High Def Forum - Your High Definition Community & High Definition Resource

Go Back   High Def Forum - Your High Definition Community & High Definition Resource > High Definition Programming Providers > DirecTV Forum
Rules HDTV Forum Gallery LINK TO US! RSS - High Def Forum AddThis Feed Button AddThis Social Bookmark Button Groups

DirecTV Forum Discuss and learn about DirecTV High Definition Satellite TV. RSS - DirecTV Forum

What is the B Band Converter (BBC) for

Reply
AddThis Social Bookmark Button
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-26-2006, 06:32 PM   #1
High Definition is the definition of life.
 

Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 81
Default What is the B Band Converter (BBC) for

I got a B Band Converter (BBC) Module (for Ka-Lo band up-conversion) with my HD Directtv receiver, what is this for?
STerasedU is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2006, 07:25 PM   #2
HT Frontiersman
 
borromini's Avatar
 

Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Northern California
Posts: 10,309
Default

Allows you to receive both MPEG2 and MPEG4 signals. Can't recall which one of the two the converter actually converts.
__________________
"I'd rather have a bottle in front of me than a frontal lobotomy"
borromini is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2006, 07:27 PM   #3
High Definition is the definition of life.
 

Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 81
Default

I don't use mine should I
STerasedU is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2006, 08:04 PM   #4
High Definition is the definition of life.
 

Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 536
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by borromini
Allows you to receive both MPEG2 and MPEG4 signals. Can't recall which one of the two the converter actually converts.
Has ABSOLUTELY NOTHING to do with mpeg conversion.

It is a Ka-band RF converter. I've explained this before, and will again, here we go:

The original Ku/DBS band, around 12Ghz, is 500Mhz wide. Within that 500Mhz is the 16 channels, actually 32 but 16 in each polarization (LHC -Left Hand Circular, and RHC-Right Hand Circular). For those who know that the DirecTV reciever puts out two voltages (12V-18V), that's what controls the LNB (low noise block converter) polarization settings. So, one gets actually 1000Mhz, half each at either polarization. The LNB's downconvert the signal to the 2GHz range, which goes down the coax to the sat reciever.

Ka band is way different. First, it's HUGE bandwidth wise. The entire band is closer to 10GHZ (approx. 20-30Ghz). The Spaceways sats are at the lower end of the band, and the Ka-LNB downconverts the RF to the same 2Ghz as the Ku LNB's do. Therefore, one can leave off the BBC (Base Band Converter, which is it's name), for NOW.

However, DirecTV10/11 will use a different part of the Ka spectrum, higher than the Spaceways. Now, there won't be any 'newer' Ka band LNB's, and you need to understand how RF mixing works. The mixing frequency in the LNB doesn't change (one may have multiple recievers hooked to it), and since it doesn't, higher frequencies recieved result in a LOWER output spectrum. If the recieved frequency (from the sat) were lower, it would result in a higher frequency output.

But, it's higher off the satellite, therefore lower after the mixer. Now, the block of frequencies coming off the Ka LNB are some 250Mhz-1Ghz in range, and therefore, in order for your reciever to recieve and decode the signal, it needs to be up-converted. That's what the BBC module does. If you look closely, you'll see it's full name is "Ka lo-band Up-converter". The H20/HR20 recievers will send a signal to the BBC's to 'kick in', and do their work, if one selects a channel within that particular satellite/spectrum.

Again, nothing whatsoever to do with Mpeg. Folks need to get that out of their brains, as one can easily transmit Mpeg4 at any frequency, just like Mpeg2 at any frequency. Mpeg is the Video/Audio CODING system, has nothing to do with the RF.
Beck38 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2006, 09:11 PM   #5
HT Frontiersman
 
borromini's Avatar
 

Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Northern California
Posts: 10,309
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Beck38
...I've explained this before, and will again, here we go:...
I hope you pasted this from your previous posts ...thanks for the clarification.
__________________
"I'd rather have a bottle in front of me than a frontal lobotomy"
borromini is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2006, 10:17 PM   #6
High Definition is the definition of life.
 

Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 536
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by borromini
I hope you pasted this from your previous posts ...thanks for the clarification.
Naah... I learned this stuff when I was in grade school; I just flush it out upon occasion!

What's interesting, is that Echostar/Dish is using Mpeg4 on their Ku sats for HD. DirecTV may eventually start converting all these Ku feeds (CNN et. al), to Mpeg4 sometime in the future, as the program providers start moving en masse to HD; it's been a topic of some conversation on more engineering oriented boards.

Of course, they'll have to swap out all the old Mpeg2 recievers. Yikes, will cost an arm and a leg. Also, they may be forced to go to an even higher frequency in the Ka band (higher than DirecTV10/11), which mayl nessesitate a re-engineering/swap-out of the BBC modules. There is already some movement to get the FCC to allow more chunks of the Ka band allocated to satellite.

