Back   High Def Forum - Your High Definition Community & High Definition Resource > High Definition Programming Providers > DISH Network Forum
Rules HDTV Forum Gallery LINK TO US! RSS - High Def Forum AddThis Feed Button AddThis Social Bookmark Button Groups

DISH Network Forum Discuss and learn about Dish Network High Definition Satellite TV. Do not put referral code posts in this forum as they will be treated as SPAM. Thank you.RSS - DISH Network Forum

Green screen

Reply
AddThis Social Bookmark Button
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-13-2013, 07:06 AM   #1
A couch and an HDTV to go please.
 

Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 12
Default Green screen

Hi,

I have a vip211 hd receiver for 8 years now and for a about 2 weeks a green screen appears for few minutes and then I see a message "Acquiring signal" and finally a lest message " Downloading program guide" the whole process take about 10 minutes to complete before it's back to normal,. This occurs a few times during the same day.
mercyb2002013 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2013, 08:04 AM   #2
HDF SUPER-MODERATOR
 
ImRizzo's Avatar
 

Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Brooklyn & Eastern Long Island, NY ....It's not a place, it's an Attitude and a NY State of Mind !!
Posts: 21,220
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mercyb2002013 View Post
Hi,

I have a vip211 hd receiver for 8 years now and for a about 2 weeks a green screen appears for few minutes and then I see a message "Acquiring signal" and finally a lest message " Downloading program guide" the whole process take about 10 minutes to complete before it's back to normal,. This occurs a few times during the same day.
Sounds like a sensitivity issue with your receiver.
__________________
Sent from my Fisher Price touch&talk phone~using ITouchmyself II


SonyXBR929-SonyXBR8-Denon 3311CI-Mirage V2 w/S10 Sub-Oppo93-DVP5000-SAHDDVR-Harmony1100 ~ Rizz' HD Toys*link
ImRizzo is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2013, 08:47 AM   #3
A couch and an HDTV to go please.
 

Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 12
Default

Could it be the HDMI cable?
mercyb2002013 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2013, 08:54 AM   #4
High Definition is the definition of life.
 
Ray C@DISH's Avatar
 

Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 598
Default

Is this occurring on certain channels or any channel? Is the coax cable handtight on the receiver? What signal strength do you have on your satellites? Please let me know. Thanks.

Quote:
Originally Posted by mercyb2002013 View Post
Hi,

I have a vip211 hd receiver for 8 years now and for a about 2 weeks a green screen appears for few minutes and then I see a message "Acquiring signal" and finally a lest message " Downloading program guide" the whole process take about 10 minutes to complete before it's back to normal,. This occurs a few times during the same day.
Ray C@DISH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2013, 09:05 AM   #5
A couch and an HDTV to go please.
 

Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 12
Default

On all the channels and the signal is 50%
mercyb2002013 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2013, 09:10 AM   #6
High Definition is the definition of life.
 
Ray C@DISH's Avatar
 

Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 598
Default

Have you run a check switch test on your 211k? Please let me know the results. Thanks.

Quote:
Originally Posted by mercyb2002013 View Post
On all the channels and the signal is 50%
Ray C@DISH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2013, 09:17 AM   #7
A couch and an HDTV to go please.
 

Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 12
Default

My VIP is a 211 hd and not a 211k and and I made a run test on the switch and there ok, no problem there.
mercyb2002013 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2013, 09:31 AM   #8
High Definition is the definition of life.
 
Ray C@DISH's Avatar
 

Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 598
Default

Please PM me your account number and verify your 4 digit PIN number on your account so I can assist you further. Please let me know. Thanks.

Quote:
Originally Posted by mercyb2002013 View Post
My VIP is a 211 hd and not a 211k and and I made a run test on the switch and there ok, no problem there.
Ray C@DISH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2013, 10:51 AM   #9
A couch and an HDTV to go please.
 

Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 12
Default

Sorry but what is my PM and for the digit pin is it on my HDMI cable?
mercyb2002013 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2013, 10:54 AM   #10
HDF SUPER-MODERATOR
 
ImRizzo's Avatar
 

Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Brooklyn & Eastern Long Island, NY ....It's not a place, it's an Attitude and a NY State of Mind !!
Posts: 21,220
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mercyb2002013 View Post
Sorry but what is my PM and for the digit pin is it on my HDMI cable?
Private Mail it's in your profile and I beleive the PIN # he is asking for is you Acct. personal identification number
__________________
Sent from my Fisher Price touch&talk phone~using ITouchmyself II


SonyXBR929-SonyXBR8-Denon 3311CI-Mirage V2 w/S10 Sub-Oppo93-DVP5000-SAHDDVR-Harmony1100 ~ Rizz' HD Toys*link
ImRizzo is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2013, 11:05 AM   #11
A couch and an HDTV to go please.
 

Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 12
Default

Ok but there is the important detail that I forgot to mention:even if my complete HT of off the power on vip211 lit goes on and off by itself ,I see the green led.
mercyb2002013 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2013, 12:40 PM   #12
High Definition is the definition of life.
 
Ray C@DISH's Avatar
 

Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 598
Default

Your receiver is turning on and off on its own - power cycling? If that is the case, it needs to be replaced. Please clarify. Thanks.

Quote:
Originally Posted by mercyb2002013 View Post
Ok but there is the important detail that I forgot to mention:even if my complete HT of off the power on vip211 lit goes on and off by itself ,I see the green led.
Ray C@DISH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2013, 07:28 PM   #13
A couch and an HDTV to go please.
 

Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 12
Default

Hi,

Sometimes happended this morning as my wife was cleaning up my home thetatre system which was off at the time, she accendentally touch the HDMI cable and sine that time no more green screen,but no one can tell if it is going to happen again.
As for my receiver, even if my HD is off the receiver lit itself and this occurr from time to time.
mercyb2002013 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2013, 07:22 AM   #14
A couch and an HDTV to go please.
 

Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 12
Default

Hi,

iT's all over, finito, fini, my problem is like a boomerank, it's coming back, which it did last night, another green screen, I'M buying a new receiver, Thanks for your comments and advises.
mercyb2002013 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2013, 08:09 AM   #15
High Definition is the definition of life.
 

Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Greentown, PA
Age: 57
Posts: 2,308
Default

Why are you buying, add the Protection Plan for a couple of months and Dish will replace it. PM Ray since he is already familiar with your problem.
garys is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Go Back   High Def Forum - Your High Definition Community & High Definition Resource > High Definition Programming Providers > DISH Network Forum
AddThis Social Bookmark Button
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:53 PM.



Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0
Copyright 2004 - 2008, High Def Forum