High Def Forum - Your High Definition Community & High Definition Resource

Go Back   High Def Forum - Your High Definition Community & High Definition Resource > High Definition Programming Providers > DirecTV Forum
Rules HDTV Forum Gallery LINK TO US! RSS - High Def Forum AddThis Feed Button AddThis Social Bookmark Button Groups

DirecTV Forum Discuss and learn about DirecTV High Definition Satellite TV. RSS - DirecTV Forum

HD DVR Receivers need B-Band Converter?

Reply
AddThis Social Bookmark Button
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-05-2009, 08:09 AM   #1
HD
 

Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 47
Default HD DVR Receivers need B-Band Converter?

Do the new HD DVR receivers need the B-Band converters? I have 2 HR20-100's and they needed them. If yes, are they ordered separately or do they come with the receiver?
roycap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2009, 08:21 AM   #2
High Definition is the definition of life.
 

Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 760
Default

I believe the new DVR models have the B-Band's built in.
IamMrDJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2009, 08:24 AM   #3
What ever
 
chirshey's Avatar
 

Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Sunning in SoCal
Posts: 908
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by roycap View Post
Do the new HD DVR receivers need the B-Band converters? I have 2 HR20-100's and they needed them. If yes, are they ordered separately or do they come with the receiver?
If you need them externally, they will be included in the box. Newer DVRs come with them built in, as mentioned.
__________________
Precision:
Measure it with a ruler,
Mark it with chalk,
Cut it with an axe.
chirshey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2009, 09:40 AM   #4
WestDC
 
WestDC's Avatar
 

Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: EARTH
Posts: 2,234
Default

the only model with builtin BBC's is the HR23
__________________
I now know how the Iranians feel (those that donít agree) with the ruling class.
WestDC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2009, 10:16 AM   #5
High Definition is the definition of life.
 

Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 290
Default

If you've using SWM you don't need BBCs.
DIRECTVMAN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2009, 10:50 AM   #6
High Definition is the definition of life.
 

Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 760
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DIRECTVMAN View Post
If you've using SWM you don't need BBCs.
And why is that? I thought the BBC's were used for HD and had nothing to do with the lines going in to the DVR?
IamMrDJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2009, 03:38 PM   #7
High Definition is the definition of life.
 

Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 171
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by IamMrDJ View Post
And why is that? I thought the BBC's were used for HD and had nothing to do with the lines going in to the DVR?

Not sure, but that is correct. SWM does not require BBC
B&G Installs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2009, 12:38 PM   #8
High Definition is the definition of life.
 

Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 1,452
Default

To be precise, the BBCs are nothing to do with HD as such. The DirecTV10 and DirectV11 satellites use a different frequency band from the other DirecTV satellites, and most DirecTV receivers and DVRs can't receive those signals when they come from the dish. The BBCs move the signals from DirecTV10 and 11 into the same frequency band as the Spaceway I and II satellites so the recivers can process them. The reason why people associate the BBCs with HD is that all the CONUS (national) HD channels come from DirecTV10 and 11 (I am ignoring the few on 110/119 since they will be gone soon) and so if you don't have BBCs you won't receive those. HD locals come from DirecTV10/11 and Spaceway I/II so depending on your location you may or may not need the BBCs for locals, but since you need them for the HD CONUS channels that's really academic.. Some people get their SD locals from DirecTV10/11 so need the BBCs even if they don't have HD.

The H23 receiver and the HR23 DVR have wide-band tuners that can receive the DirecTV10/11 signals directly so don't need the BBCs (some people say they have built-in BBCs but they don't, they just don't need them).

Receivers/DVRs attached to SWM systems don't need BBCs because the SWM system converts all the received frequencies that are requested by tuners into a frequency range that all the receivers can process.
texasbrit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2009, 04:11 PM   #9
High Definition is the definition of life.
 

Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 171
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by texasbrit View Post
To be precise, the BBCs are nothing to do with HD as such. The DirecTV10 and DirectV11 satellites use a different frequency band from the other DirecTV satellites, and most DirecTV receivers and DVRs can't receive those signals when they come from the dish. The BBCs move the signals from DirecTV10 and 11 into the same frequency band as the Spaceway I and II satellites so the recivers can process them. The reason why people associate the BBCs with HD is that all the CONUS (national) HD channels come from DirecTV10 and 11 (I am ignoring the few on 110/119 since they will be gone soon) and so if you don't have BBCs you won't receive those. HD locals come from DirecTV10/11 and Spaceway I/II so depending on your location you may or may not need the BBCs for locals, but since you need them for the HD CONUS channels that's really academic.. Some people get their SD locals from DirecTV10/11 so need the BBCs even if they don't have HD.

The H23 receiver and the HR23 DVR have wide-band tuners that can receive the DirecTV10/11 signals directly so don't need the BBCs (some people say they have built-in BBCs but they don't, they just don't need them).

Receivers/DVRs attached to SWM systems don't need BBCs because the SWM system converts all the received frequencies that are requested by tuners into a frequency range that all the receivers can process.

Show off. LOL
B&G Installs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2009, 12:41 PM   #10
HD Rocks
 
sprkeng's Avatar
 

Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Southwest Washington
Posts: 2,283
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by roycap View Post
Do the new HD DVR receivers need the B-Band converters? I have 2 HR20-100's and they needed them. If yes, are they ordered separately or do they come with the receiver?
I just had D*tv come over and connect an R22 it didn't come with BBC's so he added them on because he said I have a Slim5 dish. If you have receiver connected you can find out by going to the dish set up and it will note what you are missing or not. I saw the D*tv guy going to that menu that I never bothered looking into.

According to D*tv BBC's will come with your reciever if they deem it necessary. My HR21 came with BBCs.

Thanks.


Directv Customer
__________________
Sony XBR-46 LCD
PanasonicBD35
D*TV HDDVR-HR21.100
Toshiba A-2
Toshiba A-3
Samsung DVD Recorder
Yamaha AVR
KEF 5.1 speakers
Samsung LCD 32-720P
D*TV HD DVR R22.100
Samsung BN22 LCD
D*TV HD H23.600
George Foreman Grill




sprkeng is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Go Back   High Def Forum - Your High Definition Community & High Definition Resource > High Definition Programming Providers > DirecTV Forum
AddThis Social Bookmark Button
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads to HD DVR Receivers need B-Band Converter?
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sept. 19 HD Channel Launch Date Q&A dman59 DirecTV Forum 48 07-08-2013 10:26 AM
Multiple Directv Receivers - Hook up rbinck DirecTV Forum 182 12-22-2011 10:55 AM
hookup problem w/hdtv jmose74 DirecTV Forum 7 12-31-2008 11:44 AM
problems after install. rebus20 DirecTV Forum 32 01-04-2008 11:49 PM
Direct tv kgarnersr DirecTV Forum 7 10-17-2007 06:16 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:35 PM.



Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0
Copyright ©2004 - 2008, High Def Forum