High Def Forum - Your High Definition Community & High Definition Resource

Go Back   High Def Forum - Your High Definition Community & High Definition Resource > High Definition Programming Providers > DirecTV Forum
Rules HDTV Forum Gallery LINK TO US! RSS - High Def Forum AddThis Feed Button AddThis Social Bookmark Button Groups

DirecTV Forum Discuss and learn about DirecTV High Definition Satellite TV. RSS - DirecTV Forum

Should I use Direct TV for Off Air Locals

Reply
AddThis Social Bookmark Button
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-29-2009, 07:40 PM   #1
High Definition is the definition of life.
 

Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 64
Default Should I use Direct TV for Off Air Locals

This is not an antenna question:

I just bought a new HDTV that has a HD tuner. Should I run the off air directly to the HDTV tuner or continue to use DirectTV to decode the signal? I've heard that DirectTV's compresses the HD signal to save bandwidth, so I was wondering which would provide the best picture?
__________________
JVC 61 inch DILA
Norcent 42 inch Plasma
2 Yamaha Surround Sound Recievers
2 DirectTv HD H10
Channel Master 4228
ZIP 27545
hdtv720p is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2009, 07:48 PM   #2
High Definition is the definition of life.
 

Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 123
Default

So are you running your off air cable into the HD receiver's off air in? If so .. you must have an older receiver. What you need to do is run the coax from your off air directly into the coax connection of the tv. This is due to the fact that your off air comes in on around 250mhz. This is the same frequency that the HD uses. DTV has found that this can cause interference This is why the new HD receivers don't have coax inputs for off air signal.

Hope this helps.

Justin
justinbwill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2009, 07:56 PM   #3
High Definition is the definition of life.
 

Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 64
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by justinbwill View Post
So are you running your off air cable into the HD receiver's off air in? If so .. you must have an older receiver. What you need to do is run the coax from your off air directly into the coax connection of the tv. This is due to the fact that your off air comes in on around 250mhz. This is the same frequency that the HD uses. DTV has found that this can cause interference This is why the new HD receivers don't have coax inputs for off air signal.

Hope this helps.

Justin
I have the newer receiver (piano black) but I also have the AM21. So, are you saying I will get a better picture if I connect the off air directly to the HDTV, rather than letting DirectTV decode the signal?
__________________
JVC 61 inch DILA
Norcent 42 inch Plasma
2 Yamaha Surround Sound Recievers
2 DirectTv HD H10
Channel Master 4228
ZIP 27545
hdtv720p is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2009, 09:46 PM   #4
High Definition is the definition of life.
 

Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 49
Default

I am also interested in the anwser to this question. As I understand it, the CABLE companies, have to compress the signal due to bandwidth limitations, so I was told the over the air HD signals provide a better picture. I was not told this also applies sat. tv signals.......I am sure someone here knows.......
bandit67 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2009, 05:45 AM   #5
Former Super Moderator
 
Loves2Watch's Avatar
 

Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: In Flux
Posts: 20,284
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bandit67 View Post
I am also interested in the anwser to this question. As I understand it, the CABLE companies, have to compress the signal due to bandwidth limitations, so I was told the over the air HD signals provide a better picture. I was not told this also applies sat. tv signals.......I am sure someone here knows.......
Correct. OTA delivers the best HD picture as it has less compression.
__________________
It's always time for pie
Live everyday as if it was your last and plan on living forever...
Loves2Watch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2009, 05:46 AM   #6
Friends in crawl spaces
 
Twister's Avatar
 

Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Alabama
Posts: 313
Default

If you have the AM21 and getting your locals OTA then they aren't compressed. DirecTV doesn't do anything to the signal. If you go through the AM21 then your OTA channels are incorporated into your DTV guide and you're able to record the channels. If you have the OTA connected to your TV then you can watch but not record.
Twister is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2009, 10:19 AM   #7
High Definition is the definition of life.
 

Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 64
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Twister View Post
If you have the AM21 and getting your locals OTA then they aren't compressed. DirecTV doesn't do anything to the signal. If you go through the AM21 then your OTA channels are incorporated into your DTV guide and you're able to record the channels. If you have the OTA connected to your TV then you can watch but not record.
With that being the case, I will continue integrating my OTA signal with DirectTV, via the AM21. This provides the same picture quality with the ability of recording with the DVR.

Thanks
__________________
JVC 61 inch DILA
Norcent 42 inch Plasma
2 Yamaha Surround Sound Recievers
2 DirectTv HD H10
Channel Master 4228
ZIP 27545
hdtv720p is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Go Back   High Def Forum - Your High Definition Community & High Definition Resource > High Definition Programming Providers > DirecTV Forum
AddThis Social Bookmark Button
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads to Should I use Direct TV for Off Air Locals
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sept. 19 HD Channel Launch Date Q&A dman59 DirecTV Forum 48 07-08-2013 10:26 AM
Why would i have to turn antenna diff directions for some channels to pickup nyg052003 Local HDTV Info and Reception 30 01-12-2009 07:20 AM
Dish HD picture skywatchbob DISH Network Forum 14 05-27-2007 11:03 AM
Am I SOL in getting HD Signals jsteed Local HDTV Info and Reception 7 01-09-2005 07:13 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:19 PM.



Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0
Copyright ©2004 - 2008, High Def Forum