High Def Forum - Your High Definition Community & High Definition Resource

Go Back   High Def Forum - Your High Definition Community & High Definition Resource > High Definition Programming Providers > DISH Network Forum
Rules HDTV Forum Gallery LINK TO US! RSS - High Def Forum AddThis Feed Button AddThis Social Bookmark Button Groups

DISH Network Forum Discuss and learn about Dish Network High Definition Satellite TV. RSS - DISH Network Forum

How does Dish Dual mode work?

Reply
AddThis Social Bookmark Button
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-20-2009, 10:41 PM   #1
High Definition is the definition of life.
 

Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 34
Default How does Dish Dual mode work?

I wanted to upgrade to a new dish package( I have dish atm but I want to cancel and apply again to get the new customer incentives) and I am going to have one hdtv upstairs in my room and a SD tv downstairs. Does that dual mode dvr thing work so that the dvr can be upstairs but somehow you can watch separate tv downstairs, changing the channel and all that stuff at even though the receiver nit is upstairs? Also at the same time?
kiro187 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2009, 05:00 AM   #2
High Definition is the definition of life.
 

Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 52
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kiro187 View Post
I wanted to upgrade to a new dish package( I have dish atm but I want to cancel and apply again to get the new customer incentives) and I am going to have one hdtv upstairs in my room and a SD tv downstairs. Does that dual mode dvr thing work so that the dvr can be upstairs but somehow you can watch separate tv downstairs, changing the channel and all that stuff at even though the receiver nit is upstairs? Also at the same time?
Dish will not see you as a 'new customer' if you cancel and reapply right away. You will have to wait 6 months to a year to be removed from their database. Not worth the wait. However if you ask to cancel, their customer retention department might offer you a 'deal' to remain with them.

Before you do anything though, go to the Dish website, login to your account and see what special deals are offered to you in the 'Dish-it up' program. You may find an upgrade deal that you like.

As for the Dual mode DVR (VIP711k), the answer is 'yes' to all your questions.

John
jscudder is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2009, 06:14 AM   #3
High Definition is the definition of life.
 

Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Greentown, PA
Age: 57
Posts: 2,255
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jscudder View Post

As for the Dual mode DVR (VIP711k), . . .
John
Dish does not have a 711 receiver, You may have meant a 622 or 722.
garys is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2009, 11:34 AM   #4
High Definition is the definition of life.
 

Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 34
Default

What if I was going to cancel and sign up under my wifes name?
kiro187 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2009, 11:51 AM   #5
"Shitter was Full"
 
Bigloww's Avatar
 

Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: In a van, down by the river.
Posts: 8,322
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kiro187 View Post
What if I was going to cancel and sign up under my wifes name?

You can try that if she has a different last name. But if it is tied to the same address, may be an issue. Worth a try. If not all you really need to do is threaten to cancel and go with DTV. You can get the same (if not better) deals than as a new customer. I and many others have gone this route. With some assertiveness and persistence, you should have no problem getting a free Vip 722 HD DVR and free HD service for 6 months or so. They even gave me free HBO and Skinamax for 3 months again and free installion bla bla bla. I just needed to sing a 1 year commitment and they waived the $50 install fee. Just had to say nah, I don't think so a few times and they kept upp'n the ante until I liked it. If Dish Up does not do, that is what I would do.

The Vip 722 is a great HD DVR btw. It does 1 HD and 1 SD TV and you can record 2 shows at once and or watch a recorded show in either room or simo if you like. If you hook up an OTA antenna you can watch a 3rd.
__________________
Commit to the Indian..

"I don't get drunk, I get awesome"..
Bigloww is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2009, 02:45 PM   #6
722k,722, 612, 512 HR34
 

Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: SD
Posts: 1,152
Default

if the threatening to cancel doesnt work....ya ive done the use the spouses name, hell you can even use your spouses first name and madden last name, dish doesnt care as long as you pay your bill. I have even set up auto pay using my credit card on her account with her last name, no issues.
Jodean is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Go Back   High Def Forum - Your High Definition Community & High Definition Resource > High Definition Programming Providers > DISH Network Forum
AddThis Social Bookmark Button
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads to How does Dish Dual mode work?
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
High Def on DVD? Jephph High Definition Media 21 07-22-2008 01:37 PM
Questions about switching from D* to E* AshtonNH DISH Network Forum 13 09-15-2006 05:22 PM
Why does the 942 HAVE to be two tuner!?!? Sandro DISH Network Forum 10 08-11-2005 11:53 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:17 AM.



Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0
Copyright 2004 - 2008, High Def Forum