High Def Forum - Your High Definition Community & High Definition Resource

Go Back   High Def Forum - Your High Definition Community & High Definition Resource > High Definition Programming Providers > DirecTV Forum
Rules HDTV Forum Gallery LINK TO US! RSS - High Def Forum AddThis Feed Button AddThis Social Bookmark Button Groups

DirecTV Forum Discuss and learn about DirecTV High Definition Satellite TV. RSS - DirecTV Forum

Picture too large for TV Screen

Reply
AddThis Social Bookmark Button
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-19-2010, 11:36 AM   #1
What is HD?
 
troberge@yahoo's Avatar
 

Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 2
Exclamation Picture too large for TV Screen

I have a Vizio with Direct TV.
- when we watch fox sports (Sunday football games) the screen is to large for the TV screen - we noticed this is viewed in HD
- we tried all picture format modes in the Direct TV menu, but the picture is still too large... no matter which format mode I choose
- this is an issue when watching sports in particular, since the scores are cutoff at the sides
- I am not 100% sure if this is a HD issue, but I notice sports on other channels are fine, but not sure if HD is used on these channels or not
- I have direct TV in Denver area, and may be just local thing not sure

o Is there anything I can do to get the HD picture to fit on my TV?
o Is this something I need to call Direct TV on?
o Is this just FOX Sports issue for everyone in Denver area?

Last edited by troberge@yahoo; 12-19-2010 at 11:41 AM.
troberge@yahoo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2010, 12:13 PM   #2
You know who you are...
 
elwaylite's Avatar
 

Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Lower Alabama
Posts: 1,368
Default

So you are using Native and original format? Do you have 16:9 selected as opposed to 4:3?

It's only on that one channel? If so, Id post in your local area thread on AVS and ask people in your area what they see.

Also, is your tv on the correct aspect ration?
__________________
Video: VT50 / S5100
Audio: 3313ci / RF-82 II (2) / RC-62 II / VTF-15H
HDTV: Dish / Hopper & Joey
elwaylite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2010, 01:21 PM   #3
High Definition is the definition of life.
 

Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 154
Default

Make sure you have not 'zoomed' your actual TV! I use it when there is a widescreen SD show broadcast on an HD channed, both top and sides have black bars.

Very much sounds like you zoomed or a setting in your TV as well.

All/most TV's stupidly have been set at the factory for 'overscan' (small portions of the real signal frame is not shown), and this COULD be the problem but more likely zooming or DTV setup error.

Good Luck!
__________________
"Oligarchy... a government in which a small group exercises control, esp. for corrupt and selfish purposes."

"Plutocracy/plutonomy is rule by the wealthy, or power provided by wealth."

The combination of both Plutocracy and Oligarchy is called Plutarchy (or better known as the USA).

Brought to you by your Loving friends at Goldman-Sachs, Citi-Corp, Bank of America, et al. & their trustworthy Puppet - Timmy Geithner
RVRambler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2010, 02:12 PM   #4
What is HD?
 
troberge@yahoo's Avatar
 

Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 2
Default

Thanks elwaylite & RVRambler ...It seems like its just this channel. I have tried all aspect ratios and the picture is same - scores cutoff on both sides of screen. Zoom makes it even worse.

BTW I made a post to the "local area thread on AVS " ... to see if others have this problem - I am starting to think its the channel itself.
troberge@yahoo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2010, 08:53 PM   #5
722k,722, 612, 512 HR34
 

Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: SD
Posts: 1,153
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by troberge@yahoo View Post
Thanks elwaylite & RVRambler ...It seems like its just this channel. I have tried all aspect ratios and the picture is same - scores cutoff on both sides of screen. Zoom makes it even worse.

BTW I made a post to the "local area thread on AVS " ... to see if others have this problem - I am starting to think its the channel itself.
it might not be zoom, maybe a wide feature,

its definelty your tv setting, or you have the dtv box on wrong aspect ratio(even though you may think you have it right) and that can change per channel type ie: HD, sd, letterbox
Jodean is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2010, 06:01 AM   #6
High Definition is the definition of life.
 
hotrod351's Avatar
 

Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 534
Default

ive noticed the same problem on some programs, the wording will have the first letter or two cut off. its has to be the program.
hotrod351 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2010, 02:55 PM   #7
High Definition is the definition of life.
 

Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 73
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hotrod351 View Post
ive noticed the same problem on some programs, the wording will have the first letter or two cut off. its has to be the program.
I've seen that too, mainly on the Science Channel, where they actually broadcast 4:3 content zoomed in, forcing cropping of the top and bottom and text overlays can end up at the edge of the screen or sometimes cut off. I wouldn't expect something like this to be happening with live sports though.
MaxxPower is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2010, 03:40 PM   #8
No longer waiting for HD
 

Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Aurora, CO
Posts: 84
Default

I am in the Denver area and also have a Vizio. I do not have this problem with the Fox channel.
GerryC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2010, 04:44 PM   #9
What is HD?
 

Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 2
Default same problem

I have a Sharp Aquos have the same problem on MNF can not see the scores at the bttom no matter what I change it is not visable....
see if your TV has a "position" adjustment. you can move the pic. r/l ,up/down...it was no help for me
wma888 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2010, 05:15 PM   #10
HD Hmmmmm
 
Thomas Foolery's Avatar
 

Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: China Grove, NC
Age: 43
Posts: 193
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wma888 View Post
I have a Sharp Aquos have the same problem on MNF can not see the scores at the bttom no matter what I change it is not visable....
see if your TV has a "position" adjustment. you can move the pic. r/l ,up/down...it was no help for me
That sounds like overscan, which on some tv's can not be turned off.
__________________
Hiteker TL50z10ah-tp
Pioneer VSX-521
Toshiba HD-A1
Panasonic DMP-BDT220
Xbox 360 Elite
Xbox 360 Slim 250 GB with Kinect
Gamertag Gim Allon
Xbox HD DVD Add on
Sony PS3 60 GB upgraded to 500 GB HD
PS3 Slim 160 GB upgraded to 500 GB HD
PSN ID cezellman
Nintendo Wii
Toshiba 40rv525r
Toshiba HD-A2
Panasonic DMP-BDT110
115+ hd dvd movies
200+ Blu-ray movies
All right, I admit it. I lost count months ago. lol
Thomas Foolery is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Go Back   High Def Forum - Your High Definition Community & High Definition Resource > High Definition Programming Providers > DirecTV Forum
AddThis Social Bookmark Button
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads to Picture too large for TV Screen
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
A Discussion On Poor SD On HDTVs rbinck The High Definition Lounge 157 04-26-2011 10:34 AM
Mistubishi 50803 HDTV Upgrade: It works! Sport73 Rear-Projection TVs 184 04-19-2011 04:41 AM
durability of Sharp LCDs JoeProcopio Flat-Panel TVs 16 11-05-2008 12:35 PM
What's with the love for HD-DVD? Why? electrictroy High Definition Media 562 05-08-2007 09:35 PM
Going from old fashion TV to Upscale, which to pick cedwardsfan Direct-View (tube) TVs 6 03-13-2007 11:57 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:50 AM.



Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0
Copyright ©2004 - 2008, High Def Forum