High Def Forum - Your High Definition Community & High Definition Resource

Go Back   High Def Forum - Your High Definition Community & High Definition Resource > High Definition Programming Providers > DISH Network Forum
Rules HDTV Forum Gallery LINK TO US! RSS - High Def Forum AddThis Feed Button AddThis Social Bookmark Button Groups

DISH Network Forum Discuss and learn about Dish Network High Definition Satellite TV. Do not put referral code posts in this forum as they will be treated as SPAM. Thank you.RSS - DISH Network Forum

Can I upgrade my receiver only?

Reply
AddThis Social Bookmark Button
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-27-2010, 02:36 PM   #1
What is HD?
 

Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 2
Default Can I upgrade my receiver only?

I recently bought my first HD TV and have it connected to a 522 receiver. I have been told that, since several channels are already transmitted in HD, I could buy a HD receiver and view these channels in HD without upgrading my programming. Is this true? Would it be as simple as buying a HD receiver (a 722 perhaps?) and putting the card from my 522 in it?
jlmnjem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2010, 04:57 PM   #2
High Definition is the definition of life.
 

Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Greentown, PA
Age: 57
Posts: 2,281
Default

You would only get some of the HD versions of sd channels you currently get, you may also have to upgrade the dish as most HD channels come from a different sat location than the sd ones.
garys is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2010, 09:38 PM   #3
Yellow Submarine
 
jim5506's Avatar
 

Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Lubbock, Texas
Posts: 3,467
Default

Your 522 is currently seeing the 110 and 119 satellites. Most HD programming is on the 129 satellite (assuming you are on Western arc). You will only see about 20 of the 100+ HD channels without the 129 satellite.
__________________
Seeking colinear harmonics!
Programming: Dish AT120
Displays: Sony VPH-D50Q FPCRT - 7 ft on the wall; Hitachi 57R59 RPCRT; Panasonic 42" Plasma; 26" Sanyo LCD
Receivers: DishNetwork Hopper w/Sling; DishNetwork Hopper 2000;3 - DishNetwork Joeys; 2 - TiVo HD Series 3; 2 - TiVo Series 2's; Accurian 6000; Samsung SIR-T351; Panasonic ShowStopper 2000; ATI HDTV Wonder
Dish 1000.2 on 110,119,129; Dish 500 on 61.5 - where I now get my HD Locals
Sony 80GB PS3;Sony 500GB PS3 Slim; Toshiba HD-DVD
jim5506 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2010, 10:21 PM   #4
What is HD?
 

Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 2
Default

Assuming I'm ok with getting only 20 or so HD channels for now, would it be as simple and buying a HD receiver and swapping the cards?
jlmnjem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2010, 04:48 AM   #5
High Definition is the definition of life.
 

Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Greentown, PA
Age: 57
Posts: 2,281
Default

Getting the receiver and swapping them on the account. You cannot swap the cards, each is married to the receiver, not to the account.
garys is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2010, 08:47 AM   #6
Sony/Dish HD user
 

Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Newton, NJ
Posts: 277
Default

Why don't you just call Dish and ask them what deal they have for you to upgrade to HD. Any upgrade costs will probably be less than buying a receiver and the fees are the same for leased and owned equipment.
patmurphey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2010, 09:01 AM   #7
722k,722, 612, 512 HR34
 

Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: SD
Posts: 1,151
Default

put dish protect on your account for $6 a month, do an upgrade during that month and it will cost you $15

cancel the dish protect after that.

just did this , originally had a 722 and 512 installed 6 months ago, now just a got a 612 and a 722k, now total of 4 receivers
Jodean is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2010, 04:44 PM   #8
Yellow Submarine
 
jim5506's Avatar
 

Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Lubbock, Texas
Posts: 3,467
Default

Even if you do not have an HDTV, it will probably be cheaper now and in the long run to just have Dish do you a Dish'N-it up upgrade.

There is no advantage to owning over leasing the receiver, except maybe in the resale of the reciever later, but that is iffy.

With the upgrade, you also get the proper three LNB dish plus good wiring, proper grounding, installation and setup of the receiver.
__________________
Seeking colinear harmonics!
Programming: Dish AT120
Displays: Sony VPH-D50Q FPCRT - 7 ft on the wall; Hitachi 57R59 RPCRT; Panasonic 42" Plasma; 26" Sanyo LCD
Receivers: DishNetwork Hopper w/Sling; DishNetwork Hopper 2000;3 - DishNetwork Joeys; 2 - TiVo HD Series 3; 2 - TiVo Series 2's; Accurian 6000; Samsung SIR-T351; Panasonic ShowStopper 2000; ATI HDTV Wonder
Dish 1000.2 on 110,119,129; Dish 500 on 61.5 - where I now get my HD Locals
Sony 80GB PS3;Sony 500GB PS3 Slim; Toshiba HD-DVD
jim5506 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2010, 07:59 AM   #9
How can anyone watch standard def?
 

Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 25
Default

Hi, this is Alicia Brink with DISH Network customer service. You all have great ideas and responses. JLMNJEM, you can get the local channels in HD and such without subscribing to HD programming but you will still be required to upgrade both the receiver and satellite to get these channels. GaryS was correct, when you get a new receiver you will get a new smartcard they are married to each other. You can purchase but with all the promotions we have going on right now with reduced/free upgrades and free HD for life programming it would be to your benefit to lease. You may be required to do additional things like a 24 month commitment or credit/debit card auto pay with some of these promotions but it would be less expensive as well. Let us know if you have any questions or concerns.
AliciaB_DISH is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Go Back   High Def Forum - Your High Definition Community & High Definition Resource > High Definition Programming Providers > DISH Network Forum
AddThis Social Bookmark Button
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads to Can I upgrade my receiver only?
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mistubishi 50803 HDTV Upgrade: It works! Sport73 Rear-Projection TVs 184 04-19-2011 04:41 AM
Toshiba A35 and Onkyo 605 TrueHD - Help etbeaty HD DVD Players and Discs 75 07-26-2008 10:20 PM
Just splurged on the HD-A2 DallasDan HD DVD Players and Discs 20 03-13-2007 07:58 AM
which to buy hd-xa1 or hd-A2 papaya HD DVD Players and Discs 52 02-19-2007 09:27 PM
Neutral Bliss Jerry1808 HD DVD Players and Discs 20 02-17-2007 05:53 PM
Why the Toshiba HD DVD rocks-literally HDMI Fantastic HD DVD Players and Discs 68 01-28-2007 10:17 PM
My Sony HDTV only has DVI. unotis HD DVD Players and Discs 10 06-24-2006 05:56 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:06 PM.



Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0
Copyright 2004 - 2008, High Def Forum