As I wrote here on a different topic, I engineered lots of 24Ghz terrestrial microwave years ago, but it's all but disappered due to fiber optics advanced/lower costs/greater bandwidth.
Beck38 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2007, 10:35 PM   #7
What is HD?
 

Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 1
Default

well, all i know, when i set up the hr-20 with the older 3 lnb dish, it would not recieve anything without them. simple i know, but put them in line, test the signal. if it dosn't get you anywhere, remove them. bet your good to go.
withjohn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2007, 06:35 PM   #8
Long time HD user.
 

Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 1
Default B Band Converter (BBC) and HR10-250

Will the BBC work on my HR10-250 DVR? All the literature and web sites refer to using the BBC with a model HR20. I'm wondering if there is functionality in the HR20s that my HR10-250 doesn't have which might inhibit the BBC from enabling at the right time.
vipermaker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2007, 06:53 AM   #9
97% Complete
 
mcbeevee's Avatar
 

Join Date: May 2007
Location: Big Orange Country, TN
Posts: 1,925
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vipermaker View Post
Will the BBC work on my HR10-250 DVR? All the literature and web sites refer to using the BBC with a model HR20. I'm wondering if there is functionality in the HR20s that my HR10-250 doesn't have which might inhibit the BBC from enabling at the right time.
The BBC's are only used on the MPEG4 receivers (HR20/H20). They will not do anything on the HR10-250, since it is MPEG2 only.
__________________
There are no TV's too big...only rooms too small!
mcbeevee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2007, 08:10 AM   #10
High Definition is the definition of life.
 

Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 1,419
Default

We will all need them to get the new channels. You can test them on Ch. 499. One of mine was no good so I ordered another online. They are free.
joed32 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2007, 09:03 AM   #11
HD BABY HD !!!
 
reds1963's Avatar
 

Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: columbus , ohio
Posts: 240
Default

mine were installed last fall with the mep4 system , not sure if they will
need to be updated or anything.
they did have to change the dish out about a month ago
as the old lnb was gathering moisture ,,dam thing ..
but now i have the slim line , bluegrass has always done a nice
job for me in columbus ....
__________________
HDTV of course
reds1963 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2007, 11:39 AM   #12
97% Complete
 
mcbeevee's Avatar
 

Join Date: May 2007
Location: Big Orange Country, TN
Posts: 1,925
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by damvarmit View Post
mine were installed last fall with the mep4 system , not sure if they will
need to be updated or anything.
You can tune to channel 499 to test the BBC's on the H20 and HR20. If you get a "searching for Sat signal", the BBC is ok.
__________________
There are no TV's too big...only rooms too small!
mcbeevee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2007, 12:00 PM   #13
HD BABY HD !!!
 
reds1963's Avatar
 

Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: columbus , ohio
Posts: 240
Default

kewl i will try that tonight
thanks
__________________
HDTV of course
reds1963 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2007, 05:56 AM   #14
High Definition is the definition of life.
 

Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 110
Default

when I go to test channel 499 I get a blank screen, when entering info . I get that I should see a searching for sat. which I do not see. Therefore is this channel up and running properly and I do infact have a defective BB converter and need to order a replacment.
Topeka1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2007, 06:43 AM   #15
97% Complete
 
mcbeevee's Avatar
 

Join Date: May 2007
Location: Big Orange Country, TN
Posts: 1,925
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Topeka1 View Post
when I go to test channel 499 I get a blank screen, when entering info . I get that I should see a searching for sat. which I do not see. Therefore is this channel up and running properly and I do infact have a defective BB converter and need to order a replacment.
D* setup this channel to make sure the bbc's were ok before the new HD channels start in Sep. Sounds like your bbc might be bad. You can order replacements online at:

http://www.directv.com/DTVAPP/global...setId=P4200018
__________________
There are no TV's too big...only rooms too small!
mcbeevee is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Go Back   High Def Forum - Your High Definition Community & High Definition Resource > High Definition Programming Providers > DirecTV Forum
AddThis Social Bookmark Button
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads to What is the B Band Converter (BBC) for
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sept. 19 HD Channel Launch Date Q&A dman59 DirecTV Forum 48 07-08-2013 10:26 AM
Searching for signal on satellite in 2 ...(771) Lawsman DirecTV Forum 31 03-01-2013 11:58 AM
Directv "known issues" per CSR tat2dluvchylde DirecTV Forum 17 01-29-2008 02:15 PM
5lnb dish installed, the story Don Leiffer DirecTV Forum 7 08-02-2006 06:49 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:15 PM.



Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0
Copyright ©2004 - 2008, High Def Forum