High Def Forum - Your High Definition Community & High Definition Resource

Go Back   High Def Forum - Your High Definition Community & High Definition Resource > High Definition Programming Providers > DirecTV Forum
Rules HDTV Forum Gallery LINK TO US! RSS - High Def Forum AddThis Feed Button AddThis Social Bookmark Button Groups

DirecTV Forum Discuss and learn about DirecTV High Definition Satellite TV. RSS - DirecTV Forum

DECA, Directv Ethernet Coaxial Adapter

Reply
AddThis Social Bookmark Button
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-03-2009, 11:49 AM   #1
High def and couch to go!
 
Spanky_Partain's Avatar
 

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 304
Default DECA, Directv Ethernet Coaxial Adapter

Here is what the DECA looks like in a simple installation:

The DECA modules connect to the SAT Coax and split on the other side into the SAT SWM connection to the receiver and a RJ45 that plugs into Port 1 of the network connection.

__________________
"If it ain't broke yet, I'm not done!"

Last edited by Spanky_Partain; 10-03-2009 at 12:06 PM.
Spanky_Partain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2009, 11:30 AM   #2
High Definition is the definition of life.
 

Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 136
Default

Can one use this DECA thing to view programs on one receiver from a TV set not directly connected to the receiver housing the program?
If not, what would be the purpose of the DECA?
Thanks
joplass is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2009, 12:06 PM   #3
High def and couch to go!
 
Spanky_Partain's Avatar
 

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 304
Default

It networks all of the euqipment without having to run any extra CAT5 or use any wireless connection devices for the Directv equipment.
__________________
"If it ain't broke yet, I'm not done!"
Spanky_Partain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2009, 01:28 PM   #4
High Definition is the definition of life.
 

Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 136
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Spanky_Partain View Post
It networks all of the euqipment without having to run any extra CAT5 or use any wireless connection devices for the Directv equipment.
Does it provide the capability of sharing files from one receiver to another by watching a show saved on a receiver in room A on a TV in room B?
I hope my questions are not too much trouble to you. I am jealous of a buddy on cable who can watch his shows on any TV in his house regardless of the box the show is recorded on.
joplass is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2009, 10:05 PM   #5
HD Rocks
 
sprkeng's Avatar
 

Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Southwest Washington
Posts: 2,283
Default

So if I have one rj one of my rooms I could use the DECA to feed into a DVR in that room? and be able to record one program while watching another? That would really save time and money running a second rj.
__________________
Sony XBR-46 LCD
PanasonicBD35
D*TV HDDVR-HR21.100
Toshiba A-2
Toshiba A-3
Samsung DVD Recorder
Yamaha AVR
KEF 5.1 speakers
Samsung LCD 32-720P
D*TV HD DVR R22.100
Samsung BN22 LCD
D*TV HD H23.600
George Foreman Grill




sprkeng is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2009, 07:53 AM   #6
High def and couch to go!
 
Spanky_Partain's Avatar
 

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 304
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by joplass View Post
Does it provide the capability of sharing files from one receiver to another by watching a show saved on a receiver in room A on a TV in room B?
I hope my questions are not too much trouble to you. I am jealous of a buddy on cable who can watch his shows on any TV in his house regardless of the box the show is recorded on.
Perhaps in the future!
__________________
"If it ain't broke yet, I'm not done!"
Spanky_Partain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2009, 08:00 AM   #7
High def and couch to go!
 
Spanky_Partain's Avatar
 

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 304
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sprkeng View Post
So if I have one rj one of my rooms I could use the DECA to feed into a DVR in that room? and be able to record one program while watching another? That would really save time and money running a second rj.
The DECA equipment is not available today. It has been tested and first look information has been posted. The idea behind DECA is to use the existing cable coax as the network media to that location. What you are describing is one cable to the room for two tuners. That is accomplished by the SWM, single wire multi-switch, not the DECA. The SWM is required for DECA also. Your equipment MUST be SWM capable. You can verify that by looking at the SAT 1 input. It will say SWM if it is SWM capable.

Check out this LINK for more information!
__________________
"If it ain't broke yet, I'm not done!"

Last edited by Spanky_Partain; 10-07-2009 at 09:30 AM.
Spanky_Partain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2009, 11:24 PM   #8
High Definition is the definition of life.
 

Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 290
Default

Seems like if you have your router centrally located in the home it would be a lot simpler to just run a network cable to the DVR or receiver instead of having additional DECA equipment at each DVR or receiver.

