High Def Forum - Your High Definition Community & High Definition Resource

Go Back   High Def Forum - Your High Definition Community & High Definition Resource > High Definition Programming Providers > DirecTV Forum
Rules HDTV Forum Gallery LINK TO US! RSS - High Def Forum AddThis Feed Button AddThis Social Bookmark Button Groups

DirecTV Forum Discuss and learn about DirecTV High Definition Satellite TV. RSS - DirecTV Forum

Instructions for tuning a KAKU or SWiM Dish

Reply
AddThis Social Bookmark Button
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-08-2009, 08:14 AM   #1
High Definition is the definition of life.
 

Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 123
Default Instructions for tuning a KAKU or SWiM Dish

Here are the instructions on how to properly tune in a KAKU or SWiM dish. (This is with a signal meter)... So you will have to figure out what way works best for you to tune this in if you don't have a signal meter.

1) Make sure your mast is level in both directions (font to back and side to side).

2) Set your presettings on your dish (azimuth, sku, and elevation). These can be found in your receivers set up after entering in your zip code. For me it's 85 tilt (aka sku), and 49 elevation. The azmiuth is the general direction in which you will start pointing. You will need to have 4 bolts loosened. THey are the two for elevation on the outside. The one on the dither pin should be tight. The others that should be loose are on the bottom of the azel assembly closest to the dish.

Tighten down the collar bolts until the "rocking motion" is taken out of the dish. You should be able to turn the dish, but with some force applied.

3) Turn your signal meter/receiver to the 101 satellite and begin to move it until you get the best signal possible.

4)Tighten down the 3 collar bolts EXTREMELY TIGHT.

5)With a 1/2" nut driver move the azmiuth nut (the one on the rigth side (if you are behind the dish) to the right....... and then back to the left to get a higher signal reading. Leave it on the highest possible.

6)Do the same with the elevation dither nut (left side).

7)Now ... change the satellite to the 119. Loosen the 3 tilt nuts and turn the dish until you get the highest CN rate possible. (You can't do this with a receiver, but if you leave it on the pre settings in your area you will be okay). After the final step you can always try to adjust this when you have the 99 or 103 satellite selected to get a higher reading....assuming you are using a receiver now. Tighten the 3 nuts back.

PUT THE SAT BACK ON THE 101.

8)Now go back to the azmiuth nut and set the dial to zero at the 12 oclock position with your fingers. Turn the nut 2 full rotations to the left. As you turn the nut the dial will turn so it's easy to tell. Look at your signal on the 101 now. Lets say it's 40%. You will turn the nut to the right and count how many rotations it take to get the same 40% reading. (The singal will go up then back down). Lets say it took you 5 turns then you ended up on number seven. That will equal 53. A turn equals 10 and since your turing it backwards, 7 is 3 positions from 0. So now you will divide 53 in half (26.5), set the dial with your fingers back to zero and turn the nut left two full rotations and keep turning it until the 6.5 mark is at 12 oclock.

9) Do the same thing for the elevation nut.

10) tighten down the 4 nuts that we loosened up before we started.

You're finished!
justinbwill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2009, 11:04 AM   #2
High Definition is the definition of life.
 

Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 1,447
Default

Actually you are NOT finished. It's because many installers stop at this point that you get so many badly installed dishes.

Connect an HD receiver or DVR. Check the signal strengths on the 99c and 103c satellites. (99a and 103b if you have a receiver). If all the transponders are in the 80s (preferably in the 90s) then you have finished. If not, go back and try the dithering again (steps 8 and 9) but be even more precise about finding the center of the beam. Check the 99c/103c signals again. If they are still not in the 80s/90s, then adjust first the azimuth fine-tune nut, with someone else watching the signal strength screen to peak the signals on 103c (or 99c, it does not matter which). When you have done this for azimuth, repeat for elevation. This will maximize your 99c/103c signals. If the dish mount is plumb, then maximizing your 99c/103c signals will also give you the highest possible signal strength on all the other satellites.
texasbrit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2009, 04:38 PM   #3
High Definition is the definition of life.
 

Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 123
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by texasbrit View Post
Actually you are NOT finished. It's because many installers stop at this point that you get so many badly installed dishes.

Connect an HD receiver or DVR. Check the signal strengths on the 99c and 103c satellites. (99a and 103b if you have a receiver). If all the transponders are in the 80s (preferably in the 90s) then you have finished. If not, go back and try the dithering again (steps 8 and 9) but be even more precise about finding the center of the beam. Check the 99c/103c signals again. If they are still not in the 80s/90s, then adjust first the azimuth fine-tune nut, with someone else watching the signal strength screen to peak the signals on 103c (or 99c, it does not matter which). When you have done this for azimuth, repeat for elevation. This will maximize your 99c/103c signals. If the dish mount is plumb, then maximizing your 99c/103c signals will also give you the highest possible signal strength on all the other satellites.
ANY installer who doesn't check their signals levels during a receiver setup is a moron..... I left that out b/c anyone who uses this as a guide with a receiver (without a signal meter) would surely check their levels to make sure they are in the very high 80's/90s

I have NEVER, repeat NEVER had to retune a dish after my original dithering. They are ALWAYS in the mid to high 90's. If you dither it proplery you should never have to check your signal on a revceiver before lockdown. If you had to dither it a second time it's because you didn't start out at the highest signal point when you were coarse tuning.

