High Def Forum - Your High Definition Community & High Definition Resource

Go Back   High Def Forum - Your High Definition Community & High Definition Resource > High Definition Programming Providers > DirecTV Forum
Rules HDTV Forum Gallery LINK TO US! RSS - High Def Forum AddThis Feed Button AddThis Social Bookmark Button Groups

DirecTV Forum Discuss and learn about DirecTV High Definition Satellite TV. RSS - DirecTV Forum

no autotune

Reply
AddThis Social Bookmark Button
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-07-2010, 06:55 AM   #1
High Definition is the definition of life.
 
hotrod351's Avatar
 

Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 538
Default no autotune

just got my new direct tv yesterday, hd dvr. no manual but did figure some of it out. seems theres no autotune. so if i want to have the unit switch to a certain channel at a certain time then i guess i have to set it to record, then i hope it switches to that channel. also have to say that my old dish vip722 was much easier to use and seems to have a lot more features, strange seeing as the direct hd dvr i received is the newest one direct has.
hotrod351 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2010, 07:17 AM   #2
High Definition is the definition of life.
 

Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 1,422
Default

None of the DVRs have Autotune, they just record and don't switch channels unless they have too. The non DVRs have the autotune feature but with the DVRs they figure you don't need because you can watch the recording anytime you want to. You will see the recording light come on, just hit list and select the recording and watch it.
joed32 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2010, 08:01 AM   #3
High Definition is the definition of life.
 
hotrod351's Avatar
 

Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 538
Default

wrong. dish vip 722 give that option. you can record two programs at once, which then it will automatically tune you to one of the channels, or you can record one and have it autotune to another. so when you say none, you mean direct tvs hd dvrs dont do it. its a really nice feature. after all you might want to record one program while you automatically are tuned to another.
hotrod351 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2010, 08:14 AM   #4
High Definition is the definition of life.
 

Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 558
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hotrod351 View Post
wrong. dish vip 722 give that option. you can record two programs at once, which then it will automatically tune you to one of the channels, or you can record one and have it autotune to another. so when you say none, you mean direct tvs hd dvrs dont do it. its a really nice feature. after all you might want to record one program while you automatically are tuned to another.
Why do you keep going on and on about DISH? According to you, the DISH remote is so much better...the DISH DVR is so much better. I had DISH for ten years and I find that DirecTV is far better overall.

If you like DISH so much, go back.....although you'll find that your superior remote and DVR have fewer and fewer channels to access because DISH keeps losing carriage licenses.

Last edited by TDK1044; 10-07-2010 at 08:19 AM.
TDK1044 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2010, 08:34 AM   #5
High Definition is the definition of life.
 
hotrod351's Avatar
 

Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 538
Default

just stating the facts. i thought the direct hd dvr would be more advanced than the old vip 722. on a up note = direct hd programs look sharper than the hd channels on dish. has for loosing channels, well with direct it seems ive lost 3 or 4 hd channels, diy, amc, and a few more. i really dont care that much about thoses channels but did care about FOX, thats why i switched, SOA and TEERIERS. but i automatically figured the new direct hd dvr would for sure have the same features, and more, than the old dish hd dvr. hey dont get mad because im pointing out what ive noticed are differences.
hotrod351 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2010, 08:42 AM   #6
High Definition is the definition of life.
 

Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 558
Default

That's fine, hotrod, but you had already created a thread called 'Got Direct Today'. Why not just post in there your initial impressions of DirecTV and the differences between DirecTV and DISH?

Many people are aware of the differences anyway, because any newbie who comes here from DISH creates pretty much the same thread. But this constant "DISH has this".. "DISH has that" attitude just makes you sound like a young kid at show and tell.
TDK1044 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2010, 08:58 AM   #7
High Definition is the definition of life.
 

Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 148
Default

I don't really understand the purpose of this "autotune".