I see extra DECA stuff all over that drawing..
At the router - DECA
At the first DIRECTV receiver - DECA
At the next DIRECTV receiver or DVR - DECA
DECA filter
DECA, DECA, DECA....

Everything needs to be SWM to work with DECA so you have to switch to SWM to use DECA if you don't have SWM already.

Probably can't transfer recordings between DIRECTV equipment via the network with DECA installed since it's just one connection to the router split to all the DECA, DECA, DECA stuff.

I'll stick to my non-DECA setup.

If running extra network cable thru the house is difficult just get an ethernet powerline adapter kit, no big deal.
DIRECTVMAN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2009, 08:15 AM   #9
High def and couch to go!
 
Spanky_Partain's Avatar
 

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 304
Default

Wow such negative waves...

The idea behind DECA is ONE RG cable for two tuner satellite connection and network connection WITHOUT having to run any other cable. In some cases it is not possible to run a network connection or even use power line adapters. not to mention the security risk that can be opened with power line adapters if not properly configured.

I get your point that you do not want DECA, OK!

If you like knowing about DECA and new technology that may be available for use, then ask questions and I will answer them.
__________________
"If it ain't broke yet, I'm not done!"
Spanky_Partain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2009, 02:20 PM   #10
High Definition is the definition of life.
 

Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 290
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Spanky_Partain View Post
Wow such negative waves...

The idea behind DECA is ONE RG cable for two tuner satellite connection and network connection WITHOUT having to run any other cable. In some cases it is not possible to run a network connection or even use power line adapters. not to mention the security risk that can be opened with power line adapters if not properly configured.

I get your point that you do not want DECA, OK!

If you like knowing about DECA and new technology that may be available for use, then ask questions and I will answer them.
I understand what the idea behind DECA is. I know you get a network connection WITHOUT having to run any other cable. You can only get it WITH DECA hardware and you MUST have SWM. I'm sure for a lot of people it would be EASIER to just run a network cable or get an ethernet powerline adapter. You haven't even mentioned what the DECA stuff is going to COST.
DIRECTVMAN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2009, 01:11 AM   #11
Got HD?
 

Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Institutionalized
Posts: 707
Default

the 2 power inserters, I know 1 is for the SWM lnb, the other? If it works, would be great. Maybe 3-4 years from now.
Sykotic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2009, 08:21 AM   #12
High def and couch to go!
 
Spanky_Partain's Avatar
 

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 304
Default

The other PI is for the DECA network hardware.
__________________
"If it ain't broke yet, I'm not done!"
Spanky_Partain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2010, 01:35 PM   #13
High def and couch to go!
 
Spanky_Partain's Avatar
 

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 304
Default

DECA devices are now here and are at Solid Signal for purchase.

Here they are...

Fair price too considering it is a MOCA device.

See post 1 on how to implement them for each DVR and how to use one as an uplink to the home network using a power supply avaliable here.
__________________
"If it ain't broke yet, I'm not done!"

Last edited by Spanky_Partain; 05-13-2010 at 06:19 AM.
Spanky_Partain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2010, 07:33 AM   #14
High Definition is the definition of life.
 

Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 1,421
Default

MRV went national yesterday. Beta ends on the 20th so if you have it and want to keep it you need to call. Ask for whole home connection or Multi room connection and you'll get to the right department. I did it yesterday and no one knew how to do it so I spent an hour on the phone. Be patient with them, it's not their fault that they weren't trained, hopefully it will get better as the week goes on.
joed32 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2010, 11:37 AM   #15
High def and couch to go!
 
Spanky_Partain's Avatar
 

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 304
Default

I called and updated my Beta MRV version as well.

Couple of things to do:
Make the call
Give phone number
Ask for Whole Home DVR
When CSR comes on, ask them to use the DORIS as the reference guide to perform the addition of the MRV/Whole Home DVR.

This will walk them through all of the scenarios including the need to change some of the legacy offered products.

EDIT
The cost is $3 a month for MRV/Whole Home DVR service. Changing out equipment or adding equipment is additional in most cases.
__________________
"If it ain't broke yet, I'm not done!"
Spanky_Partain is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Go Back   High Def Forum - Your High Definition Community & High Definition Resource > High Definition Programming Providers > DirecTV Forum
AddThis Social Bookmark Button
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads to DECA, Directv Ethernet Coaxial Adapter
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Old Dish receives through window ExonicJay DirecTV Forum 7 10-22-2009 11:25 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:11 AM.



Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0
Copyright 2004 - 2008, High Def Forum