High Def Forum - Your High Definition Community & High Definition Resource

Go Back   High Def Forum - Your High Definition Community & High Definition Resource > High Definition Programming Providers > DirecTV Forum
Rules HDTV Forum Gallery LINK TO US! RSS - High Def Forum AddThis Feed Button AddThis Social Bookmark Button Groups

DirecTV Forum Discuss and learn about DirecTV High Definition Satellite TV. RSS - DirecTV Forum

SWM Multiswitch

Reply
AddThis Social Bookmark Button
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-20-2008, 09:43 AM   #1
My plasma is High Def.
 

Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 5
Default SWM Multiswitch

I was hoping you guys could explain how the SWM Multiswitch works? We are moving in to a new home next month and each room has only one Directv outlet. We currently have 3 HR20 HD-DVR's.

I understand we will have to have the Slimline dish installed with 4 leads running to the Utility Room, where the SWM would be located.

~Josh
Josh77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2008, 11:24 AM   #2
97% Complete
 
mcbeevee's Avatar
 

Join Date: May 2007
Location: Big Orange Country, TN
Posts: 1,925
Default

SWM8 Diagram

__________________
There are no TV's too big...only rooms too small!
mcbeevee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2008, 09:36 PM   #3
My plasma is High Def.
 

Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 5
Default

I read through the diagram and everything looks good, except for one thing.

What type of splitter would I use from the wall jack to the HR20 so that it sperates both Satellite signals and the OTA signal?

~Josh
Josh77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2008, 05:48 AM   #4
97% Complete
 
mcbeevee's Avatar
 

Join Date: May 2007
Location: Big Orange Country, TN
Posts: 1,925
Default

I think all you need is a good diplexer like this:

Channel Master 4001IFD VHF/UHF Satellite Diplexer/Separator

__________________
There are no TV's too big...only rooms too small!
mcbeevee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2008, 06:59 AM   #5
My plasma is High Def.
 

Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 5
Default

I guess I am still not quite understanding this. Currently my HR20 HD-DVR has 2 Satellite Inputs and 1 OTA input. With the Diplexer you posted the link for, it has one input and two outputs.

Since the HR20 has two Satellite Tuners and one OTA tuner, I think I need a Diplexer with one input and three outputs?

~Josh
Josh77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2008, 07:46 AM   #6
97% Complete
 
mcbeevee's Avatar
 

Join Date: May 2007
Location: Big Orange Country, TN
Posts: 1,925
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Josh77 View Post
I guess I am still not quite understanding this. Currently my HR20 HD-DVR has 2 Satellite Inputs and 1 OTA input. With the Diplexer you posted the link for, it has one input and two outputs.
Since the HR20 has two Satellite Tuners and one OTA tuner, I think I need a Diplexer with one input and three outputs?
~Josh
If you look closely at the 2 satellite inputs on your HR20, one of them will read "SWM". This means if you have the SWM system, you only need 1 coax cable plugged into the "SWM sat in". The other "sat in" is not needed. So, after the diplexer, the OTA cable would go to the OTA input, and the 1 SAT cable would go to the SWM sat in. This is the main feature of the SWM system, since you get dual sat tuners with only 1 cable, and don't need a second cable run.

__________________
There are no TV's too big...only rooms too small!
mcbeevee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2008, 04:24 PM   #7
My plasma is High Def.
 

Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 5
Default

OK, That Makes More Sense. Thanks!

~Josh



Quote:
Originally Posted by mcbeevee View Post
If you look closely at the 2 satellite inputs on your HR20, one of them will read "SWM". This means if you have the SWM system, you only need 1 coax cable plugged into the "SWM sat in". The other "sat in" is not needed. So, after the diplexer, the OTA cable would go to the OTA input, and the 1 SAT cable would go to the SWM sat in. This is the main feature of the SWM system, since you get dual sat tuners with only 1 cable, and don't need a second cable run.

Josh77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2008, 09:52 PM   #8
High Definition is the definition of life.
 

Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 1,452
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Josh77 View Post
I was hoping you guys could explain how the SWM Multiswitch works? We are moving in to a new home next month and each room has only one Directv outlet. We currently have 3 HR20 HD-DVR's.

I understand we will have to have the Slimline dish installed with 4 leads running to the Utility Room, where the SWM would be located.

~Josh
But unless you get the SWM8 yourself, you probably will have to use a conventional multiswitch since in general the SWMs are not available to DirecTV installers.
texasbrit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2008, 11:24 PM   #9
High Definition is the definition of life.
 

Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 31
Default

have you ever seen a SWM in action where all you have to do is put the SWM cable into the one jack of the HR-20DVR box ?? I was under the impression that I had to buy a special splitter after the wire comes out of the wall??
slowtan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2008, 07:17 AM   #10
My plasma is High Def.
 

Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 6
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by slowtan View Post
have you ever seen a SWM in action where all you have to do is put the SWM cable into the one jack of the HR-20DVR box ?? I was under the impression that I had to buy a special splitter after the wire comes out of the wall??
it only needs to go to the sat1 input on the hr20/21 and you will receive both tuners
dave29 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2008, 09:47 AM   #11
High Definition is the definition of life.
 

Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 1,452
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by slowtan View Post
have you ever seen a SWM in action where all you have to do is put the SWM cable into the one jack of the HR-20DVR box ?? I was under the impression that I had to buy a special splitter after the wire comes out of the wall??
The only reason you might need a "splitter" (actually a diplexer) is if you have connected an OTA antenna into the SWM and are splitting the OTA signal off so you can connect it into the "off-air" input on the DVR. The DVR has an internal "splitter" for satellite signals so only one connection from the SWM is required.
The DVR does however count as two tuners when you are looking at the capacity of the SWM. The SWM8 can support up to 8 tuners - receiver is one tuner, DVR is two (only the H20/21, HR20/21, D12 and R16 are SWM-compatible).
texasbrit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2008, 03:03 PM   #12
High Definition is the definition of life.
 

Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 53
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mcbeevee View Post
I think all you need is a good diplexer like this:

Channel Master 4001IFD VHF/UHF Satellite Diplexer/Separator

mcbeevee

Thanks for the good info and links. One question though. On the diagrams the part numbers for Sonora have splitters at the wall ends and the 8 way feed labled HRS8. Is this a typo on thier part or should it be a diplexer? Also I cannot find the 29V 1.5A power unit on Sonora. Is this just an inline power booster? Or am I missing something as a newbee I probably am. Has anyone successfuly implemted this layout?

Thanks
__________________
(2) HR20-700
(1) HR20-100
(3) HR21-700
(2) H15-500
cyberl1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2008, 06:45 PM   #13
How can anyone watch standard def?
 

Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 18
Default 11 tuners?

On some of websites that have the swm8, they say that it has 3 legacy ports to support other receivers, giving it the capability for up to 11 tuners. Does anybody have any more info on this. Currently I have 9 and want to get another dvr, so the 11 would be perfect. 5 are not receivers that I would need swm.
lv444 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2008, 07:51 AM   #14
High Definition is the definition of life.
 

Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 1,452
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cyberl1 View Post
mcbeevee

Thanks for the good info and links. One question though. On the diagrams the part numbers for Sonora have splitters at the wall ends and the 8 way feed labled HRS8. Is this a typo on thier part or should it be a diplexer? Also I cannot find the 29V 1.5A power unit on Sonora. Is this just an inline power booster? Or am I missing something as a newbee I probably am. Has anyone successfuly implemted this layout?

Thanks
The HRS8 is just an eight way splitter. The power unit (power inserter) is specifically for the SWM8, you need to buy one when you buy your SWM8.
I am not sure what you mean by "this layout". Do you mean using an SWM8 with OTA? My SWM8 drives eight tuners with OTA on the SWM feed, plus two tuners on the "legacy" ports.
texasbrit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2008, 07:56 AM   #15
High Definition is the definition of life.
 

Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 1,452
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lv444 View Post
On some of websites that have the swm8, they say that it has 3 legacy ports to support other receivers, giving it the capability for up to 11 tuners. Does anybody have any more info on this. Currently I have 9 and want to get another dvr, so the 11 would be perfect. 5 are not receivers that I would need swm.
there are three legacy ports, which will connect to tuners that do not need access to any of the new satellites (DirecTV10 and 11). So you can use them for HR10s, older DirecTV receivers, SD receivers and TiVos.
texasbrit is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Go Back   High Def Forum - Your High Definition Community & High Definition Resource > High Definition Programming Providers > DirecTV Forum
AddThis Social Bookmark Button
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads to SWM Multiswitch
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What is SWM & How To Install It (by request) justinbwill DirecTV Forum 84 11-20-2013 05:37 AM
SWM DIY Install Help Pook DirecTV Forum 20 06-08-2009 03:00 PM
Swm-8 waffle418 DirecTV Forum 38 04-01-2009 09:05 PM
How to SWM? wetdawg DirecTV Forum 8 02-18-2009 02:36 PM
Multiswitch question style0 DirecTV Forum 12 06-12-2008 02:03 PM
Swm slowtan DirecTV Forum 7 05-08-2008 08:31 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:01 PM.



Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0
Copyright 2004 - 2008, High Def Forum