High Def Forum - Your High Definition Community & High Definition Resource

Go Back   High Def Forum - Your High Definition Community & High Definition Resource > High Definition Programming Providers > DirecTV Forum
Rules HDTV Forum Gallery LINK TO US! RSS - High Def Forum AddThis Feed Button AddThis Social Bookmark Button Groups

DirecTV Forum Discuss and learn about DirecTV High Definition Satellite TV. RSS - DirecTV Forum

DirectTV and 120hz

Reply
AddThis Social Bookmark Button
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-26-2008, 07:27 AM   #1
A couch and an HDTV to go please.
 

Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 10
Default DirectTV and 120hz

I just bought a Samsung 1080p 120hz LCD (LN52A650) and have DRTV. I have it hooked up with an HDMI wire and it looks great. The place I bought it from said I need a 120hz HDMI wire to get the maximum picture. Will I be able to tell the difference? Worth buying it?

Would really appreciate any input.

Thanks!
Rutgers25 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2008, 08:01 AM   #2
Former Super Moderator
 
Loves2Watch's Avatar
 

Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: In Flux
Posts: 20,284
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rutgers25 View Post
I just bought a Samsung 1080p 120hz LCD (LN52A650) and have DRTV. I have it hooked up with an HDMI wire and it looks great. The place I bought it from said I need a 120hz HDMI wire to get the maximum picture. Will I be able to tell the difference? Worth buying it?

Would really appreciate any input.

Thanks!
There is no such thing. It's just a marketing scam to sell you expensive cables. 120hz is a refresh rate for the TV and nothing else.

Check www.monoprice.com for all of your high quality cables at very low prices.
__________________
It's always time for pie
Live everyday as if it was your last and plan on living forever...
Loves2Watch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2008, 08:06 AM   #3
A couch and an HDTV to go please.
 

Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 13
Default

No, you don't need HDMI cables that are 120 Hz your TV does the 120 Hz processing built-in. If i where you, i would ingnore BB and CC when i comes to HDMI cables (Sales associates at these stores are Dumb as hell). I have the Samsung 850 series with 120Hz feature but turn off 120Hz because picture looks like crap (soap opera effect).
vitamin1717 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2008, 09:30 AM   #4
A couch and an HDTV to go please.
 

Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 10
Default

My tv is saying is at 1080i at 60hz. And the package of the wire says "120hz". Are you sure it won't make a difference? I don't think my tv automatically does it. I feel like if I had the wire it would say 120 hz.

Appreciate everyones thoughts on this.
Rutgers25 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2008, 09:33 AM   #5
High Definition is the definition of life.
 

Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 465
Default

It won't make a difference.
ShaqDan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2008, 11:20 AM   #6
Friends in crawl spaces
 
Twister's Avatar
 

Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Alabama
Posts: 313
Default

But if it makes you feel better... feel free to buy a more expensive cable. You still won't see any difference.
Twister is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2008, 12:16 PM   #7
58 + 50 in. PDP 32in LCD
 
Rick-F's Avatar
 

Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 3,142
Default

What the TV is telling you is that it is receiving a "1280i at 60HZ" signal. Your display is 1080P @ 120 HZ. A different cable will NOT change you input signal.

Tell your cable company you want a 120Hz cable box . . .
Rick-F is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2008, 01:22 PM   #8
What ever
 
chirshey's Avatar
 

Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Sunning in SoCal
Posts: 908
Default

When you set up your TV, did you change the setting for hz? Some TVs have an adjustment to select either 60 or 120hz. Check it out in the TV setup.
__________________
Precision:
Measure it with a ruler,
Mark it with chalk,
Cut it with an axe.
chirshey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2008, 02:18 PM   #9
A couch and an HDTV to go please.
 

Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 10
Default

I had 2 HR-22 and they both kept reseting and freezing. They sent the box one below it, looks exactly the same, and it works. When I hit info on my tv is says "1920x1080i@60Hz". When I asked DRTV they said it supports 1080p and 120Hz. The box let me select 1080p as an option. When I go to the TV settings for the 120Hz it just lets me select off, high, medium or low or demo. I put it on high.

Anything? Thanks again for all the help.
Rutgers25 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2008, 05:57 PM   #10
Former Super Moderator
 
Loves2Watch's Avatar
 

Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: In Flux
Posts: 20,284
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rutgers25 View Post
My tv is saying is at 1080i at 60hz. And the package of the wire says "120hz". Are you sure it won't make a difference? I don't think my tv automatically does it. I feel like if I had the wire it would say 120 hz.

Appreciate everyones thoughts on this.
Again, 120hz is the refresh rate of the LCD panel. It has absolutely nothing to do with any other equipment. It is just a marketing scam to get you to pay more money for the cables.
__________________
It's always time for pie
Live everyday as if it was your last and plan on living forever...
Loves2Watch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2008, 08:04 PM   #11
High Definition is the definition of life.
 

Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Aurora,IL
Posts: 219
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Loves2Watch View Post
Again, 120hz is the refresh rate of the LCD panel. It has absolutely nothing to do with any other equipment. It is just a marketing scam to get you to pay more money for the cables.
When I watch D* my samsung displays 60hz, when I watch a bluray movie it displays 120hz. Maybe the tv is adjusting the display based on what the input signal is.
Rutgers, I have the same samsung, do you have a bluray player to check your tv out?
knothead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2008, 08:19 AM   #12
A couch and an HDTV to go please.
 

Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 10
Default

I don't have the blue ray yet. Birthday and Xmas are coming though, so should be able to check it soon.

Do you have the 120hz BS cord? Or just the regular HDMI?
Rutgers25 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Go Back   High Def Forum - Your High Definition Community & High Definition Resource > High Definition Programming Providers > DirecTV Forum
AddThis Social Bookmark Button
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads to DirectTV and 120hz
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What LCD should I buy? wsp_north Flat-Panel TVs 10 05-20-2009 07:43 PM
HELP! picking out new TV sandcracker21 Flat-Panel TVs 31 08-12-2008 08:42 PM
Sony Bravia levels - what is the difference? west1745 Flat-Panel TVs 29 04-04-2008 12:48 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:04 PM.



Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0
Copyright 2004 - 2008, High Def Forum