High Def Forum - Your High Definition Community & High Definition Resource

Go Back   High Def Forum - Your High Definition Community & High Definition Resource > High Definition Programming Providers > DirecTV Forum
Rules HDTV Forum Gallery LINK TO US! RSS - High Def Forum AddThis Feed Button AddThis Social Bookmark Button Groups

DirecTV Forum Discuss and learn about DirecTV High Definition Satellite TV. RSS - DirecTV Forum

Satellite Signal Strength Issues

Reply
AddThis Social Bookmark Button
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-03-2007, 05:19 PM   #1
What is HD?
 

Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4
Default Satellite Signal Strength Issues

I noticed that the signal strength for the various satellite's are in the 90's, even a few 100's, except for the 103(b) satellite which has signal strengths only between 69 and 84 (mostly 70's with one or two 80's and one 69.) Is this going to cause any problems with my picture? Do I need to have my dish adjusted?

The signal strength on the SATS using Tuner 1 are as follows (* = N/A):

99(b)
65 65 51 63 38 0 * *
* * * * * * * *
* * * * * * * *
* * * * * * * *

103(a)
56 59 0 79 67 60 * *
* * * * * * * *
0 * * * * * * *
* * * * * * * *

103(b)
74 82 70 79 70 79 69 80
72 80 72 80 72 79 * *
* * * * * 80 * *
* * * * * * * *

As I mentioned -- Satellite's 101, 110 and 119 have scores from 91 to 100, except transponder 28 on Sat 101 is zero, and transponder 31 on Sat 119 is zero. My pictures seem to be coming in OK, including all of the new HD channels, but the weather has been clear the past few days. When I test the Sats on Tuner 2 the results are about the same, except on Sat 103 (a), on Tuner 2 is as follows:

103(a)
0 0 0 79 67 60 * *
* * * * * * * *
0 * * * * * * *
* * * * * * * *

Is this going to be a problem?

I spoke with tech support at D*TV and I was told, erroneously I think, that the zero's in Sats 101 and 119 are normal, and that I should not worry about the lower #'s in Sats 99 and 103, b/c nothing is being broadcast on them yet (which I don't think is the case).

Thanks again for your help.
Stuart Kohn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2007, 05:22 PM   #2
#42: Republican & Dodger
 
DodgerKing's Avatar
 

Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: SoCal
Age: 42
Posts: 1,803
Default

99 and 103a are for your locals. 103b is where the new HD channels are broadcast from. The CSR you spoke to was wrong.
DodgerKing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2007, 08:52 PM   #3
What is HD?
 

Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4
Default

I spoke with a CSR again in the protection plan unit who said that the low signal strength is normal on the 99 and 103 Satellites, b/c they are still being worked on (whatever that means). Is that the case? It doesn't sound right to me. Thanks.
Stuart Kohn is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Go Back   High Def Forum - Your High Definition Community & High Definition Resource > High Definition Programming Providers > DirecTV Forum
AddThis Social Bookmark Button
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads to Satellite Signal Strength Issues
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Searching for signal on satellite in 2 ...(771) Lawsman DirecTV Forum 31 03-01-2013 11:58 AM
Comcast hi-def stuttering/framerate issues malcolmB Cable Providers 48 03-08-2007 12:09 PM
Directv Issues! techiejp DirecTV Forum 9 10-03-2006 09:00 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:23 PM.



Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0
Copyright 2004 - 2008, High Def Forum