High Def Forum - Your High Definition Community & High Definition Resource

Go Back   High Def Forum - Your High Definition Community & High Definition Resource > High Definition Programming Providers > DirecTV Forum
Rules HDTV Forum Gallery LINK TO US! RSS - High Def Forum AddThis Feed Button AddThis Social Bookmark Button Groups

DirecTV Forum Discuss and learn about DirecTV High Definition Satellite TV. RSS - DirecTV Forum

HDMI connection to direct TV reciever does not work

Reply
AddThis Social Bookmark Button
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-21-2007, 02:35 PM   #1
My plasma is High Def.
 

Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 7
Default HDMI connection to direct TV reciever does not work

I recent got a sony LCD TV and a direct TV connection. MY HD reciever and sony TV works with component cable. But it does not work with a direct HDMI cable. I know for sure that it is not a HDMI port or cable issue..

But direct HDMI connection does not work.. Have anybody faced a similar problem.. Please help..
hdmiuser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2007, 02:47 PM   #2
My plasma is High Def.
 

Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 7
Default

Yes, I did. Here's what I did, with the receiver plugged into the TV with the HDMI, hit the res button on the front of the Directv box. That made mine work. Let me know if that works.
lzicc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2007, 02:55 PM   #3
What ever
 
chirshey's Avatar
 

Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Sunning in SoCal
Posts: 908
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hdmiuser View Post
I recent got a sony LCD TV and a direct TV connection. MY HD reciever and sony TV works with component cable. But it does not work with a direct HDMI cable. I know for sure that it is not a HDMI port or cable issue..

But direct HDMI connection does not work.. Have anybody faced a similar problem.. Please help..
What kind of problems are the component cables causing, necessating the HDMI cable selection.
__________________
Precision:
Measure it with a ruler,
Mark it with chalk,
Cut it with an axe.
chirshey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2007, 06:13 PM   #4
My plasma is High Def.
 

Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 7
Default

Component cable is not creating any problem. But I don't want to connect in four ports. And a question to lzicc, RES is reset or resolution. I tried resetting so many times, but didn't help.
hdmiuser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2007, 08:01 PM   #5
My plasma is High Def.
 

Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 7
Default

It is the RES button (resolution) on the front of the receiver.

Quote:
Originally Posted by hdmiuser View Post
Component cable is not creating any problem. But I don't want to connect in four ports. And a question to lzicc, RES is reset or resolution. I tried resetting so many times, but didn't help.

Last edited by lzicc; 11-21-2007 at 08:21 PM.
lzicc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2007, 08:16 PM   #6
My plasma is High Def.
 

Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 7
Default

Izicc,

Hmm. I tried to press the RES button which basically resets the receiver, but after that when the receiver restarts from reset, I still get a blank screen. Not sure what is going on.

I have also tried in 3 different HDMI ports on my sony and it is the same issue. (Black screen in all of those).

I have got a H20 Direct TV HD receiver. By any chance,is there an HDMI setting on the receiver that I need to enable. I have a ps3 and I had to enable HDMI on the ps3 to make HDMI work , so I am assuming there could be a setting on the receiver. Unfortunately, I cannot find it. Please let me know if you are aware of it.

So coming back to your suggestion, I just have to connect an HDMI cable from receiver to the TV. Turn off both devices. Turn both ON. Then choose HDMI (port #) on the tv and I should be good to go . isnt it?

This just beats me.
hdmiuser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2007, 08:38 PM   #7
My plasma is High Def.
 

Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 7
Default

You don't want to hit the red reset button, just the RES button on the front of the receiver. Did you try that? Do you see the RES button on the front of the receiver?

I went crazy trying to figure this out. I called DTV tech support and they had me put the tv on HDMI and have the receiver on and they told me to keep hitting the RES (resolution) button on the front of the receiver. First time I hit it, I got a picture. I didn't have to turn anything on in the receiver for the HDMI to work.

The RES button is the very right button on mine. I have the HR20-100s receiver.
lzicc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2007, 09:47 PM   #8
My plasma is High Def.
 

Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 7
Default

Izicc,

Thanks for being with on this. Yes,I tried the resolution button. Mine is a H20 receiver. Direct TV has got only 2 HD receivers , one is H20 and another is a HD-DVR combo receiver.
Anyways, when I connect the receiver and tv with a composite cable and then press the resolution, It changes between 480i, 480p, 720p and 1080i, whereas, if I connect the tv and receiver with the HDMI cable and press Resolution, it doesnot switch between these format options nor there is any change on the screen..
hdmiuser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2007, 01:02 PM   #9
My plasma is High Def.
 

Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 7
Default

Izicc,

Finally it worked. Direct TV came back and replaced the receiver. It was afterall a simple issue, the receiver.. Cant believe the receiver during installation was bad.

Thanks for all your help/suggestions.
hdmiuser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2007, 04:11 PM   #10
High Definition is the definition of life.
 

Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 1,179
Default

A lot of these receivers are made in China. They usually work right out of the box or not.
Jim Bob Jones is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Go Back   High Def Forum - Your High Definition Community & High Definition Resource > High Definition Programming Providers > DirecTV Forum
AddThis Social Bookmark Button
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads to HDMI connection to direct TV reciever does not work
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mitsubishi VS-70803 twobluecats Rear-Projection TVs 11 10-08-2013 08:55 PM
HDMI question regarding Onkyo TX-SR706 Hooksta Speakers & Surround Sound 18 11-04-2009 09:04 AM
Mits WD-62825 initial impressions. rudyusmc1980 Rear-Projection TVs 32 06-29-2005 01:44 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:25 AM.



Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0
Copyright 2004 - 2008, High Def Forum