High Def Forum - Your High Definition Community & High Definition Resource

Go Back   High Def Forum - Your High Definition Community & High Definition Resource > High Definition Programming Providers > DirecTV Forum
Rules HDTV Forum Gallery LINK TO US! RSS - High Def Forum AddThis Feed Button AddThis Social Bookmark Button Groups

DirecTV Forum Discuss and learn about DirecTV High Definition Satellite TV. RSS - DirecTV Forum

Picture in Picture with Direct TV

Reply
AddThis Social Bookmark Button
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-27-2009, 03:23 AM   #1
What is HD?
 

Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 2
Default Picture in Picture with Direct TV

Ok, don't laugh because I have already searched the internet far and wide to see if it is possible to get picture in picture with Direct TV (both pictures being from Direct TV, not a DVD player or such) and so far the answer is a resounding NO.

So, not wanting to take no for an answer I came up with an idea that seems like it should work and haven't seen dispelled elsewhere. My receiver hooked up to to cables coming in from the satellite so that it can record on show and I can watch another of course. So, why couldn't I attach a splitter to each of those cables and run them to two receivers? For example, cable #1 coming into the house would be split into 1A and 1B. 1A would go to the first input on the receiver on the left. 1B would go to the first input on the receiver on the right. Then of course cable #2 would be split into 2A and 2B. 2A going to the second input on the receiver on the left and 2B going to second input on the receiver on the left.

This seems to resolve all the issues needed for picture in picture requirements.
2 separate signals
4 outputs to receivers
2 separate receivers
2 outputs to the Television

So, before I go out and buy the proper splitters and go through the actual trouble of trying to set this up, someone please tell me if this has been tried or why it may not work.

Thanks in advance!!!
Sojoe1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2009, 04:12 AM   #2
No longer waiting for HD
 

Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Aurora, CO
Posts: 84
Default

Yes, you can do PIP if you have two tuners. However, you cannot simply "split" the signal. Each receiver has to have their own line(s) from the dish. What dish to you have? It should have 4 outputs so you can run new cable(s) for the new receiver.
GerryC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2009, 04:18 PM   #3
What is HD?
 

Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 2
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by GerryC View Post
Yes, you can do PIP if you have two tuners. However, you cannot simply "split" the signal. Each receiver has to have their own line(s) from the dish. What dish to you have? It should have 4 outputs so you can run new cable(s) for the new receiver.
Thanks for the reply! I have a Slim Line Dish and I assume the LNB is what points into the dish, but anyway the numbers off of it are SL 5-P. There are 2 sets of cables coming off of the dish running to my house. I have one DVR in my living room, one regular receiver in my bedroom and one regular receiver in my kids playroom.

Do I have options for a PnP setup in my living room? Thanks again in advance!
Sojoe1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2009, 06:13 AM   #4
High def and couch to go!
 
Spanky_Partain's Avatar
 

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 304
Default

You will need two receivers. One receiver supplying each of the other PIP scenario.

Two tuners=two receivers

Even though DVR's have two tuners, there is no way to get a separate video/audio output from each of them at the same time from the existing outputs of the equipment.
__________________
"If it ain't broke yet, I'm not done!"

Last edited by Spanky_Partain; 09-28-2009 at 08:36 AM.
Spanky_Partain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2009, 06:46 AM   #5
No longer waiting for HD
 

Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Aurora, CO
Posts: 84
Default

Thanks for clarifying my post Spanky. I meant to say "receivers", not tuners.
GerryC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2009, 08:37 AM   #6
High def and couch to go!
 
Spanky_Partain's Avatar
 

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 304
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by GerryC View Post
Thanks for clarifying my post Spanky. I meant to say "receivers", not tuners.
No problem! I knew what you meant.
__________________
"If it ain't broke yet, I'm not done!"
Spanky_Partain is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Go Back   High Def Forum - Your High Definition Community & High Definition Resource > High Definition Programming Providers > DirecTV Forum
AddThis Social Bookmark Button
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads to Picture in Picture with Direct TV
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
DISH network, Direct TV or Comcast mygti02 DISH Network Forum 29 02-26-2008 04:05 PM
Just had my first thunderstorm with Direct tv... drbrosco DirecTV Forum 17 03-24-2007 09:37 AM
LCD 1080P bad quality with direct tv bottleman2004 DirecTV Forum 23 02-13-2007 08:14 AM
New HD Stations in 2007 for Direct TV ideal4u57 DirecTV Forum 24 01-12-2007 11:11 AM
Direct tv sucks techiejp DirecTV Forum 38 10-29-2006 10:24 AM
Why stick with Direct TV? Pakuni DirecTV Forum 14 10-22-2004 08:40 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:54 PM.



Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0
Copyright 2004 - 2008, High Def Forum