High Def Forum - Your High Definition Community & High Definition Resource

Go Back   High Def Forum - Your High Definition Community & High Definition Resource > High Definition Programming Providers > DISH Network Forum
Rules HDTV Forum Gallery LINK TO US! RSS - High Def Forum AddThis Feed Button AddThis Social Bookmark Button Groups

DISH Network Forum Discuss and learn about Dish Network High Definition Satellite TV. Do not put referral code posts in this forum as they will be treated as SPAM. Thank you.RSS - DISH Network Forum

adding vip211

Reply
AddThis Social Bookmark Button
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-27-2012, 08:26 PM   #1
How can anyone watch standard def?
 

Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 16
Default adding vip211

need to know what i need to to do to get signal to vip211 that i added to my bedroom. I had on my old tv getting signal from main tv in living room from my vip222. by way of it feeding of of that reciver. where do i go from here? any help please!
barney5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2012, 09:20 PM   #2
High Definition is the definition of life.
 

Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Greentown, PA
Age: 57
Posts: 2,281
Default

You need to run a coax line from the dish/switch to the new receiver.
garys is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2012, 09:48 PM   #3
How can anyone watch standard def?
 

Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 16
Default

I have a vp222 that feeds my tv now to my bedroom...problem is now i have a vp211 i want to add so where do i find the dish switch on that? Will i get to see different channels on both tvs also?
barney5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2012, 10:02 PM   #4
High Definition is the definition of life.
 
MattG DISH's Avatar
 

Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 213
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by barney5 View Post
I have a vp222 that feeds my tv now to my bedroom...problem is now i have a vp211 i want to add so where do i find the dish switch on that? Will i get to see different channels on both tvs also?
The cable that is currently going into your bedroom from the 222 is for video only. Depending on the LNB you have, you may not have a switch. Chances are you don't have one, and only need to run a separate line directly from the dish to your bedroom to give the 211 signal
__________________
Matthew Gonzales
DISH Internet Response Team
Sunday-Thursday 2:45p-11:15p (MST)
MattG DISH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2012, 05:41 PM   #5
How can anyone watch standard def?
 

Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 16
Default

I noticed that i have the line comming in from sat to a spliter says dp on there. From there it goes out to my main tv & the other conection says vhf/ uhf. That goes to my other tv in bedroom. I disconnected that line to my second tv..where do i go from there? Do i need a different splitter so i can get sat sig nal to my new reciever?
barney5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2012, 05:43 PM   #6
How can anyone watch standard def?
 

Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 16
Default

Forgot to tell u i have 3 lnbs on my dish right now.
barney5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2012, 05:46 PM   #7
High Definition is the definition of life.
 
MattG DISH's Avatar
 

Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 213
Default

What you described is a DPP separator, and a diplexer. These will not help you get your new 211 connected in your bedroom. You will need to run another cable from you dish, to the 211 in your bedroom.

Splitters can NOT be used
__________________
Matthew Gonzales
DISH Internet Response Team
Sunday-Thursday 2:45p-11:15p (MST)
MattG DISH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2012, 06:04 PM   #8
High Definition is the definition of life.
 

Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Greentown, PA
Age: 57
Posts: 2,281
Default

Each receiver needs it's own coax run, you cannot split from coax going to a different receiver.
garys is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Go Back   High Def Forum - Your High Definition Community & High Definition Resource > High Definition Programming Providers > DISH Network Forum
AddThis Social Bookmark Button
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads to adding vip211
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
non-DVR adding the DVR feature? polo708 DISH Network Forum 21 01-27-2009 08:05 PM
Questions adding an additional HD Reciever TP Rhino DISH Network Forum 7 02-21-2008 04:50 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:40 AM.



Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0
Copyright 2004 - 2008, High Def Forum