High Def Forum - Your High Definition Community & High Definition Resource

Go Back   High Def Forum - Your High Definition Community & High Definition Resource > High Definition Programming Providers > DirecTV Forum
Rules HDTV Forum Gallery LINK TO US! RSS - High Def Forum AddThis Feed Button AddThis Social Bookmark Button Groups

DirecTV Forum Discuss and learn about DirecTV High Definition Satellite TV. RSS - DirecTV Forum

Horrible Remote Control Lag w/ Direct TV

Reply
AddThis Social Bookmark Button
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-13-2010, 12:26 PM   #1
My plasma is High Def.
 

Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 5
Default Horrible Remote Control Lag w/ Direct TV

This lag is just ridiculous. It takes me 5 or 6 tries to punch in a 3 digit channel. Does anyone have a fix for this? Am I the only one who has this problem?
sevenseven is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2010, 02:02 PM   #2
Direct TV Fresh Meat
 

Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,346
Default

Nope, everyone with a less-than HR-24 has that problem.

It is awful, but you will get used to it.
__________________
This post is not to be construed as a slam on plasma TV's nor an endorsement of any other TV technology.
DoctorCAD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2010, 02:19 PM   #3
High Definition is the definition of life.
 

Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 760
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DoctorCAD View Post
Nope, everyone with a less-than HR-24 has that problem.

It is awful, but you will get used to it.
That is not entirely accurate. I have 2 HR-20's and have only had that problem twice in 3 years. Both times it was on the same unit. After doing a red button reset the problem was resolved. Maybe I am just lucky though, who knows.
IamMrDJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2010, 02:20 PM   #4
My plasma is High Def.
 

Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 5
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DoctorCAD View Post
Nope, everyone with a less-than HR-24 has that problem.

It is awful, but you will get used to it.
Unbelievable. I just got my new installation about a month ago so I assumed I have the newest equipment. How do I get an HR-24?
sevenseven is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2010, 02:27 PM   #5
I bleed for HD
 

Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Ohio
Posts: 11,215
Default

typically a red button reset will fix that ( I am not certain why but I think it clears some buffer). It happens to me every so often and a red button reset always seems to fix it.
__________________
HT- Panasonic TH-50PZ800U 1080p plasma, Panasonic PT-AX200u LCD projector, Elite Vmax Electric 100' screen, Pioneer Elite SC-71 AVR, Paradigm Titan Monitor v5 fronts, Paradigm CC-190 v6 center, Paradigm Atom Monitors v5 surrounds(x4), HSU research VTF-2 sub, HTPC/Gaming rig, Sony BDP-S550 blu-ray, Uverse HD-DVR, Roku 2

Bedroom: Insignia NS-lcd26, Samsung BDP-1400 blu-ray
Den - Vizio 20" 1080p LCD + Samsung BD-p1600


Don't believe everything you read on the internet - Albert Einstein
jkkyler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2010, 02:35 PM   #6
My plasma is High Def.
 

Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 5
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jkkyler View Post
typically a red button reset will fix that ( I am not certain why but I think it clears some buffer). It happens to me every so often and a red button reset always seems to fix it.
Thanks for the tip. I tried it out but it didn't help. Still lags like crazy. I counted 11 seconds between a button depress and a change to the screen. By the time the picture responds I lose my "window" to enter another number. This is awful.
sevenseven is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2010, 02:48 PM   #7
I bleed for HD
 

Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Ohio
Posts: 11,215
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sevenseven View Post
Thanks for the tip. I tried it out but it didn't help. Still lags like crazy. I counted 11 seconds between a button depress and a change to the screen. By the time the picture responds I lose my "window" to enter another number. This is awful.
That sucks but even if you can't see all the button presses go ahead and do them without waiting when the lag catches up it should register all your inputs. I would contact direct and see if they will swap out your box - I had a prob (diff issue) with one of mine and they were quite good about sending me another.
__________________
HT- Panasonic TH-50PZ800U 1080p plasma, Panasonic PT-AX200u LCD projector, Elite Vmax Electric 100' screen, Pioneer Elite SC-71 AVR, Paradigm Titan Monitor v5 fronts, Paradigm CC-190 v6 center, Paradigm Atom Monitors v5 surrounds(x4), HSU research VTF-2 sub, HTPC/Gaming rig, Sony BDP-S550 blu-ray, Uverse HD-DVR, Roku 2

Bedroom: Insignia NS-lcd26, Samsung BDP-1400 blu-ray
Den - Vizio 20" 1080p LCD + Samsung BD-p1600


Don't believe everything you read on the internet - Albert Einstein
jkkyler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2010, 05:16 PM   #8
High Definition is the definition of life.
 

Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 469
Default

Yup, it sucks for everyone (other than IamMrDJ, who also gets 4-5 days battery life on his smartphone ). Every time I think they might fix it with the latest firmware update, the problem still persists and I die a little more inside.
ShaqDan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2010, 07:05 PM   #9
722k,722, 612, 512 HR34
 

Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: SD
Posts: 1,151
Default

nope, hr24 500's still lag....

the h24 700 HD boxes have no lag what so ever, but the dvrs are still lagging......pretty sad when i have to show customers how to run their new system cause i do the main intro on the dvr box, the one i did earlier today was so bad it was 3 steps behind me, then finally caught back up.
Jodean is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2010, 06:02 AM   #10
Direct TV Fresh Meat
 

Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,346
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jodean View Post
nope, hr24 500's still lag....

the h24 700 HD boxes have no lag what so ever, but the dvrs are still lagging......pretty sad when i have to show customers how to run their new system cause i do the main intro on the dvr box, the one i did earlier today was so bad it was 3 steps behind me, then finally caught back up.
My HR24-200 does not lag. Brand new issue manufactured by Samsung for Direct TV.
__________________
This post is not to be construed as a slam on plasma TV's nor an endorsement of any other TV technology.
DoctorCAD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2010, 09:27 AM   #11
High Definition is the definition of life.
 

Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 760
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ShaqDan View Post
Yup, it sucks for everyone (other than IamMrDJ, who also gets 4-5 days battery life on his smartphone ). Every time I think they might fix it with the latest firmware update, the problem still persists and I die a little more inside.
I wish I got 4-5 days of battery life on my Smartphone. Hell 2-3 days would be nice but considering how much I use it I doubt that will happen.
IamMrDJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2010, 09:58 AM   #12
Loading Comment...
 
J-Rod's Avatar
 

Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Kingwood, TX (Houston)
Age: 37
Posts: 741
Default

my remote lags, and it bugs the hell out of me. red button reset does nothing.
J-Rod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2010, 07:58 PM   #13
722k,722, 612, 512 HR34
 

Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: SD
Posts: 1,151
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DoctorCAD View Post
My HR24-200 does not lag. Brand new issue manufactured by Samsung for Direct TV.
dont have a clue what a 200 is...... but all our equipment is brand new and the dvr's still lag, compare it to a h24-700 and you will notice the difference.....

unless your talking about a h24-200 which i havent seen either, ive only seen h24-100's, h24 700's and hr24-500's
Jodean is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2010, 08:45 PM   #14
Football in HD, mmm good!
 
deadhead68's Avatar
 

Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Crystal Lake, IL
Posts: 2,923
Default

I was concerned about the remote lag I've seen people mention here before switching to Directv, but no lag on my HR24-500.
__________________
Panasonic TC-P46X3
HR24-500
Sony STR-DG810 Receiver
Sony BDP-S360
Denon SYS-76HT Speaker System
Harmony 650
deadhead68 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2010, 08:54 PM   #15
722k,722, 612, 512 HR34
 

Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: SD
Posts: 1,151
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by deadhead68 View Post
I was concerned about the remote lag I've seen people mention here before switching to Directv, but no lag on my HR24-500.
theres lag you just dont know it till you see how fast a 700 is, quit saying there isnt lag, its getting annoying
Jodean is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Go Back   High Def Forum - Your High Definition Community & High Definition Resource > High Definition Programming Providers > DirecTV Forum
AddThis Social Bookmark Button
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:29 AM.



Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0
Copyright 2004 - 2008, High Def Forum