High Def Forum - Your High Definition Community & High Definition Resource

Go Back   High Def Forum - Your High Definition Community & High Definition Resource > High Definition Programming Providers > DISH Network Forum
Rules HDTV Forum Gallery LINK TO US! RSS - High Def Forum AddThis Feed Button AddThis Social Bookmark Button Groups

DISH Network Forum Discuss and learn about Dish Network High Definition Satellite TV. Do not put referral code posts in this forum as they will be treated as SPAM. Thank you.RSS - DISH Network Forum

DISH network hi-speed internet! Info please.

Reply
AddThis Social Bookmark Button
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-16-2011, 04:28 PM   #1
High Definition is the definition of life.
 

Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 80
Default DISH network hi-speed internet! Info please.

I got an ad in the mail saying DISH now offers hi speed internet for as low as $19.95 a month.

How fast is this internet?

I am currently an AT&T customer, I have DSL Elite which is their fastest brand (except for the U-verse internet which is not available in my area).

I believe my speed is approx 5mbps I know it isn't nearly as fast as some of the speedier cable internet connections, but for what I use it for, it is worth the $35 per month I pay.

My issue is two things: For one, AT&T requires me to have a home phone line, which even though the base plan is cheap at around 12-15 per month it seems there are so many added sub-charges, and taxes and "licensing fees" that I end up paying nearly $30 for a home phone line that I never use. Literally, maybe 2-3 calls are ever made on it, it has just become an answering machine screener for me so I can screen out solicitors. My second issue is that beginning in May, AT&T is planning on capping internet usage at 150 GB per month. Now, I am pretty sure I would never go over this, but I do a lot on the internet, I have PS3 which I play games online on, and also netflix streaming, which I watch a lot of programming on. This combined with the fact that I do a podcast, run a couple blogs, and write horror reviews for a website, and you can see I am pretty busy on the internet. I am not really looking forward to having to worry from month to month that my bill is going to go flucuate. Also, because the 150 GB amount is a figure that 98% will never hit, there is no guarantee that AT&T won't decide they don't even need to be that generous in the future, for example in 6 months they can conclude that 95% don't ever hit 100 GBs either, so they will then lower the cap to that figure instead.

So, with that explanation/rant aside, what exactly is DISH network offering?

To be honest, in the past I have heard from most people to steer clear of satellite internet(In general not specific to any certain carrier) as it sucks and is usually barely faster than dial-up internet and it costs three times as much. If any of this is true, than this post is really a moot point, but I am just wondering because now that I AT&T is looking to put caps in place, I just want to know my options. Also I recently got a flier from DISH network about the high speed internet, so I am not sure if they have new technology now when it comes to offering hi-speed internet or what.

Thanks to whoever can help me!
NoCalMike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2011, 04:42 PM   #2
"Shitter was Full"
 
Bigloww's Avatar
 

Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: In a van, down by the river.
Posts: 8,322
Default

It used to be a last resort for people that had no other HSI options out there and were stuck on dial-up.. It used to be slow (around 768kbps) and expensive including equipment and istallation costs. So was not very popular.. Now they offer a little better speed (I think up to 1.5mbps) and free installion and decent monthly rates. But it is only 1.5mbps max.. If that is all you need and the price stays around $25 a month, not a bad deal. Just check the fine print. They may have a cap as well.. And if you stream HD,, 1.5Mbps is not even close to cutting it.. I think 4-5mbps is the minimal requirement for HD streaming with Netflix and others.

But you no longer NEED phone service with AT&T DSL and has been that way for a year or 2 (at least here in the Chicago area).. I was paying around $30 a month for 6mbps DSL here. They did want to increase it another $10 a month for not having phone service bundled when I cancelled my phone service, but told them to shove it.. They waived that increase after a couple phone transfers up the chain.
__________________
Commit to the Indian..

"I don't get drunk, I get awesome"..

Last edited by Bigloww; 03-16-2011 at 04:46 PM.
Bigloww is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2011, 06:07 PM   #3
High Definition is the definition of life.
 

Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 80
Default

Umm yeah 1.5Mbps is not going to cut it, hahahaha.

Hmm...I had no idea you didn't need to have phone service for DSL anymore. If that's the case I think I need to look into that.

Thanks for the info.
NoCalMike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2011, 07:53 AM   #4
New Dish Network customer
 

Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 66
Default

AT&T just put a cap for monthly data usage for DSL customers...
LazhilUT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2011, 08:10 AM   #5
High Definition is the definition of life.
 

Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 166
Default

yea this cap idea has me worried and hope other isp's dont follow

I have dish but as far as internet, Im the last house 3 miles out in the country that can get charter internet and I pay $39 for 56mbs as of few months ago (they keep increasing it so im not sure what it is now)

I count my lucky stars, I am out in the boonies where nobody bothers me and I get awesome internet and dish
Hokoo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2011, 10:29 AM   #6
"Shitter was Full"
 
Bigloww's Avatar
 

Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: In a van, down by the river.
Posts: 8,322
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by LazhilUT View Post
AT&T just put a cap for monthly data usage for DSL customers...
The cap is going to be 150GB per month.. Unless you download a bunch of HD movies a month, you probably will never reach it. Many cable companies already have caps in place, so this is nothing new.
__________________
Commit to the Indian..