If I'm watching TV and need the receiver to change the channel to another channel, I pick up the remote and change it.
Munkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2010, 09:59 AM   #8
High Definition is the definition of life.
 
hotrod351's Avatar
 

Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 538
Default

really. hmmm, i figured this was the direct forum. what better place to ask, or bring up, these differences, which are multiple. didnt mean to get any one upset. ill live with it. im sure i can remember what programs i watch on a regular basis. i can just scroll every day and night to see if there on. after all what else do i have to do. well im off to buy a logitech remote control so i can operate my direct hd dvr, yamaha receiver, and samsung hd tv all from one. i always wanted one of thoses fancy remotes any way.
hotrod351 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2010, 10:53 AM   #9
Football in HD, mmm good!
 
deadhead68's Avatar
 

Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Crystal Lake, IL
Posts: 2,923
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Munkey View Post
I don't really understand the purpose of this "autotune".
Autotune is a feature in Directv's non-DVR receivers. If you have your Directv receiver connected to a VCR or DVD-Recorder and want to record a show on NBC at 8:00, you set the autotune to change to NBC at 8:00 and the VCR or DVD-Recorder to start recording at 8:00. In the old analog cable days, you would program the VCR with the time AND the channel.
__________________
Panasonic TC-P46X3
HR24-500
Sony STR-DG810 Receiver
Sony BDP-S360
Denon SYS-76HT Speaker System
Harmony 650
deadhead68 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2010, 12:04 PM   #10
High Definition is the definition of life.
 
hotrod351's Avatar
 

Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 538
Default

oh well, im still saving a bunch of money and the picture is clearer.
hotrod351 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2010, 12:26 PM   #11
High Definition is the definition of life.
 

Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 148
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by deadhead68 View Post
Autotune is a feature in Directv's non-DVR receivers. If you have your Directv receiver connected to a VCR or DVD-Recorder and want to record a show on NBC at 8:00, you set the autotune to change to NBC at 8:00 and the VCR or DVD-Recorder to start recording at 8:00. In the old analog cable days, you would program the VCR with the time AND the channel.
That makes sense. It's been so long since I've used a VCR, I didn't even think of that.
Munkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2010, 04:01 PM   #12
High Definition is the definition of life.
 
hotrod351's Avatar
 

Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 538
Default

not bashing direct, i said the picture is better than dish. but my vip hd dvr has autotune and its really nice. now ill just have to make sure i know what i want to watch that night. the autotune made it easy. any way im with direct now for 2 years.
hotrod351 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2010, 07:23 AM   #13
High Definition is the definition of life.
 

Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 1,422
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hotrod351 View Post
wrong. dish vip 722 give that option. you can record two programs at once, which then it will automatically tune you to one of the channels, or you can record one and have it autotune to another. so when you say none, you mean direct tvs hd dvrs dont do it. its a really nice feature. after all you might want to record one program while you automatically are tuned to another.
I didn't mean all DVRs in the universe, I meant all of Directv's DVRs, but you knew that. I don't have Dish so I wouldn't know about their stuff. I don't knock Dish at all, I had them for my wife back before DVRs existed and their service was fine.
joed32 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2010, 08:12 AM   #14
High Definition is the definition of life.
 
hotrod351's Avatar
 

Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 538
Default

just seems that direct would know exactly what features there competitor offered. like chevy seeing that ford offers power windows, then i figure chevy would offer power windows. any way im content with what i have. if we only lived in a perfect world. now if i could only figure out how to get rid of the onscreen reminder that the box is about to switch to the recordings that are coming up in a minute or so. its kind of a pain to see 1/4 of the screen plastered with that message. im sure theres a way to turn off that feature, or maybe not.
hotrod351 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2010, 09:00 AM   #15
High Definition is the definition of life.
 

Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 1,422
Default

Try "exit". I've never done it but it sounds logical. Good luck.
joed32 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Go Back   High Def Forum - Your High Definition Community & High Definition Resource > High Definition Programming Providers > DirecTV Forum
AddThis Social Bookmark Button
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads to no autotune
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
OT: Hip Hop Thread kamspy Gaming & Systems 94 05-23-2011 05:48 AM
Verizon Fios cable gem1976 Verizon FiOS 14 07-10-2009 06:16 PM
auto tune feature in HR21 gsdan DirecTV Forum 11 11-24-2007 12:49 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:25 PM.



Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0
Copyright 2004 - 2008, High Def Forum