Cheers!

JW

Last edited by justinbwill; 02-08-2009 at 04:41 PM.
justinbwill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2009, 01:03 AM   #4
My plasma is High Def.
 

Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 8
Default

ooops. wrong thread. disregard
mach1219 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2009, 07:51 AM   #5
High Definition is the definition of life.
 

Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 1,447
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by justinbwill View Post
ANY installer who doesn't check their signals levels during a receiver setup is a moron..... I left that out b/c anyone who uses this as a guide with a receiver (without a signal meter) would surely check their levels to make sure they are in the very high 80's/90s

I have NEVER, repeat NEVER had to retune a dish after my original dithering. They are ALWAYS in the mid to high 90's. If you dither it proplery you should never have to check your signal on a revceiver before lockdown. If you had to dither it a second time it's because you didn't start out at the highest signal point when you were coarse tuning.

Cheers!

JW
Two points. First, if the tech is aligning the dish with a meter many of the meters don't read the Ka signals, so many techs don't bother to check the signals from the Ka satellites using the receiver and they should. Second, even if you dither the dish correctly (and many techs still do not do this carefully enough) if the dish is not plumb you won't discover this unless you check the Ka signals. So yes, if you plumb the dish properly and if you dither properly you should get good Ka signals but you still need to check them using the receiver if your meter won't read Ka.
texasbrit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2009, 10:04 PM   #6
High Definition is the definition of life.
 

Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 79
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by texasbrit View Post
Two points. First, if the tech is aligning the dish with a meter many of the meters don't read the Ka signals, so many techs don't bother to check the signals from the Ka satellites using the receiver and they should. Second, even if you dither the dish correctly (and many techs still do not do this carefully enough) if the dish is not plumb you won't discover this unless you check the Ka signals. So yes, if you plumb the dish properly and if you dither properly you should get good Ka signals but you still need to check them using the receiver if your meter won't read Ka.
I think my dish may not be plumb, is there an easy way to fix this?
GforU is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2009, 09:28 AM   #7
High Definition is the definition of life.
 

Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 123
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by GforU View Post
I think my dish may not be plumb, is there an easy way to fix this?

Yes there is.... You will need a $8 torpedo level.

You will need to snip off the zipties holding the cable to the mast, then loosen the 3 collar bolts. Now swivel the entire dish as you lift up. When it's off you will need to loosen the elbow bolts on the support arms (the ones in the middle. This will allow the mast to move.

Now loosen all 4 bolts on the foot plate. The mast has a slot in it so that you can move it side to side and up and down. You will have to lightly snug one bolt on one side, then do the other side. Re-check that it's still level. Then snug the others..... Check for level... then tighten two, check for level, tighten the other two, check for level.

Now tighten the elbow nuts. Put the dish back on and repeak.
justinbwill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2010, 07:41 AM   #8
My plasma is High Def.
 

Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7
Default HR20-700 with Slimeline & SL3PIG-P LNB not picking up 99c...need help please!

Hi All,

I've installed a couple of Slimelines with SL5s before but it's my 1st time doing one with an Eagle Aspen SL3PIG-P LNB. I don't think I've got the dish peaked cuz I'm only getting 40s to 50s across the board on 103 and high 50s to 60s on 101. So as a result I'm getting 0s on all of the 99c transponders

My HR20-700 receiver says that for zip 98281 my Azimuth is 134, Elevation 31 and tilt 108.

I have the latest receiver software update listed on May 25, 2010.

Redid Antenna Setup several times choosing Slimeline SL3 and Multiswitch with Dual Tuners.....with still the same 0 signal results on 99c. Using a simple Ku signal meter that I know does not receive Ka signals. Is it possible that I am peaking on the wrong satellite and I've positioned the dish 2 degrees off, thus only picking up 101 and 103?

Any advice would be greatly appreciated!
f13dfx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2010, 06:13 PM   #9
722k,722, 612, 512 HR34
 

Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: SD
Posts: 1,151
Default

so your saying use a 5 lnb to do a correct dish alignment?? i guess that would work, i usually just use a 3

The last one i did i completely forgot you need b bands with hr24's with a legacy lnb, wasted over an hour.....i had never installed a b band before, first time for me. DOH!!
Jodean is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Go Back   High Def Forum - Your High Definition Community & High Definition Resource > High Definition Programming Providers > DirecTV Forum
AddThis Social Bookmark Button
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads to Instructions for tuning a KAKU or SWiM Dish
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Will I need to realign my dish if I move it North 2' ? storis DirecTV Forum 11 04-16-2009 12:32 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:51 AM.



Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0
Copyright 2004 - 2008, High Def Forum