"I don't get drunk, I get awesome"..
Bigloww is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2011, 09:01 PM   #7
High Definition is the definition of life.
 

Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 80
Default

Well. I have a PS3 and do a bunch of gaming and I have netflix streaming..which I use at least 3 -4 times a week......I know I probably won't come close, but ya never know.

Also, the fear right now is that the 150 GB amount is only to "test" the masses with. They say the average user doesn't go over 15 GB or something really low like that, so what might be a 150 GB cap right now, could get lowered at anytime for any reason, AT&T could easily decide that 100 GB is a better cap, or even lower.

It feels like they are trying to double dip. I already pay a higher fee so I can have a faster connection, but then I may get another charge for how much I download.
NoCalMike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2011, 03:07 AM   #8
Every day is Friday
 
oblioman's Avatar
 

Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Hooooterville
Posts: 9,291
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by NoCalMike View Post
Well. I have a PS3 and do a bunch of gaming and I have netflix streaming..which I use at least 3 -4 times a week......I know I probably won't come close, but ya never know.

Also, the fear right now is that the 150 GB amount is only to "test" the masses with. They say the average user doesn't go over 15 GB or something really low like that, so what might be a 150 GB cap right now, could get lowered at anytime for any reason, AT&T could easily decide that 100 GB is a better cap, or even lower.

It feels like they are trying to double dip. I already pay a higher fee so I can have a faster connection, but then I may get another charge for how much I download.
If you are watching netflix hd,,,keep on eye on the caps. It will add up in a hurry. kable Ko's etc. are telling us that the average user is using 3-4 gig a month and rarely go over 20-30 gig a month. This is a blatant lie. If that was the case,,,why would they even implement caps (according to komkast, 98% of users use only 1-2% of the 250 gig cap). If that was the case,,,,,no need for caps. All of the providers can see the writing on the wall - folks are cutting the cord and getting their HD fix from other sources. Simple economics coupled with more blistering bullshit from the providers are the reason for the caps. They all want to kill the best thing going - Netflix.
__________________
MEMPHIS ROCKS
oblioman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2011, 07:10 PM   #9
Hell's Full....I'm Back
 
Poorboy's Avatar
 

Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NW Ohio
Age: 72
Posts: 628
Default

I'm still watchin ta see anyone tellin about how they are getting along with this.....and how much they love it......
"DISH now offers hi speed internet for as low as $19.95 a month."
I'd think somebody had to try it.
Poorboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2011, 10:33 AM   #10
What is HD?
 

Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 4
Default

can't help sorry.
jimmyalfredo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2011, 12:55 AM   #11
High Definition is the definition of life.
 

Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 80
Default

So I'm assuming it is safe to say that Dish Network's "high speed" internet for $19.95 is not up to par with other carriers as far as speed goes?

Usually a Dish Network rep dives into these threads to explain the service if it halfway decent.
NoCalMike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2011, 08:09 AM   #12
"Shitter was Full"
 
Bigloww's Avatar
 

Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: In a van, down by the river.
Posts: 8,322
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jimmyalfredo View Post
can't help sorry.
You can't?? Dam.
__________________
Commit to the Indian..

"I don't get drunk, I get awesome"..
Bigloww is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2011, 08:14 AM   #13
"Shitter was Full"
 
Bigloww's Avatar
 

Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: In a van, down by the river.
Posts: 8,322
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by NoCalMike View Post
So I'm assuming it is safe to say that Dish Network's "high speed" internet for $19.95 is not up to par with other carriers as far as speed goes?

Usually a Dish Network rep dives into these threads to explain the service if it halfway decent.

Yeah, I would just call Dish and get all the exact details... Again, from my understanding the fastest speed they offer is 1.5mbps download.. And my guess is that that package is more than $19.95 a month since they appear to have more than 1 speed package avaliable.. Hopefully I am wrong. But as mentioned, if I was I think we would be having some happy campers chime'n in..
__________________
Commit to the Indian..

"I don't get drunk, I get awesome"..
Bigloww is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2011, 09:44 PM   #14
Rus
Vizio Really Does Rock!!!
 

Join Date: Oct 2009
Age: 77
Posts: 212
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by NoCalMike View Post
Umm yeah 1.5Mbps is not going to cut it, hahahaha.

Hmm...I had no idea you didn't need to have phone service for DSL anymore. If that's the case I think I need to look into that.

Thanks for the info.
I had my AT&T land line phone cancelled and pay $19.95 for 0.66Mbps DSL service. Still have to connect a phone line from the wall outlet to MODEM.
Rus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2012, 01:58 AM   #15
What is HD?
 

Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 1
Default

I have enrolled in Dishnets internet by wildblue communications
There post card said up to 12 Mbps 10 GB data allowance $49.99
They use Speedtest.net to check there connections. Speedtest gives my connection a grade of (F) in 82 test my Latency is from 686ms to
1155ms Upload .22Mb/s to2.24Mb/s Download from 1.03Mb/s to9.44Mb/s

This may be good for movies but not mmos and the latency will drivr you crazy!
Rick Kincer is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Go Back   High Def Forum - Your High Definition Community & High Definition Resource > High Definition Programming Providers > DISH Network Forum
AddThis Social Bookmark Button
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:55 PM.



Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0
Copyright 2004 - 2008, High Def Forum