High Def Forum - Your High Definition Community & High Definition Resource

Go Back   High Def Forum - Your High Definition Community & High Definition Resource > High Definition Programming Providers > DirecTV Forum
Rules HDTV Forum Gallery LINK TO US! RSS - High Def Forum AddThis Feed Button AddThis Social Bookmark Button Groups

DirecTV Forum Discuss and learn about DirecTV High Definition Satellite TV. RSS - DirecTV Forum

Logitech Harmony One remote

Reply
AddThis Social Bookmark Button
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-16-2008, 11:19 AM   #1
High Definition is the definition of life.
 

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Miami, FL - USA
Posts: 63
Default Logitech Harmony One remote

Anyone have this with the HD DVR receiver? Snagged one off amazon other day and it'll be here tomorrow and was wondering if it can be programmed to use the guide, record, etc buttons for DVR and normal channel surfing...

At worst I'll go from 5 remotes to 2...but was just hoping to get down to 1.
badbeat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2008, 11:41 AM   #2
"Shitter was Full"
 
Bigloww's Avatar
 

Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: In a van, down by the river.
Posts: 8,322
Default

Yes, it will do it all. I have the 550 and have all my stuff (receiver, TV, 360, HD DVD and Vip622 DVR) all connected.. Works great and have all the features of my seperate remotes. The activities feature on these remotes are awesome. Just hit Blue Ray and it will switch everything for you with 1 hit of the button..
__________________
Commit to the Indian..

"I don't get drunk, I get awesome"..
Bigloww is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2008, 11:50 AM   #3
High Definition is the definition of life.
 

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Miami, FL - USA
Posts: 63
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bigloww View Post
Yes, it will do it all. I have the 550 and have all my stuff (receiver, TV, 360, HD DVD and Vip622 DVR) all connected.. Works great and have all the features of my seperate remotes. The activities feature on these remotes are awesome. Just hit Blue Ray and it will switch everything for you with 1 hit of the button..
Thanks... this is what I'm looking forward to most.. now that I have the surround setup... I have to turn on the tv, turn on the receiver, turn on the blu ray player, switch the receiver to blu ray, then get the blu ray remote to get the movie started, then get the receiver remote to adjust the volume, etc... lol...

Happy to grab the Harmony, hit BLURAY, hit play....
badbeat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2008, 11:51 AM   #4
High Definition is the definition of life.
 

Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 99
Default

About the ONLY thing a Harmony remote can't control is the PS3

Sony used Bluetooth instead of RF or IR !!! so you should be able to get everything into the Harmony... I went fro 8+ to 2 (harmony and PS3 remote)... Controls everything in the Media Room list below except the PS3 - ONE Button and in about 10 Seconds... everything is on and set to proper inputs etc

The family is appreciative as it used to take 10 minutes to get everything turned on and required a sheet of paper with steps to turn on TV with SAT, DVD etc...

Make sure you update the FW etc... they release updates ~ quarterly
__________________
Media Room
Sony VPL-VW40 Projector
Elite Screens 120"
Onkyo TX SR-606 7.1 Enabled
Infinity ERS HV-250 In-Wall - Front/Center
Infinity CS-60 In-Wall - Surround and Rear
Infinity Powered 10" Sub
FiOS HD Rcvr
Toshiba HD-A3 HD-DVD
PS3-60
XBOX360
Wii
All Wireless N enabled


Family Room
Sony 60" KDS-R60XBR1
FiOS Home Media DVR
Toshiba HD-A1 HD-DVD
Pioneer Elite 84TSXi 5.1 Enabled
Infinity Interlude Series Speakers - Front/Center
Def-Tech Surrounds

Movies
My Movies
DRK HRSE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2008, 11:55 AM   #5
High Definition is the definition of life.
 

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Miami, FL - USA
Posts: 63
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DRK HRSE View Post
About the ONLY thing a Harmony remote can't control is the PS3

Sony used Bluetooth instead of RF or IR !!! so you should be able to get everything into the Harmony... I went fro 8+ to 2 (harmony and PS3 remote)... Controls everything in the Media Room list below except the PS3 - ONE Button and in about 10 Seconds... everything is on and set to proper inputs etc

The family is appreciative as it used to take 10 minutes to get everything turned on and required a sheet of paper with steps to turn on TV with SAT, DVD etc...

