High Def Forum - Your High Definition Community & High Definition Resource

Go Back   High Def Forum - Your High Definition Community & High Definition Resource > High Definition Programming Providers > DISH Network Forum
Rules HDTV Forum Gallery LINK TO US! RSS - High Def Forum AddThis Feed Button AddThis Social Bookmark Button Groups

DISH Network Forum Discuss and learn about Dish Network High Definition Satellite TV. RSS - DISH Network Forum

Trouble Watching while recording

Reply
AddThis Social Bookmark Button
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-14-2013, 09:39 PM   #1
What is HD?
 

Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 3
Default Trouble Watching while recording

While the primetime records we have no problems but if we record one thing while the primetime records we can't watch anything other one of the five stations being recorded without being asked if we want to disrupt the recording. Naturally we don't want to disturb anything so two out of three tvs in the house is forced to watch one of these five shows while they record. Why can't we watch anything else while recording on each tv? Here is the layout in case you can't figure it out. All three tvs on, these five things recording, one tv can watch anything but the other two can only watchone of the five things being recorded. So if one of the tvs watching what's being recorded wants to watch something diffent the third tv needs to change to what's being recorded. This shared recording is confusing and stupid, its much easier with direct tv and xfinity where ever box has independant recording

Last edited by trtlman; 01-14-2013 at 10:25 PM.
trtlman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2013, 03:54 PM   #2
High Definition is the definition of life.
 

Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 128
Default

Sounds like you have a Hopper/Joey installation. Alright, the tech should have told you that the Hopper only has three tuners. That means, you can only watch/record three things. The reason one tuner is able to record the five shows on one tuner is because it is set up as 'primetime anytime' . Again, this PTAT is only using one tuner. That means, you have two tuners left to watch/record. So say you are recording a program while PTAT is recording, you now only have one tuner to watch/record on. If you are recording three programs, or PTAT and two programs, you can only watch what has been previously recorded or watch what is currently being recorded. I know you may have said, 'Dish Network, I want four HDTVs watching HD channels', but the thing is, It doesn't work like that.

Hoppers are what do all the work, the Joeys do not have tuners themselves but instead have data sent through MOCA from the Hopper. Again, the tech should have told you this, and if you did not like it, he should have set up a 2 hopper, 2 joey install.
TrueBoolFalse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2013, 09:50 PM   #3
What is HD?
 

Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 3
Default

Thanks, and we only have three, a hopper and two joeys, we were told that's all we could have but now I understand, I remember direct tv being like that to where if you are at max recording you can't stray from those channels, but if we turn off a tv while its recording the PTAT and one other than both other tvs can watch whatever they want? That seems to work or at least my dad says it works that way but what you are saying sounds like only one tv should be able to watch whatever if the PTAT and an additional are recording and if PTAT and two extras are going than all three tvs must watch the recording shows and if only PTAT is recording that is the only time the other two tvs can watch whatever

Last edited by trtlman; 01-15-2013 at 09:54 PM.
trtlman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2013, 07:49 AM   #4
High Definition is the definition of life.
 

Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 128
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by trtlman View Post
Thanks, and we only have three, a hopper and two joeys, we were told that's all we could have but now I understand, I remember direct tv being like that to where if you are at max recording you can't stray from those channels, but if we turn off a tv while its recording the PTAT and one other than both other tvs can watch whatever they want? That seems to work or at least my dad says it works that way but what you are saying sounds like only one tv should be able to watch whatever if the PTAT and an additional are recording and if PTAT and two extras are going than all three tvs must watch the recording shows and if only PTAT is recording that is the only time the other two tvs can watch whatever
I am having a hard time following you. Turning a Television off does not change anything. All turning the TV off does is not show the video from the hopper/joey. Meaning, the Hopper/Joey is still on and doing what it would normally be doing if the TV were on.

If PTAT is on, then TWO tuners are available. So, your other two TVs could watch what they want. If one is recording while PTAT is recording, that means only ONE live program can be watched.

If PTAT is not recording, then THREE live programs may be watched. However, if you record on one, then only TWO live programs can be watched.
TrueBoolFalse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2013, 03:16 PM   #5
What is HD?
 

Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 3
Default

Ok I get it, but would turning off one of the boxes make any difference? From what you said on how they work it doesn't seem like it though since the boxes actually don't turn off they just sleep
trtlman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2013, 04:11 PM   #6
High Definition is the definition of life.
 

Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Greentown, PA
Age: 57
Posts: 2,276
Default

The Joeys do not access a tuner while they are in standby.
garys is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2013, 08:19 PM   #7
Yellow Submarine
 
jim5506's Avatar
 

Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Lubbock, Texas
Posts: 3,457
Default

Turning off one or both Joey's will have no effect on how many tuners are available.

You have 3 tuners to use a mixture of live/recording with, tuners are effectively never turned off.

Your limit is the combinations of 3: 3 recordings;2 recordings+1 watch; 1 recording+ 2 watch; 3 watch.

PTAT recording = 1 tuner recording.
__________________
Seeking colinear harmonics!
Programming: Dish AT120
Displays: Sony VPH-D50Q FPCRT - 7 ft on the wall; Hitachi 57R59 RPCRT; Panasonic 42" Plasma; 26" Sanyo LCD
Receivers: DishNetwork Hopper w/Sling; DishNetwork Hopper 2000;3 - DishNetwork Joeys; 2 - TiVo HD Series 3; 2 - TiVo Series 2's; Accurian 6000; Samsung SIR-T351; Panasonic ShowStopper 2000; ATI HDTV Wonder
Dish 1000.2 on 110,119,129; Dish 500 on 61.5 - where I now get my HD Locals
Sony 80GB PS3;Sony 500GB PS3 Slim; Toshiba HD-DVD
jim5506 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2013, 08:30 AM   #8
Sony/Dish HD user
 

Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Newton, NJ
Posts: 277
Default

If you neede more tuners you should have 2 Hoppers. I know their policy is a minimum of one Joey for each Hopper, but there are plenty of posts in this and other Satellite TV forums on how to get around that. I personally kept the extra Joey (on a different HDMI port) and use it on my main TV to control my wife's upstairs Hopper and access an extra tuner if needed. It's worth the extra $7mo.
patmurphey is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Go Back   High Def Forum - Your High Definition Community & High Definition Resource > High Definition Programming Providers > DISH Network Forum
AddThis Social Bookmark Button
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads to Trouble Watching while recording
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FIOS 1.9 issues (BUGS) Rogue357 Verizon FiOS 7 01-10-2012 07:17 AM
kuro pdp5020 vs 50g25 laststop Flat-Panel TVs 7 11-25-2010 07:45 AM
If I get FIOS can I use TiVo tampa22 Verizon FiOS 17 07-10-2010 08:20 PM
New Gen Comcast Set-Top Box? dsopocy Cable Providers 36 09-08-2009 09:17 PM
HR10-250 arrived. Question re remote response tristanjohn DirecTV Forum 28 09-18-2005 01:39 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:23 AM.



Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0
Copyright 2004 - 2008, High Def Forum