High Def Forum - Your High Definition Community & High Definition Resource

Go Back   High Def Forum - Your High Definition Community & High Definition Resource > High Definition Programming Providers > DISH Network Forum
Rules HDTV Forum Gallery LINK TO US! RSS - High Def Forum AddThis Feed Button AddThis Social Bookmark Button Groups

DISH Network Forum Discuss and learn about Dish Network High Definition Satellite TV. RSS - DISH Network Forum

Dish network satellite position

Reply
AddThis Social Bookmark Button
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-08-2010, 04:03 PM   #1
How can anyone watch standard def?
 

Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 23
Default Dish network satellite position

I currently have Direct TV, with no contract. I have had it almost from the get-go. My problem is I live right in the middle of a 12 acre wood. I had to make a window through the trees to receive direct TV. It wasn't easy, but we don't have cable TV in my area so I didn't have much choice. Now I wonder if I wanted to switch to Dish where their satellite is relative to the direct TV satellite? My area code is 37764 in Tennessee. How would I find that out?
clayman1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2010, 09:40 PM   #2
Go to a movie tonight
 

Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Gettysburg, PA
Posts: 130
Default

Assuming that you want HD channels and Knoxville are your locals you will need an eastern arc dish (1000.4). Go to www.dishpointer.com and zoom in on your property. Change the satellite selector to 1000.4, the green line is the direction the dish will need to point. You can move the pin to different location around your house for different views. If you do not need HD then you will need a 500 dish. This would look in the same general direction as your Direct dish.
Pamajestic is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2010, 08:44 PM   #3
How can anyone watch standard def?
 

Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 23
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pamajestic View Post
Assuming that you want HD channels and Knoxville are your locals you will need an eastern arc dish (1000.4). Go to www.dishpointer.com and zoom in on your property. Change the satellite selector to 1000.4, the green line is the direction the dish will need to point. You can move the pin to different location around your house for different views. If you do not need HD then you will need a 500 dish. This would look in the same general direction as your Direct dish.
Thanks Pamajestic! That bit of info effectively shut the door on Dish HD for me, unless, I want to run 250 ft of buried cable through the woods, which I ain't going to do. But now I wonder if the satellite position of Direct TV will change if I go Hi def?

Do you know what satellite Direct TV uses for HD for zip 37764?
clayman1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2010, 01:37 PM   #4
Go to a movie tonight
 

Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Gettysburg, PA
Posts: 130
Default

I’m not familiar with Direct equipment, but there are only 3 multi LNB dishes listed on the dish pointer site and they all look in the same direction. I think their HD requires the 3 or 5 LNB dish.
Pamajestic is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2010, 11:44 AM   #5
High Definition is the definition of life.
 

Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 1,438
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by clayman1 View Post
Thanks Pamajestic! That bit of info effectively shut the door on Dish HD for me, unless, I want to run 250 ft of buried cable through the woods, which I ain't going to do. But now I wonder if the satellite position of Direct TV will change if I go Hi def?

Do you know what satellite Direct TV uses for HD for zip 37764?
All DirecTV HD including locals is from multiple satellites in the 99 and 103 satellite slots. SD is from 101. 99 and 103 are so close to 101 that nearly everyone who gets good SD reception gets good HD signals also. Use dishpointer.com to check your line of sight.
texasbrit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2013, 05:25 PM   #6
What is HD?
 

Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 2
Default directv hidef

from what i have been told the sats for hidef are a bit lower in the sky and trees do factor in
drwho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2013, 12:00 AM   #7
High Definition is the definition of life.
 

Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Greentown, PA
Age: 57
Posts: 2,276
Default

Is there a reason you posted to a thread that has been dead for three years?
garys is online now   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Go Back   High Def Forum - Your High Definition Community & High Definition Resource > High Definition Programming Providers > DISH Network Forum
AddThis Social Bookmark Button
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads to Dish network satellite position
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Is Comcast going to look better any time soon? xeperx Cable Providers 73 09-07-2008 01:09 PM
CES: DISH Network to Offer 100 HD Channels DodgerKing DISH Network Forum 27 01-11-2008 09:10 PM
SportsNet New York to launch 3/16/2006 Yes616 DISH Network Forum 8 03-15-2006 07:00 AM
Dish Network Giving me a Hard Time clusion DISH Network Forum 7 01-18-2006 01:49 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:17 AM.



Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0
Copyright 2004 - 2008, High Def Forum