Make sure you update the FW etc... they release updates ~ quarterly
Cool... yeah the Harmony One, for some reason is only IR, but that is a minor annoyance for me because I dont have anything behind doors or in cabinets....and I never ended up getting a PS3, only XBOX 360.

And..I'm 100% sure they used Bluetooth instead of IR or RF because it makes u have to buy the remote from them
badbeat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2008, 01:24 PM   #6
Friends in crawl spaces
 
Twister's Avatar
 

Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Alabama
Posts: 313
Default

I have the Harmony One and love it. It functions and feels like the DirecTV remote. If you Google "Harmony One Icons" you can find a few web sites that have HQ channel logo icons to use for your favorites.
Twister is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2008, 08:15 PM   #7
How can anyone watch standard def?
 
tales's Avatar
 

Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: NYC
Posts: 15
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DRK HRSE View Post
About the ONLY thing a Harmony remote can't control is the PS3

Sony used Bluetooth instead of RF or IR !!! so you should be able to get everything into the Harmony... I went fro 8+ to 2 (harmony and PS3 remote)... Controls everything in the Media Room list below except the PS3 - ONE Button and in about 10 Seconds... everything is on and set to proper inputs etc

The family is appreciative as it used to take 10 minutes to get everything turned on and required a sheet of paper with steps to turn on TV with SAT, DVD etc...

Make sure you update the FW etc... they release updates ~ quarterly
There is a IR usb device for PS2 that works with the PS3.
Wont turn it on , but putting in a disc does FF, rewind, pause.

Or this
http://www.schmartstuff.com/

i also use the PS3 remote along with the Harmony
tales is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2008, 06:35 PM   #8
Don't Drink the Kool-Aid!
 
lawnchair13's Avatar
 

Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Northern California
Age: 51
Posts: 197
Default

I love my Harmony remote. I have it doing EVERYTHING...
__________________
Samsung LNT5265F
HR20-700C-R w/1TB External HD
Seagate FreeAgent XTreme™ 1TB
xbox-360/hd mod
~no blu-ray yet~
Logitech Harmony 890
Onkyo TX-SR875 - 7.1
Infinity Referance Standard Speakers FR/FL
lawnchair13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2008, 08:39 AM   #9
High Definition is the definition of life.
 
bglass0905's Avatar
 

Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 75
Default

yes I have it as well for both my upstairs a down stairs. It works on everything except the PS3, but works for the xbox and everything else just fine. It is a wonderful thing for my family. I love it. It even dimms my lights.

Here is my set- up
Theator
100" Fix screen
Mitsubish HC 1500 projector
Pioneer Elite VSX94 Receiver
HD-DVD by Toshiba
XBOX 360
Sony Blu-ray
HR-22 HD DVR
Athena WS 60's front r/l/c
Athena WS 15 for Surrounds channels 4,5,6,7
Sunfire D12 1000 watt subwoofer
Dimmer controls for my lights

Family Room
Samsung DLP 1080p 50"
Denon 2809ci receiver
Paradigm millenia 30 for all five channels no need for 7 in this room.
second zone 2 speakers outside (paridigm outdoor speakers)
HD-DVD
XBOX 360
Sony Playstation
Nintendo wii

I tell you, you wont be dissappointed. I have over 20,000 worth of equipment and with all the remotes. It was almost impossible for anyone but me to work it. I honestly got tired of "Hun can you turn on the tv for me?" "DAD!!!" I can;t get the movie to work." DARN IT!! The remote is a life saver..
bglass0905 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2008, 08:59 AM   #10
I Want More HD!
 
mluntz's Avatar
 

Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Md.
Posts: 486
Default

I have a 676 and love it! It even operates my ceiling fan!
__________________
DirecTv Customer since 1995
LG 55LH90 LED TV
Onkyo TX-SR606 Reciever
Mains- Athena AS-F2's
Surrounds- Athena AS-F1's
Center- Athena AS-C1.2
Sub- HSU STF-2
Directv/ HD-DVR HR20-700
Directv/ HD-DVR HR24-100 (2)
Slimline Dish
Panasonic DMP-BD30 Blu-Ray
Toshiba HD-A3 HD DVD
Monster Powercenter HTS-3600
mluntz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2008, 09:07 AM   #11
HDF SUPER-MODERATOR
 
ImRizzo's Avatar
 

Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Brooklyn & Eastern Long Island, NY ....It's not a place, it's an Attitude and a NY State of Mind !!
Posts: 20,918
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by badbeat View Post
Anyone have this with the HD DVR receiver? Snagged one off amazon other day and it'll be here tomorrow and was wondering if it can be programmed to use the guide, record, etc buttons for DVR and normal channel surfing...

At worst I'll go from 5 remotes to 2...but was just hoping to get down to 1.
Harmony does it all NO PROBLEM their great remotes.
__________________
Sent from my Fisher Price touch&talk phone~using ITouchmyself II


SonyXBR929-SonyXBR8-Denon 3311CI-Mirage V2 w/S10 Sub-Oppo93-DVP5000-SAHDDVR-Harmony1100 ~ Rizz' HD Toys*link
ImRizzo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2008, 10:11 AM   #12
High Definition is the definition of life.
 

Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 99
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tales View Post
There is a IR usb device for PS2 that works with the PS3.
Wont turn it on , but putting in a disc does FF, rewind, pause.

Or this
http://www.schmartstuff.com/

i also use the PS3 remote along with the Harmony
If you can find the PS2 remote and dongle... yup... BUT Sony is changing the PS3 regularly and with all the uproar you'd think they'd include a $.30 IR receiver inside?? No more 20Gig PS3 you gotta spend north of $400 for the smallest PS3 now... for that kinda $$ you expect you don't need to use the gaming controller to watch movies (until you find out there is a $20 dedicated remote)
__________________
Media Room
Sony VPL-VW40 Projector
Elite Screens 120"
Onkyo TX SR-606 7.1 Enabled
Infinity ERS HV-250 In-Wall - Front/Center
Infinity CS-60 In-Wall - Surround and Rear
Infinity Powered 10" Sub
FiOS HD Rcvr
Toshiba HD-A3 HD-DVD
PS3-60
XBOX360
Wii
All Wireless N enabled


Family Room
Sony 60" KDS-R60XBR1
FiOS Home Media DVR
Toshiba HD-A1 HD-DVD
Pioneer Elite 84TSXi 5.1 Enabled
Infinity Interlude Series Speakers - Front/Center
Def-Tech Surrounds

Movies
My Movies
DRK HRSE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2008, 04:33 PM   #13
Don't touch the remote!
 
The_Omega_Man's Avatar
 

Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Encino,CA
Posts: 3,489
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Twister View Post
I have the Harmony One and love it. It functions and feels like the DirecTV remote. If you Google "Harmony One Icons" you can find a few web sites that have HQ channel logo icons to use for your favorites.
AARRRGGG 3.5 hours of doing this myself and there are web sites with this info!????

BTW bought the Harmony One to replace a damaged 880 and the transition was seamless with the software interface. The wife loves the touchscreen on it.

Last edited by The_Omega_Man; 12-19-2008 at 06:02 PM.
The_Omega_Man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2008, 08:19 PM   #14
Friends in crawl spaces
 
Twister's Avatar
 

Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Alabama
Posts: 313
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by The_Omega_Man View Post
AARRRGGG 3.5 hours of doing this myself and there are web sites with this info!????

BTW bought the Harmony One to replace a damaged 880 and the transition was seamless with the software interface. The wife loves the touchscreen on it.
Is this what you're looking for?

http://www.iconharmony.com/icons/

http://www.satlogo.com/hi-res/a_1.html
Twister is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2009, 01:11 AM   #15
What is HD?
 

Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 1
Default

can it control the hr23-700 dvr? It opperates on rf only...
morgantj13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Go Back   High Def Forum - Your High Definition Community & High Definition Resource > High Definition Programming Providers > DirecTV Forum
AddThis Social Bookmark Button
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads to Logitech Harmony One remote
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Harmony One Nevada_MO_Guy Remote Controls 28 01-09-2009 05:55 PM
Logitech Unveiling the "Harmony One" eiger Remote Controls 14 07-09-2008 04:14 PM
Harmony One or BD? OlderNDirt The High Definition Lounge 14 06-02-2008 09:06 PM
Logitech Harmony 880 Remote degaus Remote Controls 17 08-09-2007 07:07 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:13 AM.



Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0
Copyright ©2004 - 2008, High Def Forum